We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous!”
Review of Ravenscourt House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ravenscourt House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed there twice and we were delighted every time. Nive rooms, outstanding eating (ask for the whisky sauce!) and a well equipped (whisky) bar.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolgerWhisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Ravenscourt House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 115 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed here some time ago,and thought it was the best hotel on the planet!!!
Long drive up from the south, but looked after us brilliantly. Surperb food great location and good clean room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NobbyC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

This establishment is run more on the lines of a 'licensed guest house' than a hotel. If you are looking for room service or a bustling bar and restaurant this is not for you. However if you like a homely atmosphere you will love it here. Bedrooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable. Loved the high quality soft and fluffy bathrobes and towels. We had ample storage space, something you rarely get, and there was a very comfortable seating area with wing-back chairs, coffee table, TV, DVD player all enjoyed as we relaxed over a late night glass of wine!

The meals were excellent, each evening we were offered three choices of starter, three of mains and at least three desserts. A lot of trouble taken especially when on both evenings there were no more than four diners including us! We could not fault the quality, quantity, presentation or taste, delicious! Breakfast was one of the best we have had, everything you could possibly want. The 'freshly squeezed' orange juice and delicious free range eggs both deserve a special mention.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - thank you Andrew!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrkneygalPenicuik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We were made very welcome, the bedroom (No1) was spacious with 2 easy chair, TV, tea & coffee making facilities & lovely biscuits. The bed was the huge bigger than a king size & very comfortable. The restaurant wasn't open whilst we were there but we found enough places to eat only a short walk away. The hotel served alcohol & there were price lists but there were only cans of beer or lager - none on draught, thought I have to say the prices were reasonable. Breakfast was fab, cooked to order & piping hot, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroxLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The lounge was comfortable.
It was friendly
The was basin was in the bedroom which was disappointing.
The location was excellent and peaceful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMWMVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We booked last minute and got the family room which is ideal as the twin bedded kids room was off the kingsize main room. Beds were very comfortable and cosy and the rooms were tastefully decorated.

When we arrived the host ws very welcoming but immediately stated that there was a problem and the heating had broken down. If we wanted, he had checked out another hotel which could put us up. However he had put mobile heaters in our room and it was perfecty fine. Once we saw how cosy they were we didn't want to say anywhere else. He also offered us a very good discount because of this.

We were the only guests and had a lovely meal. Adults had soup and haggis followed by two steaks which were from the local butcher and delicious. Kids had meatballs and spagetti and pizza which was polished off with no complaints. Adults then had sticky toffee pudding and icecream which was all homemade and mouthwatering. Son had the chocolate fudge cake and said it was yummy.

We then had our coffee and tea in the guest lounge in front of a roaring fire whilst the kids played dominoes and then helped the owner set up for breakfast (staying in a hotel is a luxurious novelty for them). After tucking the kids up we took a whisky off to bed and had a fabulous sleep.

Breakfast was wonderfully delicious with the bacon and sausages again from the local butcher. Plenty toast, real coffee.

It was a real shame that this hotel is so quiet for this time of year. Grantown is a quiet Highland town but a good base for sightseeing and close to both Aviemore and the Lecht ski resorts. We skied at the Lecht on the Sunday and arrived refreshed with full tums. The weather was a bit grim at the Lecht (strong winds and poor visibility) but a great resort to get the kids started and we would definitely return.

I would recommend this hotel. The owner couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating. The place made our whole weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suduperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

The Ravenscourt House Hotel is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are spacious, exceptionally clean and the bed very comfortable. We found the owners to be friendly and attentive to our needs. The hotel has two reception rooms which are both very invited after a busy day out and about. The breakfast was superb.

The hotel was an excellent base for our trip as it was in easy reach of woods and Findhorn Bay where we went birdwatching. From Findhorn Bay we witnessed a spectacular display of Gannet diving into the water and there were seals a plenty. If you enjoy sea duck then this is the place to see Guillemots, Red-throated Divers and Common Scoters to name a few.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1971ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
3.1 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
313 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenscourt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenscourt House

Address: Seafield Avenue | Morayshire, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: $107 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravenscourt House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 8 room family-run guest house with two lounges, conservatory and bar. Within two minutes of the centre of Grantown-on-Spey and within walking distance of restaurants. Wifi in all rooms. Within close proximity to whisky and castle trails. Ample free parking on site. Good sized comfortable rooms, including a family suite, doubles, triples and twins. Some rooms are available for single occupancy. We will always do our best to make your stay a great one. Calum & Kathy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Ravenscourt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenscourt Hotel Grantown On Spey
Ravenscourt House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing