We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent weekend”
The Pines House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pines House
Drawing Room Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
The Pines House
Drawing Room
Sitting Room
Family Room off Kitchen
Family Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Room 5
Room 5
Room 6
Room 3
Room 4
Room 1
Room 1 Ensuite
Room 7
Room 7 window
Room 8
Room 10 Ensuite
Room 9
Family Bathroom
Room 2
Garden
Play room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
10 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Rachel D
2 reviews
“An excellent weekend”
Reviewed July 2, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed here for my sister’s hen in April. I cannot rate the accommodation highly enough. There was ample room for our party of 20, with one large and two medium sized living areas, a huge dining room and a separate, large kitchen. The owners were very friendly and welcoming, and were happy to give us advice about the area. The rooms were of various sizes but each accommodated two people and almost all had its own ensuite. I’d highly recommend to anyone looking for accommodation for a large party in the Aviemore/Granton area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris T
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous large house in excellent location ”
Reviewed June 21, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

I and 18 of my old University friends met up for a cycle weekend in the Scottish Highlands and stayed in this gorgeous house in June 2018. It was perfect for our needs, with plenty of rooms (and plenty of shower/ bathrooms) and a large open plan kitchen with which to cook big meals in. It was only 5 minutes walk to the main street of Grantown and provided the perfect base to explore the Cairngorms and its towns and villages (whether by bike or car). Thanks to Lucy and the family for looking after us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila R
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect house for a group of friends ”
Reviewed February 15, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This was our second visit to the house and we all loved it even more this time! The house is spotlessly clean, well equipped and has a great layout for all. The kids loved the playroom, the kitchen and snug became the hang out place, the large tv in the downstairs lounge was perfect for watching Scotland win the rugby and the upstairs lounge with roaring fire a perfect place to relax with a drink at night. The boys discovered fantastic mountain biking tracks in the woods at the back of the house. They were entertained there for hours. We will definitely be back. We have stayed in many big houses with the same group of friends over the years and this is, without doubt, the best by far!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mo57sm
East Kilbride
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another stunning weekend”
Reviewed December 18, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Once again a fab weekend at the pines. Lovely house beautifully equipped, spotlessly clean, toastie warm and so welcoming! Lucy had decorated for Xmas and we has a fab time. Votes were taken and we are planning next year already.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdonald...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent House with more than Expected”
Reviewed September 28, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Perfect house to accommodate 20 of us, 10 kids and 10 adults. All the rooms were a good size, plenty of social space and a massive garden with bike tracks/walks at the bottom.

Lucy & Jay were excellent hosts who live onsite.

So much to do in the surrounding area and walking distance of local shops/bars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarzyna...
1 review
“Definitely coming back”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

In one word: ideal.

In more, have a look below.

First, to sum it up: stunning garden, woods and area, fantastic location to travel to places, spacious and very well kept everything (house, rooms, kitchen, garden, toy room), lovely owners - all at a very reasonable price.

More detail:

I was organising a 30th birthday for my husband and needed a place for 17 people; a place that was child friendly (we have a little 10 month old girl), with a large kitchen and a large dining area, a cosy lounge / living room where we could enjoy our evenings by the fire, and a spacious garden as I planned lots of outside games (dressed as pirates and following Jack Sparrow's adventures in the five movies!).

This place turned out to be absolutely perfect. The lounge was very nice and cosy, with some boardgames, books, a guitar, and a fireplace. On top of that, the kitchen was very spacious, with two sinks, a really good (industrial) dishwasher (doesn't fit a lot in one go but the cycle lasts an amazing 3-5 minutes! which is a big plus when there are so many people and dishes...). The kitchen was very well equipped, clean, modern and could fit us all in, which was quite amazing.

The rooms were much bigger than we expected, and were all kept to a high standard. The dining room was perfect and, with some candles, it was transformed in the evening into a romantic vintage style dinner celebration area. The garden, ah... I'm not sure what words best to use to describe it, but it was stunning, extremely large and allowed us to play all the games I planned (which was, in itself, quite incredible). And the woods just outside the garden - remarkable. The woods made it worth waking up early and going for a stroll to truly wake up and appreciate the beautiful smells and sights of nature. Simply wonderful.

My husband, our little one, and I chose bedroom 7 on the second floor and Lucy and Jay were so kind and set up a travel cot in there. Everyone was in the living room on the first floor and yet, when we closed the bedroom door, the sound didn't travel (and believe me, it was not quiet in the living room) - so our guests and we could enjoy the evenings without having to try to reduce the volume, and our little girl was still able to sleep undisturbed.

The owners, Lucy and Jay, were very generous, absolutely lovely and really helpful. The location was great; we travelled by car and we went to Ardverikie for quad biking (1h), Loch Ness for sightseeing (40min - 1h), the Cairngorm mountain (40min), whisky distilleries (lots of them, within 20min - 1h) and barrel factory (within 1h).

We cannot wait to come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ammonford
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location for family gathering.”
Reviewed July 4, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were a group of ten family members: adults and young adults, and one little dog - and stayed at the Pines House for two weeks. As previous reviewers have noted, the house is really ideal for large group gatherings. It has everything you need for a comfortable stay and more than enough space for our group (we sometimes couldn't find each other in the house --kept forgetting about the lounge on the second floor!). The owners, Lucy and Jay, were very helpful even before we arrived - taking delivery of my life-time supply of Smidge that I'd pre-ordered (and was maybe used by 3 of us just once....really, no need for it). We appreciated the the fresh eggs, their recommendations about where to eat in Grantown, and anything else we had questions about, but they were never intrusive. Location is perfect. We took almost daily short (or longer) walks from the back garden through Anagach Woods.

For visitors new to the area (as we were) we enjoyed:
Craig's Bar - book ahead!
The bus to Boat of Garden, then Steam Railway to Aviemore and back
Speyside Walk
Cairn Gorm funicular rail, then climb to the top (where it was sleeting and misty)
Fort George, Inverness; Culloden battlefield
Bookmark bookstore
...and much more. The people of Grantown were/are very, very friendly. Would definitely stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing