We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, amazing, wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grange Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic, amazing, wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Have attended The Grange hotel for over 7 years on work related conferences, visiting between 3-4 times per year. It is a beautifully elegant hotel, great range of bedrooms, lovely relaxing atmosphere and 5 star food. You really won't be disappointed with your visit. Most of the staff have been there for as long as I have visited, nothing is ever to much trouble for them, they always go above and beyond to make your stay a memorable one, I always leave looking forward to my next return visit. Good value for money and situated in a beautiful little village, a fantastic part of England to visit

Room Tip: All rooms are of a very high standard, however if you get a superior room I guarantee you won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 998Lelly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    98
    40
    10
    4
See reviews for
83
230
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been frequenting The Masons Arms, Cartmel Fell, Grange Over Sands for many years. We have never had a bad experience. After another recent visit and the most delicious meal of Cartmel Lamb Shank with dauphinoise potatoes and roasted root vegetables. You can keep all your fancy restaurants up and down the country as this will always be my favourite! Big thanks to the Chefs who serve up some of the most delightful local fare. I must also thank the bar staff and waitress/ waiter staff as there service is excellent. We have not stayed overnight here but am sure we will in the near future. Every time we visit we always walk out saying we wished we had booked a room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for a one-night stopover after a hectic weeks holiday in london. The hotel is beautiful with the staff very welcoming and helpful. The food is excellent with a diverse menu for all tastes. The room was large and well presented. Leisure facilities were great too - even though the pool is quite small. Would love to go back and say for a week!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alabamafudgecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Grande but unpretentious friendly but genuinely friendly reception staff chambermaids charming and welcoming , enjoyed staying here in beautiful surroundings and enjoying excellent food.
Recently retired good start to my new life ahead enjoying comfort and genuine warmth.
Drive or arrive by train it's the best location for grange over sands "very nice hotel"

Room Tip: All rooms are nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echternach, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I took my parents for 3 days dinner, bed and breakfast. In the deal you could either have a 4th night or an upgrade. The dinner was 5 courses.
Entering the hotel was a delight, a lovely terrace outside over looking Morecombe Bay and a grand entrance inside. Our rooms were huge-anywhere else they would have been called suites. They had enormous beds- one room had a four poster and the other a large canopy. The bathrooms had lovely baths and separate showers. Both bedrooms had sitting areas with doors that could separate them from the bedroom area. Loads of storage. The decor is modern sumptuous. We had two windows overlooking the bay. I looked at a couple of the rooms at the back and they were dark, but beautifully decorated.
After seeing all this I was worried about the standard of food as I felt we had a very good deal.
The dining room was lovely and elegant. There are small dining rooms as well as larger ones for events. Again beautifully designed. The food was excellent. They have a female chef and I'm ashamed to say I forgot to get her name. The cooking was interesting as well as being delicious. Occasionally flavours didn't quite work for me-two out of 15 courses overall, but it is so nice to have someone willing to be adventurous. The menus were different every night. The five courses were proper courses i.e. didn't count coffee or tasters as a course.
The staff in the hotel were all a delight. The service in the restaurant was exceptional-their Polish waitress whose name I can't spell was very good and everyone was aware of my mother's dietary
needs before we asked.
We didn't use the spa but it looked nice.
The train mentioned in the title to this piece stops opposite the hotel. There are good connection all the way to London. In fact we will probably do that next time we visit as there are lots of walks from the hotel, with buses and trains if needed.
The bar and sitting areas go on forever. The weather wasn't great when we were there so they lit a fire. I can imagine wonderful treasure hunts or Easter egg hunts if they do family weekends.
Some hotels offering this level of service and restaurant tend to make you feel that you are very lucky to be their guest. At the Grange we felt comfortable, cosseted and totally relaxed.
Can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samanthalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

The customer service is second to none. We go in the 'off' season for a complete rest. The pool is warm though small (just go at a quiet time). The food is excellent and they provide for exclusion diets etc. Staff go out of their way to provide any help needed. We've been returning for a number of years now and most of the staff are still there - that's got to be a good sign! There are always weddings being planned and conferences and meetings being held there, so others must think its good too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I agree with all your other reviews. .was stunning building and beautiful views. Rooms were lovely. .if you had one of the larger ones with a window not looking sideways at all the other rooms. We both thought it was expensive for the facilities. Not even a bottle of water in the room and for £138 I expect more. If the room we'd had was priced at say £90 then definitely be interested in going again. The staff were brilliant trainee receptionist bless her; was also covering restaurant waiting on , was lovely as were the bar men. Pleasant and polite at all times. Maybe I'm out of date with prices, but I would not pay that much for a room again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chixNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
0.4 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
6.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
12.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Hotel

Property: Grange Hotel
Address: Station Square, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional, Victorian hotel completely refurbished throughout with panoramic Bay views, private terraces/gardens & woodland. Offering 5-course table d`hote fine dining in addition to an extensive Lounge Bar menu. Full leisure facilities include heated pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and Beauty Salon. Lift to all floors. Perfect for all ages. Within easy reach of most major Lake District attractions with direct rail links to Scotland, the south and the west coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel Over Sands
Grange Hotel Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing