We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service. Cancelled at last second.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor service. Cancelled at last second.”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I live in Sheffield and planned a 3 night stay at this hotel with my wife. We drove up and stayed in Edinburgh the night before. As we were packing the car to leave for this hotel whilst in Edinburgh, they called me to tell me that they had cancelled my booking as they could not accommodate us. They claimed to have e-mailed me a week earlier to tell me but I had definitely not received any e-mail. When pressed about why they had cancelled the booking, the lady on the phone told me (with quite a long hesitation) that the hotel was closed and could not give any further details.

Very poor service to only confirm with me that they had to cancel the reservation on the day I was due to arrive, when I was already half way to Northern Scotland. I luckily arranged another hotel in Aviemore at short notice at around the same price. Not as good deal as there was no breakfast or whiskey tasting, but their lack of incompetence made up for it. Honestly, I would not rely on these people if you are making plans. This was our only holiday of the year and they very nearly ruined it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    64
    46
    17
    19
See reviews for
75
306
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Having last stayed here 12 years ago it was great to realise that it was just as good as remembered. The bar/lounge with its roaring log fire (lit especially for us one evening as the only residents) and comfortable furnishings was most welcoming. The evening meals, whilst not cheap, were very good and the staff could not have been more efficient or friendly. Great location for walking and holiday golf.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank douglasdrummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights 6th to 9th November, we had a meal on the first night along with just one other couple and the whiskey tasting as part of the groupon deal. The service and the food was excellent, cant find a single fault.

We were meant to stay in Room 1 but someone had taken a key home so we stayed in room 2 (which I think is the smallest room) but it was perfect size for us with a comfy bed, very clean and hot water all the time. The room was cleaned every day. Service of staff was also excellent, very friendly and chatty and even advised of places to go etc.

Breakfast amazing all 3 mornings too, we also really liked the touch of homemade food (jams and Ketchup/chilli sauces) and locally sourced food.

Would definitely recommend and will hopefully visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We arranged a Groupon deal for the weekend of the 1st - 3rd November 2013 at the Muckrach Lodge. Dinner was included and when we check-in we were "advised" that we should eat at 19:45 as they were very busy. With not a lot of choice we agreed. We then went to our room, number 5, great size, plenty of space for our dog too and a large comfy bed. Only downside would be the bathroom. It was clean and looked to have been recently refurbished, however the temperature difference must have been in the region of 20 degrees below that of the bedroom, in which there was a convector heater on full blast. The floor tiles should also be treaded on with care as I have been on ice rinks that are not as slippy. There was plenty of hot water too, eventually. Anyway back to dinner. We arrived in the bar at 19:00 to have a pre-dinner drink. We sat and watched as everyone else in the bar received menu's, had their orders taken and were escorted through to the restaurant. Finally at 20:30 we followed for our starters. Both were reasonable, mines was haggis, black pudding and poached egg with a whisky sauce and my wifes, baked brie but with pickled beetroot out of a jar? We both went for steak, both cooked nicely but raw broccoli! The complimentary glass of red, given gratis for our wait was well received. I think a 45 minute wait when there were only 3 other tables eating is a poor reflection on the efficiency of the kitchen.
I would have to agree with a previous reviewer that the bar prices, I was charging everything to our room so didn't noitce until we checked out, are a bit over the top for an establishment in this location. A Bombay Sapphire gin at £5 and a bottle of Fever Tree Tonic at £3.50 i way too expensive, I was also £4.50 for a can of Stella, no draught beer and a limited selection of bottles and cans. Nice open fire in the bar but the logs were too damp and you spen your time coaking it to life.
Overall there is a general lack of atmosphere, Radio 3 on in the bar instead of some music, the breakfast room was also deathly quiet and everyone spoke in hushed tones.
Some double glazing, music and a reduced bar tarrif, or put one up in the bar too so we can see what we are being charged, would help.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gbatchelor1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diabolo666, Owner at Muckrach Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We are always grateful for reviews from guests, especially when they are insightful, knowledgeable and present a true reflection of the establishment. We take such reviews seriously, and use them to improve our customer service delivery. We shall certainly look at our food service provision, and no longer store our home pickled beetroot in jars. We shall instead keep them on the floor of the bathroom in room 5, where they will undoubtedly aid traction. We shall source Bombay Sapphire from somewhere closer than Bombay, in order to reduce the cost of this premium beverage. We'll get the really expensive, high quality Fever Tree tonic from Britvic. It won't taste the same, but it will be cheaper. We'll also post directions to the local Co-Op, where libations can be purchased at supermarket prices and consumed in vehicles or on the benches outside. Such activities may be considered illegal, leading to arrest, conviction and prison terms - but hey, the gin will be cheap!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

On a weekend break: lovely, peaceful and calm surroundings, nice building, very very helpful and friendly staff (10 out of 10 there!), nice spacious room, comfortable bed, comfortable bathroom, good food (two breakfasts, dinner on Saturday night - all delicious). We'll go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrockdeVille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

we arrive...shown to a superior room...supposedly renovated; by someone with poor taste!...no hot water in the bathroom...but a giant cobweb around the mirror...drinks before dinner in the lounge; warm would have been good!...to table at 8.10...starters at 8.40 and they were not good...by 9.30 still no main course...the only person around was a young lad who then told me the chef had been taken ill and there was a replacement chef who found the pressure difficult...pressure? for a 10 room hotel?...where were the owners, who live up the road?...where was some form of manager?...we retired for the night!
Warm water in the morning, hurrah!...full English please...oh, no sausages in the house...repeated all this to the lady manager who seemed surprised!...do they not talk to each other? So awful we were reduced to hysterical laughter!

Room Tip: wait until its been demolished and rebuilt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dherald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackmannanshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just back from our stay at Muckrach Lodge and couldn't recommend it highly enough. It has a really homely comfortable feeling about the place from the staff being very accommodating, the warm cosy bar with log fire and choice of dvds, books and games to play with and outstanding location with beautiful scenery.

Our room whilst small had everything and more that you would need. Loads of tea and coffee facilities, bathroom looked newly done and ample storage for hanging clothes and tv with dvd :) bed was extremely comfortable so had 2 great nights sleep with no disturbances.

As it is a lodge in the highlands I don't agree that it should be compared to city hotels and feel it truly deserves its 4 star rating. Its exactly how a highland lodge should be and was well above my expectations.

We didn't dine in the restaurant but it looked nice and we had breakfast in the morning which had everything you would want and more from a wide selection of teas, fruit, cereals and hot food (which is locally sourced).

Two nights just wasn't enough so we are already planning our return :)

Thanks Muckrach Lodge for giving us a great weekend :)

From room 4-Brand

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairey1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diabolo666, Owner at Muckrach Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the staff are very pleased their hard work was appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
0.2 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
21.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckrach Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckrach Country House Hotel

Property: Muckrach Country House Hotel
Address: Dulnain Bridge | Nr Aviemore, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3LY, Scotland (Formerly Muckrach Lodge Hotel & Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Muckrach Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muckrach Country House Hotel is under new management & re-opened in May 2015, as a 4 star 11 bedroom Victorian Shooting Lodge. Muckrach Country House Hotel was bought in January 2014 and has been fully renovated over a 15 month period. Muckrach Country House Hotel sits in the heart of the Spey Valley, set in 10 acres surrounded by pastureland and mountains. No activity is far away; whether it be winter sports, field sports, fishing, walking, golf, mountain biking or adrenalin-led fun, they are all accessible within half an hour or less. All bedrooms have a contemporary porcelain-tiled ensuite. 1 Bedroom has an inter-connecting family room option, although z beds are available to add to most rooms. All bedrooms have underfloor heating, free WIFI, entertainment system, tea/coffee making facilities and Hypnos beds. The Coffee Shop / Restaurant and Bar are open to non-residents from breakfast through to supper. Our chefs bring the best of Scottish produce together in their menus. Choose to take Afternoon Tea in the Drawing Room, a wee dram in the Bar or organise a private dining party for up to 16 in The Grant Room. A Highland welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Muckrach Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckrach Hotel Grantown On Spey
Muckrach Country House Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing