We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampsfell House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant Food”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

You will be genuinely surprised by the quality of the food here. We stayed 3 nights, eating in, and had a great meal every night- lots of choice and everything was as good as a top class restaurant. The location is really charming, with large and interesting gardens at the end of a lane out of town. The hotel was really comfortable, and while you will find places that have better overall facilities, nothing was a problem or in any way detracted from enjoyment of the visit. Overall great value

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    68
    16
    1
    3
See reviews for
42
141
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had an early evening meal and found the whole experience lovely. There were families with young children, couples old and young there is even a restaurant area where you can take your dog in. Everyone was very friendly and the food was excellent with a great choice,
We have a caravan in the area so will be calling in again. Friends have ours have been too and they thoroughly enjoyed it.
You can also get a nice beer in the bar as well and a good wine.
The decor of the hotel and restaurant is charming with its antique furnishings and paintings. There is a lovely area to sit out as well.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the hotel but trip advisor would only let me through if I left a review. I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Yorks
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's about 500 metres from the main downtown, steep but a beautiful walk. Here you really do get away from it all yet you are in easy distance ( by car ) to some wonderful attractions and magnificent scenery.
The place is clean and well run , the room we had was fine if a bit out of date. A snug bar/lounge a good spot for pre dinner drinks.
The staff are warm and helpful and know their job. Food ? Excellent breakfast ( do have the fresh fruit salad to start) with a good choice, the smoked haddock and scrambled egg was particularly tasty.
Early bird dinner menu had a good choice and was WELL PRESENTED AND WELL COOKED. Wine a bit pricey but well selected.
All in all a good place tp relax for a few days, eat well and be properly looked after.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Lovely setting with delightful gardens. The evening meal was excellent although clearly staffing is rather short. We warmed to the hotel but in room 6 there are definite problems. The bed itself is very hard and was made worse by the strange headboard fixed to the wall several inches above the bed. The hair dryer had not been PAT tested this year and did not work correctly. The bathroom would be ok if you are small under 5'5" as the mirror is too low as is the shower head. Although newly fitted the bathroom is not really clean. The bedroom carpet and chair are very dirty and the bedroom decor is awful. Generally the public rooms seem in need of a really good clean, bannisters and newel posts are sticky, cobwebs abound, it's all rather sad. Breakfast was just OK far less inviting than many in this area and served dourly by I assume the owner. Our bed was remade before we packed and checked out with the used bedding. Organisation it seems is a problem, it feels as if it is run by a couple with scant experience of the industry. I hope they are open to advice as this could be really wonderful and have a higher rating by far.

Room Tip: I can only say avoid room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlegems132, Owner at Hampsfell House Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
How is it none of your concerns are mentioned at the time or at check out? why wait until you get home behind your computer ?
How dare you say my Hotel is dirty? it does not 'abound' with cobwebs.
We have a 5 star rating for the kitchen and a 9.1 from booking.com
Am pleased you enjoyed your evening meal but am puzzled by your comments on staffing shortage we did 60 meals that night with no complaints and no one kept waiting?
The problem with the hairdryer would have been instantly sorted had you bought it to our attention.Pat testing was done on the 13th August 2013.
The 'new' bathroom is in fact 5 years old such is our attention to detail in that it still looks 'new'
pity you could not have pointed all the dirt out for me.,
I again do not understand your comments on our breakfast everything is freshly prepared your breakfast is cooked to order- again perhaps at check out you could have given us a hint .
Your comments on us I feel are totally uncalled for and will be treated with the contempt they deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We did not stay at this hotel because we were with a large group of 20 and they could not accommodate everyone. However for two nights we joined the main group for evening meal and it was absolutely delicious. You could not fault the choice for each course on the menu except one of the group did think that a local cheese selection would have been a good idea. However I have to say I was more than happy with the list of lovely puddings. Even the vegetarian option got a thumbs up. Considering we were such a large group the food was served in a timely fashion and piping hot. I can personally recommend either the venison or the lamb dishes.
All the staff were very friendly and the owners very amenable. The hotel is not far from the centre of town so well worth a visit if you are looking for somewhere to enjoy a good meal and have a drink in pleasant surroundings
Each member of our group staying at the hotel was very happy with their room and some of them are quite exacting (they know who they are).

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyDayYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We arrived at Hampsfell after house hunting in the area. Both of us were very wet and tired yet the owners made us feel very welcome and efficiently booked us in and showed us to our room. The room was smart and clean with functional facilities.

We ate in the hotel that evening, with some trepidation as the previous hotel's meal had been the most expensive pile of dog food I had every eaten, fortunately the food was excellent with equally good service by the owners.

After an acceptable nights sleep, perhaps firmer pillows or bringing our own might have been a good idea, we enjoyed an outstanding cooked breakfast.

Only slightly negative comment would be the availability of Internet as the hotel wireless network was pretty weak in the room.

Overall, if we find ourselves in the area again this hotel will be revisited.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the south as the northern rooms look out at a bank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for a night, and we had a nice time. The rooms were clean, though the pillow was kind of strange - it was open on one end and there was this odd stuffing that was kind of poking out. It felt a little like industrial padding, so it wasn't very comforting to think about that being a thin sheet of cotton away from my face, but I guess it was comfortable enough. I was worried that we had done something to miff the proprietress, since she didn't seem to be very friendly towards us, but that could have been my American expectations misleading me. The garden is really charming, and there's private parking, which was a relief after driving the narrow streets with that crazy British habit of parking on sidewalks! The hotel isn't walkably close to anything notable, but it's a good place to stay if you have a car and want to get to other towns in the area, which we did.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soybean1734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlegems132, Owner at Hampsfell House Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi
Am pleased you enjoyed over all your stay with us-the 'industrial padding' in the pillows is called a pillow protector to keep the pillows clean, they are removed often and washed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grange-over-Sands hotels
0.6 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
919 reviews
1.2 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
363 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
433 reviews
2.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
#7 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampsfell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampsfell House Hotel

Property: Hampsfell House Hotel
Address: Hampsfell Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#3 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hampsfell House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel restaurant and bar open to non residents ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampsfell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampsfell Hotel Grange Over Sands
Hampsfell House Hotel Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing