We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a great place”

The Royal Oak Swayfield
Ranked #10 of 138 Restaurants in Grantham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just a great place”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Visited the Royal Oak with my wife and two friends from London on a cold foggy day.The place looked good on arrival. Warm welcome and welcoming fire near our table. The pub was very neat and tidy. The soup, pate and prawn/salmon starters were all well presented and tasty.Liver and bacon and salmon mains and accompanying vegetables were beautifully cooked and were highly praised by all of us. Desserts were of an equally high standard. Small choice of wines but those chosen were perfectly acceptable. Service was efficient, quick and very friendly. I can see why others praise this place highly. Will definitely return. Keep up the good work !

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanFrancois115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    41
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing home cooked pub grub”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food, great pub atmosphere and friendly service. Had the best creme brûlée I've had in a long time and the vege options were great as well. I would recommend to families, friends or couples.

Helpful?
Thank Jackieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Still fantastic”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

As a regular I feel I should mention again how great this place is! The burgers and hot rocks have a lot of good press as well they should do but don't forget the great range of local beers and the fantastic atmosphere. Room rates are also very good, we love going to the pub and seeing it with a full atmosphere so give it a go!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christinatink88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and Excellent service”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT home cooked food, excellent service spot on everyone must try if in the area:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richardden1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Service with a Smile”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

B&B Accommodation: Nice & tidy room with ensuite. Comfortable bed and represented good value for money.

Restaurant: Food was excellent, we had a Sirloin Steak and a Lasagne followed by Sticky Toffee Pudding and Apple/Blackberry Crumble. Really enjoyed it and certainly had no room for anything else afterwards. Again, good value for money

Breakfast: Full English was equally as good.

Hosts/Service: Friendly and extremely helpful. We were made very welcome from the moment we arrived through to the moment we left. Professional approach set you at ease and helped you relax straight away, nothing too much trouble and very polite.

Summary: Would definitely recommend a stay and dine at The Royal Oak and would definitely call in if passing again

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trickle-Humph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak Swayfield also viewed

Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 
Woolsthorpe by Belvoir, Lincolnshire
Colsterworth, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Royal Oak Swayfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing