We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, would stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed here early June and had a very pleasant experience. The room was modern, clean and the breakfast was lovely. I asked if I could have a vegetarian breakfast a few days before and I got a reply within 30 minutes saying that that would not be a problem. My husband had the full breakfast and he said it was very good. The hotel is near the museum and a short walk away from other pubs and restaurants. The River Spey walks are close-by and fantastic if you like walking or hiking.

Room Tip: We booked online and got 40% off.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samdabam1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Garth Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 314 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

Spent two nights in the Garth Hotel during a short break in Speyside. Clean and comfortable with friendly, helpful staff. Ate in the restaurant and had a lovely meal. On the second night we enjoyed a fish/chicken supper from the chip shop along the road.
Overall very satisfied with our stay. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 757mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here a few weeks ago, because we were looking for a hotel in the Cairngorms that took dogs. We were pleasantly surprised with the Garth. It looks a bit down-at-heel from the outside, but the room was clean and well-appointed. The bed was comfy (although we had a super king bed made out of two beds pushed together, and had to remind them to put a topper on it). They put us in a room near the back exit to the car park, which was really helpful for taking the dog out at night. The TV was tiny, and only had 5 channels, and the bathroom was a little dated, but in general, the hotel was warm, comfortable and very accommodating. The bar downstairs was great, and we could sit down there in the evening with the dog and taste all sorts of whiskies.

Room Tip: Dog owners may want to request room 18, with easy access to the grass outside.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel is charming inside (the exterior does need a touch up, if I have to be critical). The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast great. The restaurant and bar staff are brilliant. My only irritation was that there is no internet service in the bedroom, which meant that I was sitting in on the staircase (as reception, which was the only place to get connection and bar area were closed and lights off) logging onto the internet to complete my work, while my husband sat upstairs in our room. In the morning I had to get up early and head down stairs in order to get internet access vs having tea and staying in our room.

Room Tip: Our room faced away from the road, which is what I recommend one asks for when booking the accommoda...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Have stayed here a number of times and always had a warm welcome and good stay. Rooms are good and very clean. Staff are excellent and very helpful and friendly. Let me take the dog and had a shed to store bikes. Food was excellent. Will return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RozzaDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a great visit to the Garth Hotel while we were in Scotland for our Speyside Whisky Tour. The staff is very friendly and the restaurant and bar are great. The bed was a little small but the experience was well worth the trip. The whisky selection is great as well! If we are in the area again, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Had a great jral reasonably priced for the quality, selection of beer and great selection of whiskey, with a barman who was happy to assist a novice in selecting. Overall a great evening,would definitely return if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
0.1 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
750 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
676 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ben Mhor Hotel
Ben Mhor Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
108 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garth Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garth Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 21 Castle Road, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: $104 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garth Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garth Hotel, standing on the north end of the village square, in the heart of Grantown-on-Spey, was built in the 1850's and began its life as an Inn. Over the years the hotel has prospered, becoming the Premier Independent Hotel in Grantown-on-Spey. This Scottish hotel, near Aviemore, has recently been refurbished to encompass the perfect blend of elegant Victorian design and originality and all modern comforts. Fine hotel accommodation in the Scottish Highlands offering the standard of hospitality that Scotland has become renowned for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Garth Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garth Hotel Grantown On Spey
Garth Hotel & Restaurant Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing