We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampsfell House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Arrived early for an overnight stay while at a wedding, owners had our prep'd our room early so we could change, made coffee in the bar while we waited etc. An older fashioned hotel but with great service, and if breakfast was anything to go by exceptional food. Plan to come back to stay longer and explore the area !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philandjanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    68
    16
    1
    3
See reviews for
42
141
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a trip to cartmel races. The hotel is lovely and the food is excellent we had the fish and chip supper on arrival on the Friday evening. We had a twin room at the back of the hotel and it was lovely. The hotel is at the top of a steep hill so be aware when booking it is not that bad though. The hosts were lovely and it has a nice bar for drinks after evening meal. The breakfast was lovely and well cooked would stay again for a trip to the races.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisyWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

just got back from hampsfell house today, we stayed for 3 nights from 21-24th august and had a brilliant time. Everything here is first class , we stayed with our dog Vinny. Dog walks are on the doorstep. The food and service here are the best we have had anywhere we just could not fault it.We had room 8 which is a decent size double at the back of the hotel it looked quite newly decorated with a good sized bathroom. the mattress was lovely very firm and comfortable, the furnishings were of decent quality and all very clean. The hotel has antique stuff everywhere mixed with modern things as well. All the staff were very nice and did all they could for you when you asked. I have no idea why this is only rated a 2 star it is worthy of much more. It is up quite a steep lane and there are a few houses nearby, the gardens are nice and its very peaceful. Hope to come again soon, thanks to all for a great stay.
Anita Ray + Vin.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vin21_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I think looking at previous reviews we must have stayed at a different hotel. The hotel is lovely and clean with nice bedrooms but as they are a dog friendly hotel there was very little space for the dog to sleep. The food is absolutely fabulous, if you stay BBand D the choice and quality are superb. As a note to anyone going to stay when they have a dog the rooms are cleaned in a morning when you are having breakfast probably when you dog is in the room. We didn't mind but it would be nice to check and make guests aware of this. From your experience the welcome we received certainly wasn't friendly at we 'had arrived at an inconvenient time'. So much so we offered to come back later. The hotel is in a lovely setting and is 5 mins from the centre but up a very steep hill. For us the hotel was good but we could have had a friendlier welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlegems132, Owner at Hampsfell House Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
What can I say? not sure about your comment about staying at a different hotel? unfortunatly check in time is after 2.pm not 11.30 when you will be confrounted with a very harrased land lady trying to do eight bedrooms clear up after breakfast clean downstairs and cope with a photo shoot.(staff short due to staff off on a night out the night before).I did appologiise and try to explain the situation but obviously not very well to which I appolgise again as no offence was meant.
Hotel policy says dogs should not be left alone in bedrooms-due to the damage when stressed that can occur-if we were upsetting you by servicing your room whille at breakfast a word in our ear would have soon rectified the problem.
One last comment your room is requested every New Year for a gentleman with a red setter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Level Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this little gem of a hotel, the setting is lovely. Nestled in amongst the trees. The room was clean and comfortable with a decent size bathroom and lovely views of the surrounding area.
We ate our evening meal there both days as the food was exceptional.
The breakfast was lovely and plentiful.
We walked to Cartmel which took a while due to the extreme hill climb but the village was lovely and we spent a lovely few hours there,
We left feeling refreshed and relaxed. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you're visiting this lovely area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoubylouRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a brithday celebration here today for Sunday lunch and found the experience start to finish to be outstanding. Excellent value for money- service was relaxed and informal very pleasant indeed. Attention to detail at every level. Only negative was all the bric a brac cluttering the place reminiscent of a car boot sale....minor grumble in the grand scheme..excellent meal

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leahcimeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlegems132, Owner at Hampsfell House Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments would love to know which car boots you attend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Second time we've stayed here ....very comfortable (like a pair of good slippers !) ,food is excellent ,friendly welcome from the family staff,great value and nice quiet location .

Room Tip: There's a room with a four poster bed which looks interesting !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianhedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grange-over-Sands hotels
0.6 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.2 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.9 mi away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampsfell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampsfell House Hotel

Property: Hampsfell House Hotel
Address: Hampsfell Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#3 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hampsfell House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel restaurant and bar open to non residents ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hampsfell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampsfell Hotel Grange Over Sands
Hampsfell House Hotel Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing