We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible fish restaurant”
Review of Piccola Venezia

Piccola Venezia
Ranked #2 of 142 Restaurants in Grantham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Incredible fish restaurant”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Really lovely fresh fish. We tried the fish soup, calamari, and fish platter. There were whole langoustines, lovely squid which wasn't at all chewy or elastic, and mussels. My husband had a pasta dish which was also great, but weirdly had loads of sauce which I don't remember from Italy. We had children with us and the kitchen made my son a pasta dish with chicken and cream which wasn't on the menu. Amazing bruschetta too, not like you get in gastro pubs. I saw some pizzas coming out. Think I'll try one next time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gemma l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    45
    14
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Winner of our first prize!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Having lived and worked in Grantham for over 25 years and having recently moved away, my wife and I recently reflected on which restaurant would take our "First prize" in the area. We have probably been into most if not all in and around Grantham but Piccola Venezia is in our opinion the best. An absolute gem in every dimension. Excellence throughout.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unassuming but worth finding”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Found this by accident - looking for a place to eat in Grantham and the Italian place down the road was full. It's easy to miss it on the street which is nondescript but has 5 or 6 restaurants. Look for the Italian flag sign sticking out.

Unassuming, decor nothing special. However, we were made to feel welcome. 1 free table on a busy evening. The menu was not too long so there was attention to the quality of each dish. The food was fresh and tasty, recipes were classically Italian but not just standard fare. The 3 of us all had pasta dishes. The garlic bread starter was effectively a whole pizza with garlic and tomato - 1 portion was plenty for 3.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nigelw101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Taste of Italy in Grantham”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Being fairly new to the area, this restaurant had been recommended by some of our neighbours, so we decided to give it a try. We weren't disappointed, it was beautifully presented, fresh Italian food. The menu had lots of choices and an abundance of seafood dishes, as well as a specials board.

For starters I had squid, which was cooked to perfection and just melted in my mouth and the Prawn and Scallop linguine it was to die for, I would certainly have that again! My Husband had the spicy mussels which were on the specials board, followed by the fish soup, which had seabass, mussels, langoustines, prawns and squid in it. We were given a rosemary and garlic bread and olives whilst we were waiting for our food and the house wine was extremely good and reasonably priced for a house wine!

All in all a lovely evening, great food, nice ambience and fabulous service. We look forward to returning again and again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DM_squared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our favourite in town”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is, in our opinion, the best restaurant in town. We have been here many times and it gets 10/10 every time!
Staff are relaxed but attentive; restaurant is quaint, rustic and has a great atmosphere.
Food - awesome. It is always very fresh, tasty and cooked perfectly. There is plenty of choice on the menu.
You should definitely find time to visit Piccola Venezia but phone first to reserve a table - it's popular!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccola Venezia also viewed

Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 
Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Piccola Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing