We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time For Change” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Craiglynne Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Craiglynne Hotel
perthshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Time For Change”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

Hotel looked good from outside.Check in was faultless.We checked rooms before taking luggage in,One room was okay other room had to be changed.What was wrong?The bathrooms are awful.Our room I could live with for two nights but black mould in shower and round tray was not clean.Friends first room had tiles off the walls in the bathroom.Second room also black mould.It spoilt an otherwise good weekend.It also has no bar till 5pm and shuts at 11pm or before as on the Sat night night porter started at 10.45pm putting lights off around us and straightening cushions.The hotel could be so good .Have stayed at Loch Fynne and Oban Bay was so disappointed with Craiglynne.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pkm_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    192
    120
    65
    65
See reviews for
94
318
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

There was a mix up with the original booking however an alternate hotel or change of date with a room upgrade was offered. We decided to go for the change of date and there were no problems after that. We were treated courtesy by the reception staff on arrival; the rooms were comfortable and kept clean throughout our stay. The service in the restaurant was also good and the meals themselves were excellent. I would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Many thanks for taking the time to respond to your recent visit with us. Guest's comments are very important to us and i appreciate the time you have taken to respond. All comments are received good or bad as it makes us aware of the customers stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your visit at The Craiglynne and Grantown on Spey and hope that you will return to this very attractive area. I will certainly pass on your variable comments to the staff concerned. Again my thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

Paid £100 for overnight stay in room that was abysmal by any standards. Very little evidence of cleaning in general very shoddy. En-suite shower did not work and installation was not complete.
Unable to complain or request room change as arrived late and reception closed at 21:00hrs. Complained in morning, NOT interested. Wrote to CRERAR head office received letter from Manager who admitted room was sub-standard and 'Very Sorry'
Contacted Operations Directors PA 'Very Sorry'
One Star is for Breakfast.
Best recommendation for this hotel STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clanjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, as you review has just been posted but you have contacted our manager and head office before I am not sure when you stayed with us.

Our reception does close at 9pm but our bar is open till 11pm and then our night porter takes over, both are able to contact our management team at any time to help with any problems you have with your room, I am sorry that this did not happen with your concerns.

I hope you will give us a chance in the future to show you how good the Craiglyne Hotel can be.

With regards

Carrie MacDonald
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grantown-on-Spey hotels

denny
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

restaurant staff great but food only okay. shin of beef belongs in pottedmeat dish not as a main meal.hotel is lovely and warm with log fires at night.reception staff great ,answer all questions and get any problems fixed fast. rooms we were in were very small,first room was tiny ,couldnt stand up on one side of bed because of low roof,on way downstairs to see about changing room i hit my head on fire alarm which was situated on ceiling below head height. upgraded to superior room £40 extra, tiny shower room but more head room. no sign of the snow yet,

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinetam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am glad that we were able to help you with any problems that you had with your room, because of the style of our hotel we do have some rooms that are slightly smaller than others, during our refurbishment we were able to change the layout of some of our rooms to ensure we had a number of different types available to our guests. I will pass on your comments regarding our staff to them. Our lounge area really is a great place to sit and relax and our fire's do get lit even before the snow comes !.

I look forward to welcoming you back again to the Craiglynne.

Carrie MacDonald
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrecen
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

This hotel has seen better days. The rooms are shabby with peeling paint, non-functioning showers , windows which won't open and are not cleaned daily. The restaurant staff are extremely pleasant but the food is tired and uninspired. There did not appear to be a Manager just a series of offhand young women staffing the reception. This is a coach party hotel on a budget with reluctant staff (apart from dining room staff)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bogdanDebrecen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Many thanks for taking the time to respond to your recent visit with us and i was obviously disappointed in the comments that you have made. OPlease be assured i will investigate all points highlighted. It is very important that we recieve feed back from our customers and i thank you for taking the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

Very disappointing - after spending time staying at the Crerar in Loch Fyne my expectation of the chain were high only to be highly disappointed at the Craiglynne Hotel.
Very basic room, electric heating not switched on for our arrival, twin room when booking a double room, condensation in between seals of windows, bathroom basic. Reception staff very unhelpful, not prepared to do anything regarding the wrong room allocation, was advised duty manager would be in next day (which is when we were checking out) No flexibility from staff regarding sorting the issue out just told there was nothing they could do - not even push the beds together and give us a double duvet or just offer us dinner free its not hard.

Upon receiving this service we chose to immediately book out of the hotel and said to inform the manager when they turned up why we were leaving and why we were not paying either. Poor show from a chain who are trying to up the anti when it comes to good hotels.

We did go on to the Ben Wyvis hotel it was only marginally better, not enough staff to cope with other guests as there was a wedding booked and the food was rubbish - the tables were not set for dinner they were actually surprised to see us for dinner even though we had booked a time at reception and the food was poor.

PLEASE CAN YOU GET ALL THE CRERAR HOTELS TO THE SAME STANDARD AS LOCH FYNE. THANKS!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank feeaptomos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Many thnks for taking the time to respond to your recent visit and it would ceertainly seem that we have not in your eyes naintained the company standard and for this i apoligise. I am not going to make excuses suffice to say it should not have haooened. Please be assured i will investigate all the points you have highlighted and i thank you for taking the time to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

I stayed here one night at short notice in a single room, a travelling companion also had a single room. We both agreed that the price was very high (£79 b and b) , But the room was very basic with a cheap power shower in a metal pod in the corner . Decoration was very tired and the room was in need of an upgrade, My friend's room was also in poor condition. I reckon this was a £40 a night room not a £80 room. Otherwise the food was good and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingman062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Thank you for taking the time and the point you have raised has been taken on board and will be investigated. I do appreciate our guests coments on their stay with us as it assists us in ensuring waht we deliver is what the guest wants. Again my thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
24.9 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.9 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Property: The Craiglynne Hotel
Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing