We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hampsfell House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend break”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed at this wonderful small hotel for 3 nights. On arrival I was stunned by the amazing setting of the building which nestles on the hillside above Grange over Sands. The extensive terraced gardens are brimming with beautiful flowers even at this time of year. Outdoor seating would provide fantastic views over the bay in warmer weather. The hotel is cosy with comfortable furnishings and an open log fire. My room was spacious and clean with an extensive range of toiletries and a well stocked tea tray. The most impressive aspect of this hotel was t he wonderful food. Breakfasts and dinners are cooked to order and I cannot imagine that you would have better meals in a 5 star establishment. The family owners were very attentive and I could not find anything about my stay on the negative side.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BathDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    69
    17
    1
    3
See reviews for
43
146
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hyde Cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here in September arriving early Saturday evening, the family run hotel is located along a long drive and is situated at the top of the hill. Inside it is quite traditional, homely and the bedroom/bathroom are adequately furnished. The hotel also allows guests to bring their pet dogs in and considering I’m allergic to animals I had no problem because of the cleanliness of the hotel. Possibly we should have stayed for the evening dinner rather than visit Grange over Sands because we could not find anywhere to eat even searching on the internet. The closest place for food was a pub called The Rose and Crown we found via Tripadvisor 4 miles away, sadly we can’t give you a review because every table was empty but had a reserve sign on. After finally findingsomewhere to eat we returned and the hotel car park was nearly full with non residents eating in the restaurant, possibly this shows how good the homemade food is. Looking at the breakfast menu maybe we should have stayed for dinner.
Overall the hotel is really fine and based near to the local woods good for country walks. If you want a hotel and a complete resort to be very quiet and away from today’s busy life this is for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for three nights in August and had a most enjoyable stay. It is a quaint hotel, with beautiful gardens and well located at the top of the hill above Grange-over-Sands and ideal for a quiet stay. We were quickly and efficiently booked in and shown to our room, offered an evening meal which we took as it was a Sunday and didn’t know the area. The room we had was a little small but suitable for the short stay and the bathroom with shower was functional and clean. Perhaps the décor needs a little updating. We found the staff most pleasant and the food very good, both breakfast and evening meal. No wonder they have many non residents having an evening meal. The free Wi Fi was an added bonus. There is easy access to the fell either by walking or travelling part way by car then walking but it is well worth the climb to the top for the views over Grange and beyond. All in all a pleasant hotel to stay in for a short break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie4146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

You will be genuinely surprised by the quality of the food here. We stayed 3 nights, eating in, and had a great meal every night- lots of choice and everything was as good as a top class restaurant. The location is really charming, with large and interesting gardens at the end of a lane out of town. The hotel was really comfortable, and while you will find places that have better overall facilities, nothing was a problem or in any way detracted from enjoyment of the visit. Overall great value

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had an early evening meal and found the whole experience lovely. There were families with young children, couples old and young there is even a restaurant area where you can take your dog in. Everyone was very friendly and the food was excellent with a great choice,
We have a caravan in the area so will be calling in again. Friends have ours have been too and they thoroughly enjoyed it.
You can also get a nice beer in the bar as well and a good wine.
The decor of the hotel and restaurant is charming with its antique furnishings and paintings. There is a lovely area to sit out as well.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the hotel but trip advisor would only let me through if I left a review. I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Yorks
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's about 500 metres from the main downtown, steep but a beautiful walk. Here you really do get away from it all yet you are in easy distance ( by car ) to some wonderful attractions and magnificent scenery.
The place is clean and well run , the room we had was fine if a bit out of date. A snug bar/lounge a good spot for pre dinner drinks.
The staff are warm and helpful and know their job. Food ? Excellent breakfast ( do have the fresh fruit salad to start) with a good choice, the smoked haddock and scrambled egg was particularly tasty.
Early bird dinner menu had a good choice and was WELL PRESENTED AND WELL COOKED. Wine a bit pricey but well selected.
All in all a good place tp relax for a few days, eat well and be properly looked after.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Lovely setting with delightful gardens. The evening meal was excellent although clearly staffing is rather short. We warmed to the hotel but in room 6 there are definite problems. The bed itself is very hard and was made worse by the strange headboard fixed to the wall several inches above the bed. The hair dryer had not been PAT tested this year and did not work correctly. The bathroom would be ok if you are small under 5'5" as the mirror is too low as is the shower head. Although newly fitted the bathroom is not really clean. The bedroom carpet and chair are very dirty and the bedroom decor is awful. Generally the public rooms seem in need of a really good clean, bannisters and newel posts are sticky, cobwebs abound, it's all rather sad. Breakfast was just OK far less inviting than many in this area and served dourly by I assume the owner. Our bed was remade before we packed and checked out with the used bedding. Organisation it seems is a problem, it feels as if it is run by a couple with scant experience of the industry. I hope they are open to advice as this could be really wonderful and have a higher rating by far.

Room Tip: I can only say avoid room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlegems132, Owner at Hampsfell House Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
How is it none of your concerns are mentioned at the time or at check out? why wait until you get home behind your computer ?
How dare you say my Hotel is dirty? it does not 'abound' with cobwebs.
We have a 5 star rating for the kitchen and a 9.1 from booking.com
Am pleased you enjoyed your evening meal but am puzzled by your comments on staffing shortage we did 60 meals that night with no complaints and no one kept waiting?
The problem with the hairdryer would have been instantly sorted had you bought it to our attention.Pat testing was done on the 13th August 2013.
The 'new' bathroom is in fact 5 years old such is our attention to detail in that it still looks 'new'
pity you could not have pointed all the dirt out for me.,
I again do not understand your comments on our breakfast everything is freshly prepared your breakfast is cooked to order- again perhaps at check out you could have given us a hint .
Your comments on us I feel are totally uncalled for and will be treated with the contempt they deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
0.6 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
953 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
441 reviews
8.1 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampsfell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampsfell House Hotel

Property: Hampsfell House Hotel
Address: Hampsfell Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hampsfell House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel restaurant and bar open to non residents ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampsfell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampsfell Hotel Grange Over Sands
Hampsfell House Hotel Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing