We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Honeymoon Haven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grantown-on-Spey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brooklynn Guest House
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Honeymoon Haven”
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We recently got married and so headed off to the Highlands for a hogmany minimoon. After looking at several places near Aviemore (we wanted to go skiing) and reading the reviews we decided on a 3 day break at the Brooklyn and we are over the moon that we did.
After a 7 hour trip we arrived and were instantly greeted with a very warm welcome from Alan and Silvia. Our room was cosy and even included Christmas presents and they were both genuinly interested in us and our "story", making a booking for us at a local restaurant.
Breakfast was immense (especially the haggis) and we tried desperately to get to the ski resort but to no avail because of the amount of snow. However both Alan and Silvia gave us guidance on what to do and how to get there (between digging out the huge amounts of snow).
That evening (New Year's Eve) we had booked to go to a local restaurant and Silvia and Alan invited us into the lounge for drinks and appertifs (all complimentary) and what can I say; the cooking would not have looked out of place in some of the top restaurants we have been to and we were stuffed!
New Year's day brought cosy games of scrabble in the lounge with wine and ales and then a meal to fit a king-please see the pic of the pud! They had purposely created this because they knew no-where would be open in the area.
This just typifies the type of people Alan and Silvia are-they have a real interest and show a real care for their guests; they clearly have a passion for people.
Obviously your minimoon should be a memorable experience and were not disappointed at any point, in-fact we haven't stopped talking about it and that is mainly down to Silvia and Alan's Hospitality-thank-you so much! :-)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBardmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown, owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, January 12, 2010
Dear Minimooners!

Thank you for your very generous comments and for attaching some photos of your Hogmanay stay at Brooklynn. We will send you copies of the ones Alan took of you two together - you make a lovley couple. Best wishes for the rest of your life together.

Alan and Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
66
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Just back from a 2 night New Year break at the Brooklyn. What a treat it was. Hosts, Alan and Silvia, are extremely hospitable, making not only ourselves and fellow guests very welcome, but also our friends on Hogmanay....and they weren't even staying there! The house is lovely, spacious, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfasts are fantastic (the Brooklyn brekkie of scrambled eggs and smoked salmon is fab), and our New Year's Day dinner meal was just brilliant and of restaurant quality and presentation. There are some lovely touches and you get the feeling that Alan and Silvia just want to 'go that extra mile'. We like Grantown and we certainly like the Brooklyn, so plan to combine both again in the not too distant future. Thank you again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deetay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, January 3, 2010
What a lovely way to start the New Year with a wonderful review. Thank you, it was a pleasure having you stay with us. The mountains of snow certainly added to the New Year Experience in the fabulous Highlands of Scotland. We look forward to seeing you at Brooklynn again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2009

If you love single malt whisky, you will visit the distilleries in the Highlands, and Brooklynn is an excellent place to stay in that area. Great location (near the highway), very freindly and knowledgeable (and widely travelled) hosts in Silvia and Alan, esthetically decorated house, well-stocked library, and sumptuous food. The perfect choice ...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arvind_sharma33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown, owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2009
Thank you for your kind comments; that's what makes it all worthwhile. We enjoyed your company too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Silvia and Alan are great hosts and have a beautiful home. The place is decorated with bits and pieces from all over the world (many of them from Asia) and lots of personal pictures on the walls. Everything is specless clean and tidy. Sylvia makes the best jam and marmelade - which are a good part of the heavenly breakfast.

Thank you very much, Silvia and Alan - we'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate13_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grantown-on-Spey hotels
0.3 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
647 reviews
3.0 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Rossmor Guest House
Rossmor Guest House
#1 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunallan House
Dunallan House
#3 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklynn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklynn Guest House

Property: Brooklynn Guest House
Address: Grant Road, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3LA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooklynn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooklynn is our lovely late Victorian home situated in the attractive Scottish Highlands town of Grantown-on-Spey which is in The Cairngorms National Park. The accommodation is comfortable, the breakfasts and dinners delicious and the gardens pretty. Welcome; we hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brooklynn Guest House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing