We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good curry!”
Review of Gurkha Square

Gurkha Square
Ranked #4 of 142 Restaurants in Grantham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good curry!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed ina lodge at the Belton Woods Hotel, and Gorkha delivered right to the door, having to go through the security gate.

Very friendly service on the phone, and by the delivery driver.

Very nice curry indeed. Good chicken tikka, rice etc and plenty of it. Naan slightly dry but fine.

Deffinately recommend!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    70
    21
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Really nice place - but a little bit overpriced”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I went there with my wife to see if the awards are well deserved. Not saying too much - yes, indeed it is. The food is of very nice, the curry was really nicely done. So in terms of food - we were almost completely satisfied (however some elements could have been a little bit better - rice was too dry). However wine wasn't too good, and this one is what affects my score.

Also staff is very friendly and helpful - but food was coming to us really slow. I understand that it needs preparing, but it was too much - moreover there weren't too many guests.

Regarding price - I was a little bit surprised. I would say that I expected around 20% lower bill. Comparing this price to London - it was level of nice quality place in Soho.

All in all - worth checking.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3PL81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Bennington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just the best”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I’m a big curry fan and have tried most places abound the Grantham - Newark area and I can with hand on heart say this is place is the best
I have yet to find any dish I have not liked the food is FRESH and cooked perfect
Reasonable prices
As a lot of the dishes come with ether with rice or Nan included
If you like your Cobra beer they have it on draft ice cold
Also the restaurant takes part in promotional offers 2 for 1 on the taste card and voucher cloud
All I can say is try this place and you won’t be disappointed

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank khagg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh food cooked well”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Lovely people, relaxed atmosphere, the best thing is the food is FRESH and cooked very well. Reasonable prices, good Gorkha beer too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“An indian sigh in an English town”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Gorikha is a very faimous indian restarant in Grantham, with remercable reputatiuon a very good location: in corner with Tollemace Arms! If you are in
iddle East of .. not esitate to viit both of tem! EvaChiser

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EvaChiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Square also viewed

Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 
Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Gurkha Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing