We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"HOME" when I'm in Scotland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grantown-on-Spey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brooklynn Guest House
Maastricht
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"HOME" when I'm in Scotland”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Maybe ten times or even more by now, that I visited Brooklynn. Once found when I was simply driving around, looking for a b&b, I felt more than welcome ! So, every time I "do" Scotland, either on my motorcycle, or in my car, I carefully plan my trip via Brooklynn in Grantown. The people make me feel at home and time and again they are wonderful advisors in case you need a good idea to spend the day.
And don't forget: it's not a public restaurant, but they prepare a dinner for their guests that would be worth a Michelin recommendation.
Alan and Sylvia, I hope there will be many more times to visit Scotland, so nicely represented in the atmosphere of your b&b

Room Tip: single rooms available for lonesome bikers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Well, what can we say Cor, but a big thank you. I remember the first time we met over 10 years ago. I was weeding the front garden and you turned up on your motorbike looking for a room. Since then we have had the pleasure of your company, as well as your wife and son over the years. That's what makes running a B & B such fun! See you next year we hope. With our very best wishes, Alan and Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
66
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Visiting a distillery, walking, good food, these were our goals visiting Scotland.
And we did find it at Brooklynn's: A warm welkom, advise on walking trips, a fine diner in the evening, a good pub in the center of Grantown, to many distilleries in the neighborhood to visit them all, meeting others in the B&B.
Brooklynn was really a good place to stay on my 'teambuilding tour' through Scotland, togeher with my son.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you. We enjoyed your visit too - especially the after dinner conversations with a glass of whisky. It is always fun to meet other guests and talk over the day's adventures and plan another wonderful experience in the beautiful Highlands of Scotland. Hope to see you next year.
With best wishes to you from Alan and Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have been to Brooklynn the second time. After spending three days with Alan and Silvia three years ago, we won't miss this experience during our second holiday in Scotland and we spent at least one night in Grantown-on-Spey. Brooklynn Guesthouse is a wonderful place with great hospitality from Alan and Silvia and we can truely recommend this B&B. We will surely come back to the HIghlands and will stay again in this wonderful guesthouse. Thanks to Alan and Silvia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hennipuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you very much. It is always a pleasure to welcome back 'old' guests to Brooklynn. Hope to see you again in the future. All the best, Alan and Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Never throwing anything away sometimes leads to the most wonderful experience............ On deciding to holiday in and around Grantown on Spey my mother remembered a postcard, received from a friend in the past. It was sent from 'Brooklynn' and simply stated 'If you are looking for a good B&B in Grantown try this!' One phone call later, our five days were booked. From the moment we arrived and Alan greeted us we felt at home. We were welcomed as friends and this was the feeling throughout our stay. The accomodation was beautiful with so many lovely things to look at and talk about. The knowledge Sylvia and Alan have of the area is outstanding and following their advice took us to some wonderful places. The food was truly excellent and on our final evening, following an awe inspiring journey through the snow-capped mountains, we we treated to a magnificent lamb tagine. The fellowship, friendly conversation and attention to detail were second to none. We had a wonderful holiday and hope to be back. Many many thanks to you both.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and thanks to your friend who posted the Brooklynn post card to you so many years ago! We are so glad that you kept it too. Brooklynn is a pretty house especially in the snow - the photo Alan took in 2000. You might be interested to know that at the moment the large garden at the back of the house is undergoing a massive overhaul and next time you visit, we hope that all the plants that we are about to buy will be well bedded down and absolutely gorgeous!

Thank you once again and kind regards to you and your mother. Alan and Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Your highlands holiday will not be perfect unless you stay in Brooklynn Guest House too. I visited my son who is studying in UK during his recent Easter break. We went for a short trip to Scotland and we experienced the best BB in Grantown-on-Spey / Scotland. We were pampered throughout our stay. My son had visited Inverness together with his classmates last year and his previous BB experience was nothing when compared with Brooklynn Guest House. We strongly recommend that trip planners should include the dinner option in your booking. The food photos only show a few of the delicious meals that Alan and Silvia prepared during our stay. Our concluding comment: Two thumbs up. It's your loss if you don't stay with the Woodier family. J n P from Singapore

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a good review of Brooklynn. As you know, we really enjoyed your stay with us too. We will have to be very careful to present our dinners very neatly just in case a guest takes a photograph! We look forward to welcoming you both back to Brooklynn when we hope you will be in the best of health and the weather not quite so chilly. Best wishes from a rather damp Brooklynn, Alan & Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My family of 5 adults were pampered by Silvia and Alan by their genuinely warm hospitality, the smooth sheets, soft pillow and firm beds, not to mention the decors all over the property and in the front and back gardens. The entire house was spotless every day.

But what put our 3 nights 4 days stay at Brooklynn House way over the top was the Breakfast and Dinner (which they do not normally provide). Each and every dish at dinner was a WOW! and the Biggest WOW was the last night's Spring Lamb - just awesome! It was tender yet juicy with crisp skin.

Grantown On Spey is a delightful little town in the highlands close to all major attractions (the Brooklynn House is one of them by itself), a 20 minutes drive from Aviemore Train Station, and 75 minutes from Inverness.

Spending a few nights (and hope that Silvia and Alan are not too tired to make you dinner) at the Brooklynn Guest House is a MUST!

Tony TONG Kee Choi from Singapore

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Well Tony, what can we say but thank you very much for your flattering review! We thoroughly enjoyed your company and we loved making you dinner as well. We usually make dinner if requested except if we are very busy, because as you know, we make almost everything from scratch, so it is a time consuming exercise. We know that you love travelling, so we expect, and look forward, to welcoming you back to Brooklynn in the future. With our best wishes to you and the rest of the family in Hong Kong and Singapore, Alan and Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hueckelhoven, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We - a group of six - stayed two nights at the Brooklynn and had a really good time there. Alan and Sylvia are perfect hosts - warm, friendly, communicative, open for a good joke
and helpful in every aspect. The house is an experience, the rooms are unique and provide everything you need.
The food was excellent - we booked including dinner - as well as the choice of drinks. Well worth it!
A very nice garden plus cats to cuddle completed the "feel well atmosphere".
We'll be back sooner or later!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you! It wa a pleasure to have you staying with us. We enjoyed the fun at dinner - especially the waitering lessons! We look forward to welcoming you all back to Brooklynn in the beautiful Cairngorms National Park. There is still such a lot for you to do and see here. We look forward to your next visit - so are the cats. All the best, Alan and Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
0.3 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben Mhor Hotel
Ben Mhor Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
522 reviews
8.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rossmor Guest House
Rossmor Guest House
#1 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklynn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklynn Guest House

Property: Brooklynn Guest House
Address: Grant Road, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3LA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooklynn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooklynn is our lovely late Victorian home situated in the attractive Scottish Highlands town of Grantown-on-Spey which is in The Cairngorms National Park. The accommodation is comfortable, the breakfasts and dinners delicious and the gardens pretty. Welcome; we hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brooklynn Guest House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing