We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxation and idyllic surroundings.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Achnagonalin Lodge

House Front. Fully enclosed with lawns to and paddock to front. Box hedge garden to side.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House Front. Fully enclosed with lawns to and paddock to front. Box hedge garden to side.
Welcome Lounge with Open Fire. Logs provided.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
House Front. Fully enclosed with lawns to and paddock to front. Box hedge garden to side.
Welcome
Lounge with Open Fire. Logs provided.
Kitchen
Dining with hand made oak table, seats 12 comfortably
King Size Bed 1st Floor Front Left
Bathroom 1st floor front with separate shower and original victorian bath
Dining Kitchen fully equipped
Games Room. table size 9ft x 5 ft
Attic Twin Room. Front top left
Rear Twin Room 2nd floor
The Neighbours
Cairngorm Mountain walk to Braemar
Cairngorms in Autumn
Steam Railway Boat of Garten
Loch Morlich in Autumn. 1km sandy beach. Cairngorm mountain in the background.
Cairngorm View
River Spey 200 M from Achnagonalin. Day weekly fishing permits available. Children approx £15 day.
Dining
Dining
Front Attic room
Table Tennis 3/4 size
Ospreys Loch Garten
Stalking by Arrangement
Castle Grant beat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Millie M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxation and idyllic surroundings.”
Reviewed May 6, 2019 for a stay in January 2019

I recently visited Achnagonalin House with a few friends and family for a birthday getaway. Upon arrival we were so surprised at the house! By looking at pictures we knew it would be a beautiful place but were really taken aback at just HOW lovely it was. The interior didn’t disappoint either. With more rooms than you will ever need for a price that - in comparison to many others we looked at - just couldn’t be beat in terms of value. Each room was fresh, spotless and welcoming. Despite going up in thick snow we were NEVER cold, and had many cosy nights in front of the log fire. Amenities are relatively close and the walk or drive is half the fun, getting to take in some really lovely scenery. I would recommend to anyone looking for the perfect mix of relaxing down time with the option to go out and explore. Thank you, we will be back!

Date of stay: January 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2019
Thanks you for the kind review. Hope to welcome you back when not knee deep in snow. Best Regards Malcolm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewwL5...
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Everything we'd hoped for and more”
Reviewed April 23, 2019 for a stay in April 2019

The house was perfectly prepared for our arrival and entirely suited our needs as a fishing party. It would do equally well as a holiday base for a family/families. The bedrooms are all of a good size and all the reception rooms are comfortable and well furnished. The drawing room has an excellent fire and there was a plentiful supply of firewood provided. The dining room is a good size with a table and chairs that encourage long convivial dinners! Our wonderful cook confirmed that the kitchen was excellently equipped. The games room was greatly enjoyed with the pool/billiards table being used nightly! While we didn't meet the property manager (as we had no problems), she responded to the one query we had (to do with the hot water system) immediately, clearly and effectively. We will certainly return.

Date of stay: April 2019
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2019
Hello Andrew, thank you for the postitive review, it is always nice to get feedback from guests and I will pass on to the housekeeper. Hope to welcome you back again to Achnagonalin. Best Regards Malcolm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JiliW1
1 review
“Lovely house with great view”
Reviewed July 31, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Love house with great view and surrounding. The communication with Malcolm was great. We enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2019
Thanks you for your kind review and positive comment. Hope to welcome you back again. Best Regards Malcolm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 7, 2019
Hi Douglas. Thanks for your positive review. Was more snow this winter, hope to welcome you again. Best Regards Malcolm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gillian R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Break”
Reviewed February 16, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We had a fantastic break at Achnagonalin House. The house was perfect for the family and the kids and had everything we needed. The kids disappeared into the lovely garden area to play football and rounders - yes there is that much space!!

Easy reach into Grantown and Spey. We walked in a couple of times for dinner when we didn't want to take a car.

Lots to do in the area and come home to lovely log fire.

We will definately be back.

Thanks the McMahon family.

Date of stay: January 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2019
Hi Gillian,. Thank you for your positive review. Parents always positive when kids having fun but far away ! Best Regards Malcolm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyndaMack...
Brora, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Came here with a group of friends. Had an excellent time. Not one single fault. Garden is huge so lots of outdoor games played. Will defo come again.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanneBoj
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place in perfect surroundings for the perfect vacation”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Visited Scotland with a group of 12 people. Everybody was so happy with this fantastic home. The two young teenagers were especially happy with the room were they could watch DVD's and get away from us adults. And i addition to that they had the pool room and the tabletennis room as well.
This house is the perfect place to stay if you´re exploring Speyside since there are a lot of whisky destilleries in the surroundings. If you´re going to Glenlivet, take the Old Military Road which is to the right one mile north from the house.
We all would be so happy to come back again.
Just one thing, the house isn't easy to find, but if you ask around you will eventually be invited for a drink by the neighbours.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the house, the location, the surroundings.
Liked least: The stay was way to short
Traveling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing