We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality of ingredients and cooking no longer so good”

The Chequers Inn Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 143 Restaurants in Grantham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Leicestershire
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Quality of ingredients and cooking no longer so good”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have really enjoyed eating here in the past few years. (See previous review.) We have had some excellent meals, beautifully cooked and using quality ingredients. But this summer we have been disappointed. A Sunday lunch in May was poor but we put that down to it being a busy bank holiday weekend. The owners acknowledged the problem and sent a voucher to cover the cost of a midweek set lunch which we used last week. Sad to report that, although improved compared to May, the quality of ingredients used and the standard of cooking is now distinctly average. In our opinion The Chequers is no longer worth a journey but it's fine if you are passing the door and want a drink and a bite to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john_ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    137
    43
    36
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Well worth the journey”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were staying at a favourite Belton Woods and needed a venue for a good meal on Sunday evening. We called in and having seen the menu and enjoyed a decent glass of wine sitting out in the garden decided to return that evening. There are plenty of wines by the glass to choose from and the welcome was genuine from the staff. The locals are definitely lucky to be able to pop round the corner to this village pub.

We chose the beetroot cured salmon served with glazed oranges, garnished with pea shoots. We followed with the excellent turbot on a bed of prawn and pea risotto. This came with a yummy carrot purée and the waitress was kind enough to ask chef for the contents of the latter. I shall be trying to recreate.

Service was good .. Coffee was not the best and I have to gripe slightly to charge me for a plate of truffles . Please charge me more for the coffee serve it right and give a me just one truffle to go with it.

Will we return... Certainly if we are near again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ponymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good all round”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

After a lovely walk along the canal with the dog , we avoided the now awful Mucky Duck and drive the 2 mins to this idyllic local. Set beside the village cricket field oozes charm. It is very dog friendly but we decided to take advantage of the weather and sit in the gardens. Food very good indeed although I wish my fish and chips had been served on a plate rather than a board - one squeeze of lemon it rolled off the board, through the wooden slats of the table and onto my chinos which bleached them ! Apart from that small incident we had a thoroughly enjoyable lunch and will definitely be back en famille.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sussexfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“An excellent and very civilised lunch”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stopped here for lunch and refreshments whilst cycling from Oakham to Lincoln and enjoyed a warm welcome, excellent beer and marvellous lunch. The Chequers has seemingly mastered the remarkable double-act of feeling like a traditional country inn as well as being an excellent restaurant. The food was perfect, well presented, deftly served and responsibly priced - if this was the bar menu, the restaurant must be outstanding !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic country pub”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you want fabulous food and surroundings this is the place to be ! The menu has something from pub classics to a la carte all beautifully presented and delicious .Staff are attentive and friendly. A must for any foody !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chequers Inn Restaurant also viewed

Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 
Grantham, Lincolnshire
Harlaxton, Grantham
 

Been to The Chequers Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing