We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic country pub”

The Chequers Inn Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 143 Restaurants in Grantham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic country pub”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you want fabulous food and surroundings this is the place to be ! The menu has something from pub classics to a la carte all beautifully presented and delicious .Staff are attentive and friendly. A must for any foody !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    138
    44
    36
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincolbshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“2 hours to eat.....”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

45min wait in between courses...asked for menu board three times. Waited 30 mins as it couldn't be found! Pimms in small wine glass! Food arrived without cutlery.....main course and pudding! Have been each week for four...and same choice very restricted for vegetarians....and they sell Foie gras which I find disgusting and am shocked they cater for those tastes....the whole evening meal was stress from start to finish and the staff looked hassled....and miserable......sorry but we have taken this eatery off our list.......

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlie8488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham uk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch never been better”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great location, set in the vale of Belvoir, this beautiful pub hit the right notes. Family friendly (also good for meeting up with friends), well furnished, large beer garden next to the cricket green, perfect for a summer Sunday lunch inside or out. Bar has plenty on offer for all tastes. There is a large restaurant, which is comfortable and well presented. The food was excellent, we all choose from the Sunday lunch menu which gives two courses, starter and main for approx £14. Also offers gluten free option for the Sunday roast which is great. Wine list really good, though did stick too the predictable Pinot noir. No complaints, and no washing up :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drc1094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We called here on our way home from holiday in Norfolk for lunch.
Having stayed in the hotel before and enjoyed it we knew the food was good.
The service and food was excellent however we both felt it was very expensive.
Still a very enjoyable way to end our holiday

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elmofud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Never fails to impress”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

A grest place for lunch or dinner with well cooked food, very welcoming staff and a great location in the Vale of Belvoir. Indoors or outdoors this is never disappoints. The "7th heaven " early dining offer provides amazing value

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carpetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chequers Inn Restaurant also viewed

Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 
Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 
Harlaxton, Grantham
 

Been to The Chequers Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing