We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Netherwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Netherwood
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Lake District
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a dinner bed and breakfast offer. Period hotel, food lovely, staff great, lovely view from room across the bay but room itself could do with being updated - looked slightly tired.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carriewannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    130
    46
    37
    15
See reviews for
122
207
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

took opportunity of the three night offer with our dog and has a great stay. extremely well looked after, very comfortable hotel with open fires and a good feel in every room to sit and relax in a hotel full of character and charm, with our dog by our side without feeling awkward. Staff all very welcoming, particularly Dennis the bar tender. The dinner option is really good value and excellent quality offering more adventurous choices. If you can tear yourself away from all the pampering there is a lovely pool, spa and gym or a lovely walk along the prom. Definately coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackSpringer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed overnight as part of a small conference.

We worked in the Library and were very well looked after.

So here are my comments:

Staff OUTSTANDING ...we were introduced to our personal staff member on arrival. He looked after us during our stay .. He was superb and made our conference very pleasurable.

Food again OUTSTANDING!....our meal in the restaurant could not have been better!

Public rooms to die for! Roaring fires and years of history. OUTSTANDING again!

Grounds...with a view over the bay...are the most impressive I've seen!

So to the only downside ... My room and those of others in our group were 'tired' and not up the the standard expected for a top hotel.

Overall, the quality of the room would put us off returning which is a shame as everything else was PERFECT!

Room Tip: My room was 10 .. It was very small and not impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We did not stay in this hotel but after a very long, very cold walk on Sunday we decided to call for coffee and biscuits. It is a lovely old building with loads of character, the lounge bar was very welcoming with a roaring fire to thaw us out, we stayed longer than anticipated. The coffee was excellent and biscuits were homemade.
However, I wish the waitress did not say "Are you alright?" to everyone who attracted her attention.
What is wrong with "Hello, can I help you?"

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just got back from an overnight stay at the Netherwood in Grange. Lovely room overlooking the Bay,massive Queen-sized bed and very nice en-suite.All the public rooms are to die for with great easy chairs in every nook and cranny. Hotel staff very friendly in fact altogether an extremely nice place to chill out.Breakfast very good with lots of choice including lightly smoked haddock with poached eggs--Yummy! Can highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for room 10 or rooms 25-27 overlooking the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewicroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Brief overnight stop following a 70th birthday party. Wonderful old fashioned but extremely comfortable hotel. Excellent service from friendly and helpful staff. Food great rounded off with an excellent breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Front rooms have great views of Morecambe Bay eg 8,9,10 and 24 - 29
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew4500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I took my parents to the Netherwood for Sunday Lunch for the 3 course meal with coffee and it was fabulous! The staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you, the food was excellent and should be Michelin Recommended. The hotel is always kept to a very high standard, we visit on a regular basis and travel from Blackpool because it is definitely worth the drive. My parents are very hard to please and this is the only hotel/restaurant they have been to where they have never had anything to complain about - 10/10!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkimunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
0.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
433 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
241 reviews
12.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherwood

Property: Netherwood
Address: Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Netherwood 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Netherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Netherwood Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria
Netherwood Hotel Grange Over Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing