We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Smashing!”
other travelers have booked this property
Superking zip and link bed for maximum comfort
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Superking zip and link bed for maximum comfort
Comfortable, cosy studio apartment - bigger than a hotel room! Twin bed set up - perfect for friends sharing
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Superking zip and link bed for maximum comfort
Comfortable, cosy studio apartment - bigger than a hotel room!
Twin bed set up - perfect for friends sharing
Comfortable seating area with local art work on the walls
Great kitchen area perfect for self catering
Corner shower with wc and wash hand basin.  There is also a washing machine in bathroom.
Floor plan of the Snug
Quirky individual stylish touches
Breakfast bar dining option
The Square at Grantown on Spey - The Snug is in a High Street location
The Snug is open all year round  - perfect for skiing in the winter
High quality fixtures and fittings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Dylan100
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Smashing!”
Reviewed March 9, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We were only there for a short break, would love to stay longer next time. The Snug is super cosy and immaculately clean. Extra comfy bed and well equipped kitchen, they really have thought of everything. Lots to do and explore in the area. Just hope they will have us back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 10, 2016
You are welcome back any time and thank you for your lovely review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen_of...
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy New Year Break”
Reviewed January 16, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The Snug is in a great location for exploring the Cairngorms. It is decorated to a very high standard, and it has everything that you could want for a self catering break (secure parking spot, kitchen very well equipped, lovely comfy huge bed, nice little lounge area - should you wish to watch TV anywhere else other than from the huge bed!, board games, TV & DVD, wifi, lovely and warm, and a great welcome pack of all sorts of Scottish delights - plus a bottle of fizz to see in the New Year!). The only thing that would have made this flat perfect for me, would be to have a bath to sink in to at the end of a chilly walk, as the shower was a bit 'compact and bijou'.

Katie was great (very accommodating allowing us to arrive on a Monday), quick to respond over email prior to our stay and very welcoming on our arrival. We didn't see much of each other during our stay but they are just next door should you need them.

The town has lots of shops including a sizeable Co-op just around the corner from the flat, and plenty of walks from the door. They even put on a street party with live music and fireworks for us... oh yes, and it was New Year's Eve! Would definitely stay again if we are holidaying in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy and welcoming. Well equipped.
Liked least: Lack of a bath (but this is of course personal preference!)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and would agree if we could have got a bath in there we would have done, but sadly room configuration just didn't make it feasible. We are delighted that you enjoyed our fantastic fireworks and street party, the whole town works hard during the year to make this possible and people come from miles around. We do hope we will see you again some time back to this beautiful part of the world. Many thanks again Katie & Gavin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James N N...
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent All Round.”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our first visit to The Snug, we visit the area on a regular basis and this
has been a great find.
Katie is a lovely host, the apartment is well appointed and
extremely comfortable.
Had a great Weekend and will come back again.
Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2015
We'd love to see you more often - thank you for the kind words and great review, most appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily B
Selkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful Stay, perfect weekend away.”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The apartment was absolutely lovely, dealing with Katie the owner was no problem at all, and she was a lovely hostess. It is in a good location and has everything you need! The bed was especially comfy and enormous! Overall I highly recommend this place as it was excellent value for money and both myself and my other half thoroughly enjoyed our stay... THE ONLY! downside we found was it was slightly noisy but nothing to put you off from staying!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2015
Emily we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and yes disappointing that the pub was a wee bit noisy one night - a definite reason for us to pop ear plugs in for those nights! Thank you for the lovely we review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelsoArch...
Kelso
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“very snug in The Snug”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We spent an enjoyable week here just catching the last of the Indian Summer. The apartment is very well equipped with quality fittings throughout.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2015
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane S
Yona, Mariana Islands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our First Trip to Scotland”
Reviewed October 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our first trip to the area, and we were traveling with family, but wanted our privacy, too. The Snug was a perfect retreat for the two of us, and close to everything we needed. Our daughter was our driver, so we did not need a car while staying, as we could walk to the shops and the nearby eating establishments in the village.

We managed to take in the Highland games in Inverness and see some of the whiskey trail on our way down to Aberdeen. This area has much to explore, and we would love to return on our own this time, for a much longer stay. We wish we'd had more time to visit with the owners, but the advice we received when we met regarding places to eat and drives to take was perfect. I also enjoyed the drawer full of travel information on the area, and some beautiful photos of the Grantown area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cozy and bright studio overlooking main street in a historic building.
Liked least: No dryer for our wet things
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2015
Hi Diane - lovely to hear from you and thank you for the positive review, we do hope you manage to come back and visit our gorgeous area again some day :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenaE897
1 review
“Great place in perfect location.”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We truly enjoyed our stay at Snug. It's a right size for two people, spotless, very beautifully appointed and in a great location right in a center of Grantown.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2015
Dear Elena & Igor, we were so delighted to meet you and it was wonderful that you chose to spend such a big birthday in Scotland. We really hope you will be able to come back and visit us again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing