We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garth Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We are just home from an absolutely fantastic weekend at the Garth Hotel. We had a very small, informal wedding and Adrian and his staff got it spot on. They went so far above and beyond to make our day special that we can't thank them enough. Everyone said how much they enjoyed the weekend, the hotel looks exactly like a highland hotel should, but has nice modern rooms. The food was excellent - two of our party have allergies and the chef produced brilliant gluten free options. Thank you so much, we will be recommending you to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5weestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    93
    26
    9
    13
See reviews for
50
138
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I recently attended a 21st Birthday in the Garth Hotel where we had a lovely meal. The menu had something for everyone and all of our party enjoyed their dishes tremendously. The waiter was very helpful all evening and we all had a blast. There was a nice atmosphere, appropriate tartan decorations - overall a very pleasant dinning experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul2789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Garth Hotel is situated at the end of the main street in Grantown on Spey,which is a charming town with many facilities,quieter than nearby Aviemore,and an ideal base from which to visit the many nearby tourist attractions and Cairngorm mountains.Parking is free in the hotel car park.
It is a lovely little Highland Hotel,very traditional and quaint,with 18 rooms,bar,cosy lounge with log fire and a good size restaurant/function area.There are also two nice public rooms upstairs which can be used for meetings or private family gatherings,etc.
The food at the Garth is simply wonderful,which is demonstrated by the many locals who choose to eat there on a regular basis,and the staff are all very friendly and helpful.
We stayed at the Garth for 3 nights,Fri-Sun as our son was marrying a local lass and the hotel hosted the wedding following a beautiful ceremony on the beach at Loch Morlich at the foot of the Cairngorm Mountain........stunning location!
We had a brilliant weekend,the highlight of which was a reception for 75 guests on the Saturday with full wedding meal, followed by the best wedding dance I have ever experienced in my life.
Manager Andrew and Staff provided great service throughout the weekend and their efforts on the wedding day were monumental.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just back from another amazing weekend in Speyside.
Staff from this hotel are excellent and will bend over backwards for you!
Would recommend the restaurant and the breakfast is full Scottish suited to your requirements.
Rooms are clean and all round excellent!

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 12 have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vince1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

You have to like tartan to stay at the Garth...a liking for malt whiskey and excellent food helps too. There's a lot to like about this small hotel and very few 'buts'....overall we had a great time just before New Year - the staff were all friendly and helpful, its in a great location for exploring and as a hotel/restaurant, it ticks all the boxes.
But(s)...the bar is a bit tired, felt a bit unloved and forgotten...the lounge with the log fire was nicer but separated from the bar and no-one seemed to be attending to customers in there. The rooms are very comfortable but there are some thin walls..so be aware, whichever side (noise maker or receiver) you are.For the most part the food was excellent but one breakfast was disappointing with very overcooked haddock.

We'll be going back - hopefully to make it a base to ski if the lifts are open...we definitely won't bother looking at the Grant Hotel over the road - we did think about having dinner there one night and went in to have a look at the menu and enquire...we won't be going back there - not helpful and uninspiring menu - you'll definitely get a better choice and meal at the Garth.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukscubatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The rooms small but clean and well appointed. Our party booked in on a dinner bed and breakfast deal for two nights. We do this on a annual basis at this hotel however this is the first year that any price increase did not reflect quality. The dinner was often cool and very poor quality. I would recommend that if you choose to stay here do so under bed and breakfast tariff this is value for money. Staff were very good and did try to help with our complaints.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
309 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

After the disappointment of learning that the restaurant we have used for the last few years to celebrate Hogmanay had closed, we managed to book a table at the Garth Hotel, and what a fantastic experience it was!From the minute we arrived, the service, atmosphere and food were superb.The whole evening was an occasion to savour, and we still were able to pop outside to join the festivities in this wonderful town.We have already booked our table with a larger group of family and friends for 2013!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WalkwiththeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
0.1 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
5.0 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
8.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garth Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garth Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 21 Castle Road, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garth Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garth Hotel, standing on the north end of the village square, in the heart of Grantown-on-Spey, was built in the 1850's and began its life as an Inn. Over the years the hotel has prospered, becoming the Premier Independent Hotel in Grantown-on-Spey. This Scottish hotel, near Aviemore, has recently been refurbished to encompass the perfect blend of elegant Victorian design and originality and all modern comforts. Fine hotel accommodation in the Scottish Highlands offering the standard of hospitality that Scotland has become renowned for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Garth Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garth Hotel Grantown On Spey
Garth Hotel & Restaurant Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing