We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best B&B we ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of J & J B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grantown-on-Spey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J & J B & B
Deutschland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best B&B we ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The "Bedrock" is truly a gem among the B&Bs. We arrived in Cromdale after a trying day of hiking and found a very warm welcome from John and Jenny who were not only friendly as it is expected by people who run a B&B, but also very obliging.
The room in which we were accomodated was what one would expect from a hotel room. Even the welcome-tray (which is refilled every day) was much more well-supplied as usual.
Our room looked as if it had been renovated recently and was very clean and comfortable with plenty of room to store our rucksacks and garments. The same can be said about our en-suite bathroom. John and Jenny tried to fulfill our every wish and even let us borrow their private DVDs to watch on the TV (DVD-player included) in our room.
Concludingly this was an absolutely unforgettable stay and we highly recommend the "Bedrock" to everybody who is travelling in this part of Scotland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nils_und_Lena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
27
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

The first thing that hits you is the beautiful scenery that this B&B sits in. We picked the B&B due to its idyllic location set in vast mountainous countryside with plenty of places to go biking (mountain bike hire in the nearby town). After a hard day biking it was lovely to go back to the B&B which was warm, cosy and the hosts were very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The double room we stayed in was very clean and modern, with nice touches like tea and coffee in the room with a lovely selection of biscuits. The ensuite was nice with fluffy towels and a hot powerful large shower perfect after a day out and about. After a long day it was bliss to fall into a really comfy bed, in a warm room, and fall asleep in the silence of the countryside. To top off our stay the breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

We are planning to return in the winter and take advantage of the skiing season in nearby Aviemore.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McSez_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Looking through the leaflets and promotional literature in nearby Grantown on Spey we opted for J&J B&B as we thought their leaflet stood out from the rest. There's no doubt that choosing a place to stay in this manner can often be a bit of a lottery, often opening the door with your fingers crossed hoping the place you have chosen will be ok... However, this small, friendly B & B is a hidden gem and with the views and warm welcome we received on arrival we definitely felt we had won the lottery! The rooms were spotless, modern and well furnished with TV and DVD player, and the cooked breakfast in the morning was fit for a King. The hosts John and Jenny could not have done enough for us, they were lovely and I think either of them would give you their last rolo. I recommend you go find this place, just off the beaten track below the Cromdale hills, yet only 3 miles from Grantown on Spey. You will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I had 4 nights in this beautiful B&B! The rooms where classy, the hosts where so lovely and the home cooked breakfast was AMAZING! Had so much fun , we plan on coming back!

Oh and we definitely recommend it to anyone!! :D

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auzzi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We spent three nights at this lovely B&B, we were really surprised by the quality as it was so reasonably priced. We could not fault a thing, we had a warm welcome from John and Jenny, who were really helpful and accomodating. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable, and the facilities were excellent (our little girl thought the jar full of yummy biscuits were the best treat ever)! The breakfasts were delish and they set us up well for our days exploring the beautiful area. There are some excellent walks staight on the doorstep and the packed lunches were really great value. We will definately stay here again when we venture up to Scotland next year, and would recommend it to anyone. Thanks for such a warm and friendly stay. Alex, Mark and Molly

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed on a couple of cold winter nights at Bedrock, Jenny and John's homely bed and breakfast. Unlike the weather, the room was cosy and warm and luxuriously furnished.There were two easy chairs to relax in, lots of storage,TV, refreshments and a spacious shower room with WC and basin. There is a dedicated dining room, with optional music for guests, where we were served a hearty home cooked breakfast which set us up for the day. Jenny caters for all diets if a full English is not your style. All rooms have lovely views. The area is peaceful. off the main road and ideal for walker, cyclists, skiing and fishing in season.. There are shops, pubs etc within a short drive. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There is a choice of double bed or twin, all rooms on ground floor with private facilities. Double r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halcyon32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
9.9 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rossmor Guest House
Rossmor Guest House
#1 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J & J B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J & J B & B

Property: J & J B & B
Address: 'Bedrock' | Cromdale & Balmenach, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious bungalow in tranquil location, set in the beautiful Spey Valley, within the Cairngorms National Park. Luxury en-suite double or twin bedrooms with views of the surrounding countryside. Adjacent to the Balmenach distillery (est. 1823) and within easy walking distance to the River Spey. Three miles from the picturesque town of Grantown on Spey. Abundant wildlife on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
J & J B & B Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing