We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Craiglynne Hotel
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast on crerar summer sunshine break. We found all staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is old and en-suites could be doing with up dating, however room and ensuite clean, bed was comfy enough. Dinners and breakfast were fantastic. It snowed all weekend and most guests worried about getting home, hotel staff cleared the drive way and reception checked travel and weather report for everyone. If we were heading back to granton-on-spey we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_hhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2010

Many thanks for taking time to respond to your recent visit with us and i am glad in all everything was to your satisfaction. Responses from our guests are a vital part of developing the hotel and staff and i am always pleased when we receive responses. It assists us in planning our training and what better way than from our customers feed back. Again my thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 689 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed here for two nights at the weekend on a Crerar summer sunshine offer. Not much sunshine but tremendous value for money.

We had a good room overlooking the front of the hotel. It was clean, cosy and had everything we needed (including a decent hairdryer!). Beds could be improved with new mattresses or mattress toppers to make them comfier. The bathroom was a bit dated but I liked the fact that there was a bath as well as a shower and there was plenty of hot water. There is evidence of some refurbishment - in the bedrooms and the public areas - nice curtains and soft furnishings.

We ate in the restaurant both nights and our meals were generally OK but as others have said the food looks and tastes pre-cooked and and this lets the hotel down. Come on chef - you know you can do better than this; we don't mind waiting a bit longer for fresher food! The restaurant and bar staff were friendly and extremely hard working. Enjoyed the breakfasts.

One thing that I liked was a sign at reception encouraging people to leave feedback via Tripadvisor. As they clearly have some negative as well as positive feedback, I thought it showed a genuine desire on the part of Crerar to try and improve.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazzee_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2010

Many thanks for taking the time to respond to your recent visit to us. I do apprecaite hearing from guests regards their stay with us. All points good or indifferent are thoroughly investigated and acted upon thus it is so necessary to hear from you our customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

This hotel looks so nice from the road, and there is a lovely foyer as you walk in. But the bedroom we were allocated was quite simply awful. The bed was hard as rock, the bathroom was substandard, window frames rotten and leaking. The thermostat on radiator was completely broken (came off in my hand) and hence the heating was on full blast all night. This meant had to open the rotten sash window which had to be propped open with a mug to prevent it slamming. Outside a huge air conditioning vent pipe made a racket all night. Pigeons are clearly nesting in the ramshackle buildings so they have strung up wires to trap them-one was left hanging dead. We told all to Reception on leaving and the worst thing was they didn't appear to care.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_ac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2010

Many thanks for taking the time to respond to your recent visit with us. We as a company are always interested in hearing reviews on customers experiences during their stay with us. It assists us in staff training and improving the areas that may not have come up to standard during our customer's stay and all feed back good or indifferent is received with a positive attitude to our customers experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed at the Craiglynne on the Crerar Summer Sunshine 2010 promotion - 2 nights DBB inc wine for 2 people for £105! Amazing value given that the hotel allegedly charges £15.95 for breakfast, £19.95 for dinner and £14.95 for house wine - in effect they must have paid us to stay there!
We were a little worried given other reviews but we were very happy with what we got for what we paid. Our room was cold when we arrived (as other reviewers have noted), but we put the heater on and it soon warmed up; the room was small and the 'double' bed consisted of two singles put together; the en-suite shower room was partioned off by a sliding door and the washbasin was in the room itself; the shower unit was new but the cubicle was a peculiar construction and edged with black mould (again as others have noted; tip for the managers - HG Mould Spray will deal with this!). The loo roll holder was broken (no - we didn't mention this as we thought it might have been noticed when the room was serviced!) The TV strangely had no sound on some channels; we mentioned this and found a new remote control in the room, which gave us sound on one of the missing channels! All in all the room was what I'd expect to find in a cheap B&B, but given that we paid below what I'd expect to pay for a cheap B&B we wouldn't complain.
Some of the public areas really do need a good clean - the stairs needed vacuuming and clearly weren't done at all when we were there, there were cobwebs on light fittings in the restaurant and on the panelling at the side of the stairs. However, the hotel has clearly been recently refurbished and looks good
Meals were fine - good portions, decent choice of meat, fish or veggie, nicely presented - of course it's not Michelin standard and I'm not sure I'd want to pay £20 for it but again for what we paid...
The highlight of the Craiglynne is the staff - they are all excellent and a credit to the hotel. We must mention Jan who seems to have several roles and manages each one with deadpan humour and efficiency and the patience of Job. In reference to another reviewer, on Sat night he did close the bar at 11 but said that the night porter would get any more drinks that were required. At that time there were only 4 couples in the bar and I'm sure on the rates the hotel is charging they can't afford to have a barman on duty all day and night just in case someone comes in! It did seem a bit odd not to have somone on Reception after 11 but again it's what makes the place more like a (large) B&B than an hotel. We were around on Sunday and were the only ones in the bar after 8.30 but Jan was there when we needed to see him.
There was much debate in the bar about other Crerar hotels and the consensus was that the Loch Fyne is the best; I would say that if you move the Craiglynne staff to the Loch Fyne you'd have a pretty decent operation.
As I've said in other reviews, if you can get a Crerar hotel on one of the fantastic offers then it's well worth it; if you want 5* luxury then pay for it and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyLark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2010

Many thanks for your in depth review of your recent stay with us and i appreciate the time that you have taken to respond.
All points highlighted on tripadvisor are discussed in length at our weekly staff meeting and we try and forge a programme of improvements from the reviews we recieve good or indifferent. All comments from our guests are vitally important to us as it gives us an insight of their stay with us and assists us in progressing forwards to continually improve our service and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Hotel looked good from outside.Check in was faultless.We checked rooms before taking luggage in,One room was okay other room had to be changed.What was wrong?The bathrooms are awful.Our room I could live with for two nights but black mould in shower and round tray was not clean.Friends first room had tiles off the walls in the bathroom.Second room also black mould.It spoilt an otherwise good weekend.It also has no bar till 5pm and shuts at 11pm or before as on the Sat night night porter started at 10.45pm putting lights off around us and straightening cushions.The hotel could be so good .Have stayed at Loch Fynne and Oban Bay was so disappointed with Craiglynne.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkm_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

There was a mix up with the original booking however an alternate hotel or change of date with a room upgrade was offered. We decided to go for the change of date and there were no problems after that. We were treated courtesy by the reception staff on arrival; the rooms were comfortable and kept clean throughout our stay. The service in the restaurant was also good and the meals themselves were excellent. I would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2010

Many thanks for taking the time to respond to your recent visit with us. Guest's comments are very important to us and i appreciate the time you have taken to respond. All comments are received good or bad as it makes us aware of the customers stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your visit at The Craiglynne and Grantown on Spey and hope that you will return to this very attractive area. I will certainly pass on your variable comments to the staff concerned. Again my thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Paid £100 for overnight stay in room that was abysmal by any standards. Very little evidence of cleaning in general very shoddy. En-suite shower did not work and installation was not complete.
Unable to complain or request room change as arrived late and reception closed at 21:00hrs. Complained in morning, NOT interested. Wrote to CRERAR head office received letter from Manager who admitted room was sub-standard and 'Very Sorry'
Contacted Operations Directors PA 'Very Sorry'
One Star is for Breakfast.
Best recommendation for this hotel STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clanjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2010

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, as you review has just been posted but you have contacted our manager and head office before I am not sure when you stayed with us.

Our reception does close at 9pm but our bar is open till 11pm and then our night porter takes over, both are able to contact our management team at any time to help with any problems you have with your room, I am sorry that this did not happen with your concerns.

I hope you will give us a chance in the future to show you how good the Craiglyne Hotel can be.

With regards

Carrie MacDonald
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
0.5 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
774 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
583 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
925 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ben Mhor Hotel
Ben Mhor Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
118 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: $51 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing