We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surpassed our high expectations!!”

The Royal Oak Swayfield
Ranked #16 of 152 Restaurants in Grantham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surpassed our high expectations!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful furnished , traditional country pub. Friendly staff and people alike. Food was delightfully fresh and very well presented. Recently taken over by new management and its already got that great comfy inviting atmosphere. I would whole heartedly recommend The Royal Oak to anyone. The Christmas decorations and open fire were nice touch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at The Royal Oak Swayfield, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    41
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic opening Night under new management!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Had a wonderful time at the re-opening evening of the Royal oak, Swayfield which is now under management :)
Wonderful buffet and great choice of beers.
Lovely atmosphere and place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank uglibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Owner at The Royal Oak Swayfield, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your evening with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walmer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Took our money and have gone bust”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked a night here for 27th July. They took our deposit on 4th June. Wrote to us on 4th July that they had ceased trading and "we have been unable to provide you a refund".

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank mrscoml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon l, Manager at The Royal Oak Swayfield, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We regret to say as per our letter that we have ceased trading

We have informed trip advisor, however they cannot remove us from there website??!

We do apologise to all, we can only advise for guests to pursue their card provider for a refund, as we have ceased to trade and we are insolvent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing food in a friendly, comfortable environment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

A very cosy setting. Lovely, friendly staff. Delicious food! Fantastic! A real treat is the fillet steak cooked on hot stones; gorgeous! I'd go back every weekend if it was more local.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bouncehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“DONT BOOK THIS PLACE- ITS GONE BUST”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Had a booking for rooms here only 2 days away- emailed them to book a table only to be told they have gone bust and tough we have taken your money. If I hadn't e mailed them for sinner we would have turned up from 100 miles away with nowhere to stay

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak Swayfield also viewed

Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 
Colsterworth, Grantham
 

Been to The Royal Oak Swayfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing