We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oak head cottage - self catering next door to the campsite!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Head Caravan Park

Oak Head Caravan Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grange-over-Sands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Head Caravan Park
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oak head cottage - self catering next door to the campsite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were greeted on arrival by helpful staff at the campsite and led up the small lane to this lovely cottage. The living room has such fantastic views which allows you to enjoy Cumbria whatever the weather! All the bedrooms are a great size and each have their own TV. Wireless and the games room kept us all entertained!! The kitchen and dining room are huge and well equiped. Easy access to the main road and local attractions. We hired this cottage for a week after our wedding and having lived in Cumbria for 20 years before moving away to study it was a pleasure to bring my new Egyptian family to this place to give them a taste of England. I've lived in/rented/visited many places in Cumbria/the Lakes over the years and this trumps them all!!! Stunning property and wouldn't hesitate to return. Will be recommending to all my friends! I think you can book directly through the campsite but we used cottages4you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drvix85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at Oak Head in our touring caravan and our friends stayed in their tent. The touring pitches are very spacious, plenty of room for our caravan, awning and car. All the touring pitches are on hard standing and have electric hook up. You're not far from a water tap wherever you are. The tent pitches are on a grassy area with a lovely view and in the main are very flat. The toilet block was spotless and looked new. Very useful laundry as we had kids and lots of mucky clothes! Would definitely recommend staying here, the site is beautiful, clean, quiet and well off the main road. We occasionally heard a noise from the road but it certainly does not take anything away from the site itself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kath149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

25 of us camped there last weekend...owners came to the rescue to help us put up large tent in very strong wind...then appeared with blankets for the group when it was cold...clean shower and loo area. Only slight let down was the 20p meters for showers and hot water and some road noise..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Timlaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is our 2nd year on this site.
What a little bit of heaven it is.
Perfect location near to the lake and fell foot park, short drive to Bowness and Ambleside.
The owners are just lovely they are so helpful in everyway.
The facilities are really great for camping and touring caravans.
Thank you for another fantastic holiday look forward to coming again.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grange-over-Sands hotels
0.4 mi away
The Blue House Bed and Breakfast
3.6 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
3.3 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
3.6 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
#7 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
5.1 mi away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Head Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Head Caravan Park

Property: Oak Head Caravan Park
Address: Ayside, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Grange-over-Sands
Also Known As:
Oak Head Caravan Park Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing