We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of Netherwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Netherwood
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just got back from an overnight stay at the Netherwood in Grange. Lovely room overlooking the Bay,massive Queen-sized bed and very nice en-suite.All the public rooms are to die for with great easy chairs in every nook and cranny. Hotel staff very friendly in fact altogether an extremely nice place to chill out.Breakfast very good with lots of choice including lightly smoked haddock with poached eggs--Yummy! Can highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for room 10 or rooms 25-27 overlooking the Bay.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dewicroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
There are newer reviews for Netherwood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 502 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Brief overnight stop following a 70th birthday party. Wonderful old fashioned but extremely comfortable hotel. Excellent service from friendly and helpful staff. Food great rounded off with an excellent breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Front rooms have great views of Morecambe Bay eg 8,9,10 and 24 - 29
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew4500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I took my parents to the Netherwood for Sunday Lunch for the 3 course meal with coffee and it was fabulous! The staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you, the food was excellent and should be Michelin Recommended. The hotel is always kept to a very high standard, we visit on a regular basis and travel from Blackpool because it is definitely worth the drive. My parents are very hard to please and this is the only hotel/restaurant they have been to where they have never had anything to complain about - 10/10!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikkimunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

A sentimental journey last weekend was most enjoyable for my husband and myself. We were joined by our family at lunchtime and were thrilled to have our personal menu with my husbands name and birthday wishes printed on the front of it. A table in the dining-room with a view of the bay added to our pleasure, the meal was superb, the presentation & service was excellent. Our next delight was to retreat to our room which was on the front with wonderful views, the bed was large and very comfortable. Our bathroom was spacious with soft fluffy towels.We enjoyed a hearty breakfast in another lovely room with a friendly atmosphere and reluctantly packed our bags to await our lift home! What a shame I forgot to pack my swimming costume- the pool looked so inviting. Never mind I'm sure we will be back. Everything was superb.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We pre booked afternoon tea to celebrate a Special Birthday ( 9 adults, three children under three - plus one 8 week old baby) We were delighted to find we had the lounge to ourselves with roaring log fire. Our tea was delicious. ( one vegetarian which we mentioned when booking was well catered for ) Large selection of sandwiches and bowls of chips for the children. Cakes which were 'yummy'. Plenty of tea and coffee which we had refills. We were all made very welcome and the children had lots of freedom. The staff were exceptional and looked after us all well. We did not leve until 6.30 p.m. we were not rushed we will be going again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We called in at Netherwood for afternoon tea on a trip to Grange over Sands. We were charmed by this wonderful place. The staff were wonderfully welcoming and very helpful. We had an "Indulgent" afternoon tea by a blazing fire in a panelled room with stained glass windows overlooking the gardens and the sea. It wasn't the cheapest tea we have had but it was certainly amongst the best. We will definitely go back probably for dinner next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Lovely old building full of atmosphere . Warm welcome from the staff and wonderful fire in the hall on a cold night. Comfortable seats to sink in to.
Excellent food and quick , efficient and friendly service.

Room Tip: Only used the restaurant but would have loved to have stayed the night
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
0.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,003 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
462 reviews
12.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
253 reviews
8.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherwood

Address: Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range: $111 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Netherwood 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Netherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Netherwood Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria
Netherwood Hotel Grange Over Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing