We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spot on”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fish-over-Chips

Fish-over-Chips
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Excellent chippy
Flookburgh, Cumbria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spot on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Good everything staff spot on coulnt ask for much more. I visit sometimes multiple times a week. If your in the area its worth a stop.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank vintagetractors1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon83N, Manager at Fish-over-Chips, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We value your comments & are pleased you are happy with the service you receive. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    57
    14
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Potential source of food poisoning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Since my last visit the chippy has opened a takeaway pizza outlet adjacent to the main restaurant. I chose to order a pizza from there a couple of weeks ago and was first alarmed to see that the bloke taking the orders and handling the cash was the same guy who made the pizzas (without first washing his hands). During my time in the shop I also saw him picking up litter and handling the ingredients of the sweets for the main restaurant,also without washing his hands. The following day I came down with a case of suspected food poisoning which lasted a little over 24 hours. I cannot definitively state that my eating at the restaurant directly led to my sickness, but I won't be eating there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pererd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loneranger1983, Manager at Fish-over-Chips, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your recent review.

Firstly: we always take comments of this nature extremely seriously & had such a incident occured and brought to OUR attention in the first instance then there are procedures in place to rectify this.

Secondly: again we would of been more than happy to replace or refund any item you feel had not been prepared to the highest of standards - if this had been brought to OUR attention at the time.

As you choose to view your oppinions on here rather than direct to us, there is very little we can do.

Finally: we have just displayed our "reccommended on Trip-advisor" sticker in our window JUST NEXT TO OUR FIVE STAR HYGIENE RATING.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Service was prompt, and there was a good choice of menu. A little bit on the expensive side, though. We had haddock and chips, with good size portions. Fish tasty, chips OK.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pendlemarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loneranger1983, Manager at Fish-over-Chips, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased you had a excellent dining experience with us & value your comments. We look forward to wecoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“delicious... BUT EXPENSIVE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

wow... i asked for 5 chip muffins (or baps, barm cakes, bread rolls, whatever you call them).. and had to go back to the car for some more money because a tenner wasnt enough.... its only bread and potatoes!!! they were nice tho :)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia_Robbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Good food, friendly staff, and free ice cream, we sat in, it was spotless inside.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank gordonward289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish-over-Chips also viewed

Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
 
Flookburgh, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 

Been to Fish-over-Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing