We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back in time in the best possible way”
Review of Clare House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clare House
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Going back in time in the best possible way”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Clare House is a gem. Service like it ought to be. Nicely furnished rooms. Great welcome. Excellent food. Breathtaking views across Morecambe Bay. Nothing remotely corporate about it. A family run place managed by people who really care. It is only small so the meal times are limited but that's a small price to pay. Some of the decor is a bit retro but that adds to the charm. The ethos also makes for a friendly atmosphere with guests talking to each other rather than the usual English reserve. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just enjoyed a 3 day stay at this beautiful hotel. The rooms were lovely and we had a balcony overlooking the garden with a view to the sands. The bed and bedding were so comfortable and excellent bathroom and shower. We were made to feel very welcome and the food was cooked to a very high standard with good service. We really enjoyed our stay and felt it was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 day stay in May 2013. Excellent location with lovely views over the garden and coast. Good sized room, excellent bathroom and shower. Bedding is sheets/blankets although you can ask for duvets.
Very good meals, with nice service. But very restricting in terms of timing. It says 6.30 - 7.30pm but really we felt it meant start at 6.30pm, which probably suits older guests. We arrived at the dining room around 7.15pm, and had to ask for a short break between soup and main course, otherwise the dishes arrived one after the other. Even at the later start we were finished with the 5 course meal and coffee by 8.30pm, so you cannot make an evening of it.
Rooms are tidied and beds made whilst breakfast is serviced (8.30 - 9.30am). We felt it very discourteous and inappropriate that on the final day, our half filled suitcase was moved from the bed, and the bed was made up for the next guests; and all but one hand towel was removed from the bathroom. This felt like we were being "moved out" - never in our experience of hotels and guest houses has this happened before.
Overall, with the restrictions, we thought Clare House was expensive at £90pppn for dinner, bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: choose one on first floor with balcony...good views. Ours was 14 which is at far end of corridor - v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corbett7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were a party of 8 who dined last night at Clare House. As soon as we entered we were made to feel wellcome. We had pre dinner drinks in a cosy lounge, the young lady who took our orders
Was very professional. The dinning room was very tasteful, crisp white linen tablecloths and beautifully set tables, the food was delicious, and so well presented. I would recommend Clare House for quality of food, well done chefs and young ladies who waited on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LunaCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The food and welcome here is fantastic. Relaxed whilst formal atmosphere. A real treat to come here as a couple or with family or friends. Get here a little earlier and enjoy a sherry and some olives overlooking the bay and relaxing in comfy chairs in one of 2 beautiful lounges. Dinners are served at a set time as they cater for residents and non resident guests. The menus change on a daily basis and you can get a preview of them on their Website. Everything is beatifully cooked and prepared, imaginative and delicious, in fact as quite fussy foodies who cook a lot at home and are often disappointed when we eat out we have never been let down here and come back time and time again. We look forward to our next visit with relish!

Room Tip: We were here for a meal not to stay as we're local to the area so not able to comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed (with a friend) as we were going to a nearby wedding. We received a fairly lukewarm reception from the owner and our request for afternoon tea felt like an imposition. The other staff (particularly the maitre d') were much friendlier. The setting is absolutely wonderful, really picturesque and the rooms were extremely comfortable. The rest of the customers were much older - and judging by the response from the owner, more welcome than we were, which was a shame. Breakfast was fine - nothing spectacular. I think the cost we would definitely considering staying elsewhere in future - we were the wrong generation, I think!

Room Tip: The rooms seemed to all be twin rooms - which wasn't a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

After a bit of a break we returned to Clare last month for a few days and found it to be as good as ever. The quality of the welcome, food, accommodation and comfort were still of a very high quality and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. However, it pains us a bit to make one criticism and that relates to the available menu choices. It would appear that after years of receiving well-deserved plaudits, the chefs have decided to rest on their laurels in that the breakfast menu has not changed in some 6 years and badly needs reviewing and updating. In addition, in the dinner menu the number of main courses has been reduced to a mere 3 (it used to be 4 or more) and some of them are soon repeated, even on successive evenings! For a hotel which now charges close to £100 per night these limitations do not represent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea are best but you pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MeiklejohnAngus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grange-over-Sands hotels
1.1 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
955 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
441 reviews
1.0 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare House

Property: Clare House
Address: Park Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 7HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clare House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare House Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing