We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“choose your mug...”

Easton Walled Gardens
Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in Grantham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful garden that has been revived since 2001. The large stately home was demolished in 1951 and the site abandoned. Now visitors can see the grounds that President Franklin Roosevelt described as 'a dream of Nirvana, almost too good to be true.' Work is still ongoing and the restoration and features of this 400 year garden makes a fascinating trip. We have a good tearoom and are very easy to find off the A1.
Near OAKHAM
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“choose your mug...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Hidden away, just off the A1.
Yes, it is a work in progress, but isn't that a good reason to return again soon?
The gardens are terraced, and the views are wonderful.
A wheelchair user on their own would struggle on the main slope dressed in wood bark. And there are lots of steps. But there are many benches to rest awhile and vistas aplenty.
Imagining where the house that vanished half a century ago fitted into the landscape set my imagination whirring.
You don't get 16 acres of planting, but you do get space and atmosphere. What I'd call the "wow" factor in country gardens.
The tea room offers tasty food, and you get to choose your mug! Or cup.
The loos are wonderful. I've not seen a gents loo as good as this for years.
We both enjoyed a go on the swing, and I was inspired by the veg garden.
I wonder when we can back?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nbsideways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    63
    21
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lovely Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We came on one of the best weather days so far this year, and I'm sure that increased our enjoyment. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit. It was indeed a haven of peace and quiet on a busy Bank Holiday Monday - though the background hum of traffic in places from the nearby A1 spoilt it a little bit. Some people have complained of the price and thought that visitors are having to fund the no doubt expensive restoration. But surely that is how it should be - I feel that visitors could not be funding this completely, but some profit from visitors would be a great help with the continuation of the work and the maintenance of the gardens. There has been much work done and more is in progress, and we felt that it was worth the entry money (though you do need to go in decent weather). We found it interesting to picture where the house once stood, and how the garden has developed since it was uncovered and cleared. A lot of thought has gone into the design, and it is unusual to see a spacious walled garden in this setting. We had a pleasant lunch outside. If you don't stop for refreshments at the cafe, you could walk round the gardens in a fairly short time, but if you want to linger, and have kids who want to play on the grass (bats/balls/frisbees etc are provided), you could spend a couple of hours there. I enjoyed my go on the tree swing!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chiennah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely way to spend a summers day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We have visited these gardens a couple of times. Beautiful gardens and lovely little tea room. The vegetable garden is so well kept and very inspirational. There are benches all around the gardens to stop and take in the scenery. We had lunch at the little cafe followed by delicious homemade cake. Plenty of room for children to run about.

Helpful?
Thank canada_rocks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
849 reviews
506 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“A delight to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The family that own this garden have put a tremendous amount of work into its renovation. It is startling to see the before and after photos. It is still a work in progress, but so much has been achieved.
The gift shops have lots of interesting things to buy and the small cafe sells home made cakes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mouseHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

There`s more to see and do in similar places elsewhere and at half the price too. The majority of what is there to see is lovely but the entrance fee doesn`t warrent the return of what you get. Also the cafe is overpriced too. Don`t think I`d go back, not just because its expensive but because its just another average garden.
Did I mention it`s rather expensive . . .

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Neo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Easton Walled Gardens also viewed

Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 
Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Easton Walled Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing