We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This lovely hotel becomes our favourite.”
Review of Netherwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Netherwood
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I were here with a wine-tasting group for a weekend, and then stayed an additional night when 4 family members arrived to join us for the 70th birthday of one of us. On arrival, we thought our bedroom was going to be a little noisy from the proximity of an exterior fan duct beside the window. The receptionist and staff helped us to re-locate to a room in the Turret in no time at all. This (self-catering) accommodation proved to be so delightful, we were soon joined by our son and his partner occupying the second bedroom. The gardens are well-kept and colourful even at this time of the year. We chose a quiet time to enjoy the spa, could'nt fault the menus and meals,and offer our thanks to the smiling, attentive staff who made our wine event and our family group so comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 507 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a local group for a wine tasting weekend so need to remember to comment on hotel only - though 'events' do seem to be a major earner for them. There were two other group events on the Saturday we were there. This did limit access to one or two of the lounges but not a major issue.
The public areas are lovely, very grand with lots of leather furniture, big settees, wood panelling and log fires. However all this did make it seem quite dark in places.
The setting is lovely and lots of rooms have views over Morecambe Bay which is pretty spectacular. Our room,30, looked out the back but was spacious and the furnishings very clean though the decor was a little tired and shabby in places. Good fluffy towels in the bathroom and a plentiful supply of very hot water. The bed was firm which was to our liking though some in our party less happy with this. Our room also very quiet at night and at the opposite end of the hotel to one of the function rooms but above the other. Luck of the draw as to what's going on where I suspect.
Breakfast was very good with the hot food cooked to order. Dinner was more hit and miss, for us much better on the second evening. I understand that the afternoon tea, taken by some of our group, is pretty good. The service was very good all around the hotel.
We had hoped to use the pool on our arrival but we were advised it was very busy (seems to be open to the public with classes etc) and to try later. But by then we were getting ready for the evening. A shame if the public use pushes out residents.
Overall my impression is of a friendly hotel working hard to keep up standards and appearances and succeeding in some areas if not others.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youngatheart6248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Shame really.

There was nothing particularly bad about the lunch but it just didn't inspire. Shame really.

Some bits of the service were slap happy - chilled dry sherry requested, warm sweet sherry received.

Some bits of the service were fun - lots of chat with the waitress. And when I made a point of asking for extra butterscotch sauce with the sticky toffee pudding I got a soup bowl full !!.

Fabulous view from the restaurant over the bay.

Just a shame that the food was a bit pedestrian.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank yachtjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Awesome views from hotel from seating outside!. Staff that cannot do enough to help you. Visible owners who are keen to ensure all your requirements are met.great food, easy parking- everything I needed on the day. As beautiful on the inside as outside, huge original stone fire places, leather chesterfield sand plush seating everywhere you looked. The Netherwood is grand and fresh- the Old Girl is as inviting as it was many many years ago when it was built. What a Grand Manor!!!! Can't wait to stay here with my wife!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JYARWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend recently stayed here for a getaway break really looking forward to it as the grounds and scenery looked lovely and it was lovely the best part ;)
We entered out room wow stains all over the carpet the paint on the radiator all peeled off looked awful black stains all above the radiator under the window. Stains and marks all over the walls. We had requested a bath but got a shower :/. The bed was defiantly not a double Evan my girlfriend who is only small legs were hanging of the bed. The bed was hard and very very uncomfortable both did not sleep well at all and had very sore backs the next day. There was loud noises below us way past 12 o clock that loud you could here the actual conversations there was constant bangs and door slamming through the night (possibly other guests).
The tv signal was bad so we gave up on that. There is not much nearby so you have no choice but to pay there extortionate prices. It was very boring unpleasant and not homely at all not sure if it was because we were a young couple but Evan so.
The key system was silly every time u left the premises you had to hand the key in not dealt with this system before didn't help you had to wait ages to hand it in and ages to get back not many staff at all.
Check out was charged an extra £20 for drinks from the bar when we clearly didn't purchase them an when I stated this I was replied with 'oh I thought so I thought I'd check' smiling .... Used the spa well the small pool, hot tub and steam room the changing rooms were unclean and disappointed no treatments were available as there was no one to do them don't advertise this on your website then. Complete let down. Awful couldn't wait to leave!!!!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just joined tripadvisor so had to review the Netherwood as it is one of our favourite places. It is just such a lovely hotel with warmth and character. From the moment we walk in we feel at home as it is so welcoming. The big comfy sofas, the gorgeous wood-panelled lounge, the roaring fire - who could resist?
And that's before I mention the delicious food served in a dining room with an amazing view over the bay. Both the evening meals and the breakfasts are great.
Service is excellent throughout the hotel, including the kitchen staff who accommodate tweaks to the menu for our children (10 and 7).
The hotel is traditional in style so don't come expecting a cold, minimalist venue. This has character and warmth about it. We've stayed in many rooms and have always felt very comfortable as have family members who've stayed when we've had special occasions. Our children love coming here and we never feel on edge with them like in some places.
My mum and dad had a golden wedding family meal here in July 2013 and the staff set it up really nicely in the library despite there being a wedding on the same day. They've obviously got the experience to handle a wide range of events.
Keep up the good work to everyone at the Netherwood. I'm sure we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justanothergir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Superb, really comfortable (traditional standards of surroundings) and very obliging staff.
The food was exceptionally good, in terms of choice, presentation and service. Appreciate it being served piping hot.

Room Tip: If available, get a room overlooking the front garden and Morecambe Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
0.1 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,029 reviews
12.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,357 reviews
8.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
504 reviews
8.0 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherwood

Address: Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range: $107 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Netherwood 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Netherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Netherwood Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria
Netherwood Hotel Grange Over Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing