We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and a fascinating hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Haugesund
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and a fascinating hotel”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was in Scotland on a solo trip in a rented campervan and I decided to stop by the Mucrach Lodge for one nights sleep to get a decent shower. This was a old hotel and it certainly had the special charm you don't find in newer hotels. Everything was clean and well decorated and the bar had the rooms had a very special and comforting atmosphere.

The only negative thing about the hotel that I can think of is that there are a bit limited internet access as the wifi are only good on some rooms. I pointed out that I needed to get online to the staff and they where more than helpful to find a room that had decent wireless connection so this was not a problem but something one should be aware of when booking your room.

The rooms was cozy and was well equipped and unlike most hotels had a very personal touch to them. I was actually enjoying my stay in the Muckrach Lodge so much that I decided to come back for another night just to enjoy the beautiful building and relax a little.

The breakfast was perfectly cooked and well presented. The staff was also impressive, the friendliness and service was excellent and you don't feel that you are surrounded by robots like most other hotels. This is the kind of hotel where you really feel at home and that the staff really care about your well-being. The surroundings and location was excellent as well.

For my next trip to Scotland I will for sure revisit Muckrach hotel as this is by far one of the most relaxing and friendly place I have ever stayed and I have stayed in quite a few hotels so I should know. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask about the wireless coverage on your room before booking if internet access is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svein E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diabolo666, Owner at Muckrach Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Another nice review! Thank you. We'll always try and get guests what they need. Our wifi is erratic, partly because of the state of the local telephone exchange and partly because of the thick stone walls in the building. But we are pleased it worked out for this traveller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    61
    45
    15
    19
See reviews for
74
296
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The property outside of Inverness has been nicely refurbished and is situated in a nice country property with woods and land under cultivation--great place for a walk in the country. The manager was genial and enthusiastic, a gracious host. They have a better than average restaurant that stresses locale produce and cuisine. I particularly enjoyed the fresh fish.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shlomo_dror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diabolo666, Owner at Muckrach Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for this review. Tough marking tho!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had a bed and breakfast stay at this lovely country house. Room was nice and a lovely modern bathroom. Tv was ancient and let the standard of the room down.
Breaakfast was good with a good choice and unlimited coffee. Just such a shame the hotel was so quiet as I am sure when busy this would a great place to stay. We did not eat in the hotel but they have a very nice menu but it is expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maggie78-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Boyfriend drags me up to meet his parents, and i say we're staying in the best place in the area or i'm not coming! So we end up at muckrach lodge and it's fantastic!! The owner is a famous film producer, there's an Emmy in the bar and he's written a book about Michael Jackson that's for sale in the lobby! The room was really nice and modern and the staff really nice. Second night we had dinner (anything to get away from his mother's cooking) and it was sublime. Some of these reviews on here really suck - and i don't get it because I loved it!!

Room Tip: We had room 7 which is in the corner and has great views on 2 sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arabella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diabolo666, Owner at Muckrach Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. The staff try very hard and it is a great pleasure to know their efforts are appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stumbled on muckrach lodge travelling north. We wanted somewhere chic and nice, and boy was this it!! The owner does the cooking, and we had the best meal in a long, long time - better than many michelin places we've been to. Delicate, beautiful local chanterelles. a haddock and pancetta dish out of this world, and venison so tender and moist it melted in the mouth. The puds were great too - a chocolate mousse cake that was chocolateness itself, and an almond tart that was just amazing. We saw the bad reviews on here, but guessed this was a place of character and individuality that won't suit everyone. We loved it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diabolo666, Owner at Muckrach Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. They make our day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was the first time in the Scottish highlands for my husband and me so we didn't really know what to expect but Muckrach was wonderful! We travelled by car and for about an hour before we got there we saw beautiful countryside and scenery non-stop, wonderful fields and mountains (and the weather was nice which helped!) The first thing you notice at the hotel is a large field with two highland cows, which the owners told us were called Angus and Archie and have been at the hotel for many years. The hotel is up a hill from a quite road so very peaceful and a really lovely building. Some of the rooms (reception, bar & breakfast room) are quite traditional with a large staircase, tartan carpets, lovely fireplace etc. And some rooms like the restaurant and the room we were staying in were very modern and stylish.

Our room was very nice, the view was unbelievable and the bed comfy. A nice little bathroom too. Dinner was incredible both nights, they serve local meat and it's really special. Also they're not tiny servings like you get in some restuarants but the food was really great. Breakfast was very nice too, they cook a full english/scottish and fish etc. and also have some cold foods laid out.

When we were booking we thought it may be a bit expensive but we would treat ourselves, but really it's good value for money because there's so much to do at the hotel and nearby and the dinner was one of the best we've had in a long time. So I think it's worth the money. The staff were great as well and we had a chat with the owners in the bar who were really friendly. Really nice stay overall, no real issues whatsoever and we will be going again at New Years!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The house is on sale! Therefore they are letting everything down. Dirty rooms with spiders and old dirty towels in the bathroom. Cold rooms and bathrooms. Broken doors ... way too expensive, unfriendly hosts. The only positive: The two girls who were in charge were very friendly.
The restaurant is overpriced und the food was not realy fresh.
We booked 2 rooms for 3 nights and after the first night we talked to the general manager/owner about hte problems and he forced us to leave the hotel immediately. How rude!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ingridbAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diabolo666, Owner at Muckrach Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
The second couple of a two room booking. They smoked in the rooms, ignoring our non smoking policy. They made the staff cry with racist comments. They were asked to leave, politely but firmly. Muckrach Limited has a duty of care to its employees and a zero tolerance approach to bullying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
0.2 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
220 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,214 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
627 reviews
21.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckrach Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckrach Country House Hotel

Property: Muckrach Country House Hotel
Address: Dulnain Bridge | Nr Aviemore, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3LY, Scotland (Formerly Muckrach Lodge Hotel & Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Muckrach Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muckrach Country House Hotel is under new management & re-opened in May 2015, as a 4 star 11 bedroom Victorian Shooting Lodge. Muckrach Country House Hotel was bought in January 2014 and has been fully renovated over a 15 month period. Muckrach Country House Hotel sits in the heart of the Spey Valley, set in 10 acres surrounded by pastureland and mountains. No activity is far away; whether it be winter sports, field sports, fishing, walking, golf, mountain biking or adrenalin-led fun, they are all accessible within half an hour or less. All bedrooms have a contemporary porcelain-tiled ensuite. 1 Bedroom has an inter-connecting family room option, although z beds are available to add to most rooms. All bedrooms have underfloor heating, free WIFI, entertainment system, tea/coffee making facilities and Hypnos beds. The Coffee Shop / Restaurant and Bar are open to non-residents from breakfast through to supper. Our chefs bring the best of Scottish produce together in their menus. Choose to take Afternoon Tea in the Drawing Room, a wee dram in the Bar or organise a private dining party for up to 16 in The Grant Room. A Highland welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muckrach Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckrach Hotel Grantown On Spey
Muckrach Country House Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing