We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular Cottage with Wonderful Views on the...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
keigrant
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Spectacular Cottage with Wonderful Views on the Braes of Castle Grant”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We chose Tombain Cottage as our base while visiting the eastern Highlands. We had particular interest in the Grantown area because of ancestry and relative location to places we wanted to visit – Clan Grant information, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Battlefield, Loch An Eilean, Cairngorms, distilleries, etc. Prior to our arrival, Stewart provided excellent communications; his replies were prompt. If you’re on holiday to relax, Tombain would be excellent for that purpose as well; the cottage is spectacular. The description and photos were accurate. Yes, it was clean – very clean. We were fortunate with the weather and grilled two evenings and were also able to use the patio which gives a wonderful view. The view from the front window is breathtaking; the interior is very nicely decorated. Our binoculars were constantly at the front window – Lapwings, Oyster Catchers, hares, roe deer, buzzards hovering, Pied Wagtails, Mistle Thrushes feeding babies, etc. Tombain gave us an opportunity to stay in the Braes of Castle Grant – the setting was ideal for us – rural. We all give the property the highest review and would stay there again without any hesitation.

Date of stay: July 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R
Delgany, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A small taste of Heaven”
Reviewed March 24, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Well, what can I say? Four of us decided to go to The Highlands to celebrate my 60th birthday. A few of us went a couple of years ago, for my sister's similar celebration (which she couldn't make....go figure).

We picked out what looked to be the perfect place and boy, were we proved correct in our choice. This little gem, is situated near Grantown on Spey, yet isolated enough to give maximum peace and tranquility. The views over The Cairngorms was mind-blowing and everything about the place was "as advertised".

Nearly all the reviews given on Trip Advisor, were five star, but if I could, I would award it even more. The owners were a delight to deal with, professional, efficient and very friendly. Their directions were spot on.....and did I mention the cottage.....wow, spot on.

Do yourselves a massive favour and give this little place a try, I guarantee that you will not be disappointed. The facilities are comfortable, clean and so well thought out. Everything was there and waiting to be used. The linen fresh and comfortable, the kitchen spotless and very well equipped. We had zero complaints.

I cannot wait to go back and spend more time in this stunning location. A word of warning though. If you don't want to share your holiday space with buzzards, hares, deer and stunning views of the night sky, not to mention the glorious mountains, then this place may not be for you. In fact, maybe ignore this review and go and find somewhere else......so that I won't have any trouble booking it again.

My marks out of 100.........110!

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly amazing cottage in the most tranquil setting. Stunning Cairngorm views!”
Reviewed January 30, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Stewart and Lizzie offer a stunning cottage that has everything you need and in a fabulous location with uninterrupted views of the snow-covered Cairgorms. We had a cloudless blue sky and a crisp dry frost on our last weekend. Very warm and comfortable. So peaceful!
We have been coming here for the last few years and can really recommend this place if you want a memorable stay in the region.
Stewart and Lizzie are a wonderful couple who really know the area well and can help you get the most out of your stay.
Enjoy!

Date of stay: January 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R5232KOse...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantstic stay at Tombain Cottage”
Reviewed January 10, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

As a family of 4 looking for a relaxing, seasonal stay in the Scottish Highlands, Tombain Cottage did not disappoint. We had a fantastic time enjoying the magical scenery around us and also the comfort that the cottage itself provides.

Grantown is a really lovely town with plenty to offer and we found everyone to be exceptionally friendly. Stewart and Lizzie are very helpful owners and extremely easy to deal with throughout the whole process of booking and staying at their lovely cottage.

We would strongly recommend a visit to Tombain if you wish to get away from it all and have a very comfortable stay in stunning countryside.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shica2k9
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay!”
Reviewed December 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying at the luxurious Tombain for a few nights. The views are spectacular and the cottage is so comfortable and cosy. We did not want to leave. We cannot wait to return for a 2nd time. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertram
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Beyond our expectations !”
Reviewed October 27, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was a 2nd stay at Tombain this year and it still had that wow factor on our 2nd visit. Wonderful warm cosy cottage, beautifully furnished and very very clean, with the most fabulous views! Cant wait to return.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage itself
Liked least: there was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter E
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring a brilliant area”
Reviewed August 5, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first visit to the Cairngorms area. We booked Tombain Cottage as a base for our family, my wife and I, 2 teenage daughters and my son (11). The property is wonderful - immaculate inside and an ideal place to return to after a long day out !
The open plan kitchen, dining and lounge make it ideal as a communal area.
Where do you start with the views ? Absolutely stunning outlook over the Cairngorms.
It's also excellent as Grantown-on-Spey is around 5-10mins drive and has excellent amenities for grocery shopping, a lovely bakery, chip shop and gift outlets.
We explored as far as the Moray Firth, Fort William, Loch Ness, Aviemore and Balmoral. As I say, excellent central location to get to all these places.
Everything worked perfectly and you had all the amenities required - cooker, microwave, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, washer, dryer.
Other than taking yourselves, food, drink and clothes I don't think you need anything more !
We'd return without hesitation - would love to visit in Winter and take advantage of the winter sports.
Oh, if you get chance, go to the grass sledging at Glenmore - great fun for all ages !

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the quality of the property
Liked least: Can't think without being picky !
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing