We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rossmor Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2012

By far the best B&B we've been to. Many are either too small or you don't get what you pay for. This place was definitely a comfortable location. This was our second trip to Scotland, and while on the Whiskey tour, we decided to stay here. House and rooms were well kept and maintained. Breakfast was better than most restaurants. Ed and Joan were helpful and knowledgable about sights to see that were off the beaten path. A definite must stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 435 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

Just returned from our trip to Scotland and stayed briefly at the Rossmor Guest House in Grantown-on-Spey. Had a very comfortable stay there - lovely, spacious room with all the amenities. Gorgeous old home that has been beautifully maintained. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend the Rossmor to anyone traveling in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Joan and Ed were really helpful hosts. This is how a B & B should be. Lovely rooms and excellent breakfasts. We will return one day for sure and we thoroughly recommend staying here.....and The Garth for dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnHHertfprdshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

An ideal location for walking, golf, fishing and the whisky trail.
You can be certain of a warm welcome from Ed and Joan who will ensure that you have a relaxing stay at Rossmor.
The bedrooms; some overlooking the Hills of Cromdale, are of a good size, comfortable and well appointed and there is a large lounge in which to relax after a day of sightseeing or sport.
Breakfasts set you up well for the day and a wide selection is on offer to suit all palates.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Most people stay only one night in a B&B, but we stayed two in this one. I'm glad we did. The proprietors (an American/Scottish couple) have created a cozy atmosphere of the highest class. From the flowers around the house to the beautifully quaint decor of the bedrooms, Rossmor was everything a Scottish B&B should be.

Thanks, Joan, for letting us play Scrabble in the sitting room. I won, of course.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Beautifully maintained house giving excellent accommodation and comfort. The guest's book constantly mentions the breakfasts - we can only add our own resounding endorsement. Very nice , thoughtful touches throughout the week.
About 10 Mins walk from the Town Centre. As an English couple we were surprised that there were very few pubs and none that provided food. Nice restaurants in the town, just no ' 2 for a tenner' pub meals.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

I stayed at the Ross Mor with a friend for one night during the Bank holiday weekend, and we both enjoyed our stay there.
It is located at the entrance of Grantown, however you do not hear any traffic noice within the building. It is only a 5 or 10 minute walk to the market square where you can find some restaurants and a shop.
The room had a good size with TV and facilities to make coffee or tea, and the bathroom had a shower. The whole room was very clean and overall very comfortable.

Breakfast was very good, cereals, fruits (had a melon for breakfast, a nice change) juice, with a good hearty Scottish breakfast (Vegetarian option available). Alternative you could order salmon with poached eggs (neither of us did, so cannot judge it).
However, what left us feeling so positive about the service and the overall experience here was something unexpected.
When we asked for a restaurant for dinner my friend asked if the specific restaurant offers Vegetarian Haggis (only a Vegetarian could ask that). The next morning during breakfast my friend got Vegetarian Haggis with her breakfast, not requested or expected. This service, provided after a short conversation the night before left my friend a very very happy person (she found it very tasty), and in my opinion it shows that Joan and Ed care about their customers.
Therefore I can only recommend the Ross Mor because of the fantastic service and comfortable rooms offered there.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotsman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
2.6 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
22.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
628 reviews
0.5 mi away
Firhall Highland Bed and Breakfast
Firhall Highland Bed and Breakfa...
#1 of 21 in Grantown-on-Spey
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dunallan House
Dunallan House
#3 of 21 in Grantown-on-Spey
306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Haus Alba
Haus Alba
#4 of 21 in Grantown-on-Spey
109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosehall Guest House
Rosehall Guest House
#5 of 21 in Grantown-on-Spey
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossmor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossmor Guest House

Address: Ross Mor Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: $118 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rossmor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RossMor is a Victorian Villa with terraced gardens and beautiful views in the Cairngorms National Park. We are a short walk to the village centre and the River Spey, with walking trails starting across the road. We have a guest lounge and dining room with beautiful views over the National Park. All our 6 bedrooms are ensuite, with many amenities including luxury Scottish toiletries and coffee machines. The rooms at the front have beautiful views! RossMor is the perfect base for exploring the Highlands, guests' most popular activities are the Whisky Trail, hiking in the Cairngorms National Park, spotting nessie on Loch Ness and exploring the Moray coast. Many of our guests return again and again, because they love staying with us at RossMor, and because of the variety of things to do in the area. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rossmor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rossmor Guest House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing