We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful 3 nights”
Review of Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grange Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A wonderful 3 nights”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I had the most amazing short break here, to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. The room was stunning, and beautifully clean. The staff are wonderful so helpful and accommodating. The food in the bar at night was superb. I had the best time and didn't want to leave, can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, to see the great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marbees26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    99
    42
    10
    4
See reviews for
84
236
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
preston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed on Saturday night. There was a function on that we didn't know about and our food suffered a bit as a result. Drinks were offered free of charge which was fair. The main course was very good. We used to stay at the Netherwood next door but this hotel is far better. The rooms are excellent and the maids do a great job. All the staff are very good. The food is great cant fault it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meols, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was a two night midweek stay. My wife and I had visited the Grange many times in past years and had been so impressed but it was a good few years since our last stay and we wondered if it was going to live up to our memories - it did. The welcome from the staff was warm and helpful from start to finish and the decor is of a really high standard. The evening meal was an occasion not to be missed - with all the special finishing touches that make this a really special occasion. Food quality was excellent and the choice was good. The waiters were knowledgeable and every attention to detail was provided. The gym and pool were the icing on the cake. I can only say it is still in a class of its own. J Walsh

Room Tip: All rooms are of high quality but we enjoyed a view over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steviebarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stay here at this hotel quite a lot we love it. The rooms are very big and spacious and fancy!!!we love the four posters. We come with our little boy who loves the swimming pool. Staff are very friendly and do anything to assist. Its fab for a nice getaway from it all!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N8tasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a our wedding at this venue and it was amazing from start to finish. Most of the family came here to saty the night before the wedding. We had bar meals and drinks before heading up to our rooms to prepare for the day ahead.

For the bridal party breakfast was brought up to the rooms whilst we were getting ready and we took over the whole private landing out side our rooms which was great and meant we could all get ready together.

The service a food were amwazing not to mention the fabulous weather which enhanced the experience.

All of the rooms were lovely and clean and well worth the money.

We also ate here in the Carriages prior to the wedding to sample the food which was delicious.

We fully intend to come back here for our anniversary in May 2014.

Room Tip: With being the bride I did get rather good suites as part of the package and so did my close family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly7Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed only for one night. Our first room unfortunately had been decorated and still smelled of gloss paint. Reception moved us to another room immediately. The room was spacious and comfortable. It had a lovely view of the bay. The bathroom was huge and well fitted. Breakfast was excellent. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_Bushell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner recently for one night to celebrate my birthday.
We booked a last minute room for £100. The hotel looks very grand from the outside and in the lobby. Our room was very old fashioned, and basic. The bathroom was tiny!
Regarding breakfast, tasty fruit buffet, however the bacon and sausages were greasy and the scrambled eggs very watery. However, the breakfast staff were very welcoming and attentive. I am disappointed, as I feel the room was too expensive for what we got.
I don't think we will be returning for another visit unfortunately.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaynie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
0.4 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
0.1 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
6.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
12.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Hotel

Property: Grange Hotel
Address: Station Square, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#2 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional, Victorian hotel completely refurbished throughout with panoramic Bay views, private terraces/gardens & woodland. Offering 5-course table d`hote fine dining in addition to an extensive Lounge Bar menu. Full leisure facilities include heated pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and Beauty Salon. Lift to all floors. Perfect for all ages. Within easy reach of most major Lake District attractions with direct rail links to Scotland, the south and the west coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel Over Sands
Grange Hotel Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing