We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel for a base for your holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Craiglynne Hotel
Reviewed September 4, 2009

From the moment we checked in to the moment we left, the staff were excellent in the Craiglynne Hotel. The room we were in was adequate, the en-suite shower room was small but very clean and there was enough space to fit everything in comfortably-the only downside was a fairly dodgy flush on the toilet, but this is a minor quibble. Breakfast was very enjoyable, with a variety of cereals, fruit juices, porridge and fruit. The cooked breakfast was very good, with just enough to start your day without feeling bloated. The evening meals were excellent as well and I can heartily recommend the Potted Haugh, it was just sensational.
The bar was a wee bit pricey and there were no information leaflets in the reception, although saying that there was a comprehensive information book in our room.

All in all we really enjoyed our break in the Craiglynne and would have no hesitation in regommending it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLADESMAN01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Chrissie Harrison, Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments. I have passed your with regards to the Potted Haugh to our Head Chef whom is highly delighted you enjoyed his recipe.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards
Chrissie Harrison
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 686 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2009

We stayed here for four nights and enjoyed our break there. The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of the shops in Grantown and has lovely gardens out front. We were allocated a room on the ground floor at the side of the hotel and it was a bit cold and gloomy, (yes, June, Scotland!) The bathroom was tiny, when sitting on the loo, your shoulder touched the washbasin. However it was clean and the shower good and had plenty hot water. The food was reasonable with good choices. The staff were very friendly. It is in an ideal situation for visiting round the area, in easy reach of Aviemore and the Cairngorms.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzythistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Chrissie Harrison, Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2009

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kindest regards
Chrissie Harrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

we travelled with four friends to this hotel for a 4 day scottish highlands break.
The staff team are very professional and welcoming. They were well managed and had high standards of customer service.
The bed rooms - we had 3 in our group - were very confortable and the 6ft wide beds
were great. the bathrooms were fine. The hotel grounds are splendid and the main lounge very well appointed, we really enjoyed relaxing in the sunny conservatory.
The food was well presented and we had a varied menu - different each night. Breakfast was very good and always freshly prepared.
The location is very convenient for castles - we visited Cawdor and Brodie with a tour over wonderful moor and mountains. We enjoyed the steam railway journey to Avimore - tickets were part of our hotel deal. We spent a great day at the Grantown on Spey show and enjoyed this well cared for country village.
The holiday was excellent value for money and we will book there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cumbriavisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Chrissie Harrison, Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, it is always good to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us.
Your comments are greatly appreciated, and all comments regardless of content are vital to the ongoing training of our teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards
Chrissie Harrison
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

My friend and I were at the hotel for five days at the beginning of August I cannot praise the hotel or staff enough
We were made so welcome Our room was ideal being on the ground floor We faced the side of the hotel and it was so quite at night The room was spotless and kept that way all week ,with clean towels every day
The dining room was very comfortable with pleasant helpful staff
The food was ist class with plenty of verity so suit all tastes
The area is very convenient to many attractions
Don't miss a visit to he heather center or the wild life park near Kingussie
We also had a bus trip to Inverness to save driving
All in all we had a super break ,Thanks to everyone ( and also the weather ,as the sun shone every day
I have already recommended this hotel to my friends and I will certainly be going back
I must admit,that after I booked I looked up the reviews and was dismayed to see some negative comments but I often wonder if there is no pleasing some people as our experience was excellent all round Janice Shepherd

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladygizzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Gemah Graham, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2009

Dear Ms Shepherd,

Many Thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Crerar Craiglynne Hotel in the not to distant future.

Kindest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Craiglynne for a 2 night weekend break in July and had a good experience of this hotel. Overall, the hotel is nice with very pleasant and friendly staff and is in a good location with a pleasant outlook to the front of the hotel and well tended gardens to the front that also offer outdoor seating opportunities.
However, we did feel that there were small things that could have been improved at the hotel - for example, the state of the paintwork on the outside of the windows.
Rooms are a good size and beds very comfortable. Food is also reasonable - breakfast offered standard choices of cereal, fruit, toast and hot items too, evening meals are popular and offer a good choice.
All in all, a good choice for the area, easy to find and ample parking offered for guests.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LADundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Chrissie Harrison Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we value all our guests opinion as a vital tool in continuing the standards of training for our teams.
We are please you enjoyed your stay over all, and wish to assure you that we are currently coarring out work on the exterior of the hotel to improve all our guests stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Craiglynne in the near future.
Kindest regards
Chrissie Harrison
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

we really had a very good holiday whist we were at craiglynne hotel.good food and a warm welcome .we had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaitrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Gemah Graham, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2009

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kindest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

After reading reviews on this hotel after having booked a two night stay i cannot say i was looking forward to staying there, however i was very surprised to find a lovely hotel which i know i will stay in again and recommend to friends and family. The lobby was cosy as was the bar just next door which we had a fair few drinks in each night.
We booked two rooms, two people per room and had the option at looking at two double rooms and two twin rooms, we went for the twins as they were slightly larger and in the main part of the hotel. All four rooms we saw were very well decorated and comfy. The bathrooms were fine although in the morning my shower was only luke warm.
The hotel is made up of four large houses and is quite old, this would account for the floors being creaky but honeslty what do you expect from an old hotel? I cannot see how this can be fixed very easily and to tell the truth it wasn't even a problem for us.
The food was adequate and not the best i have ever tasted but was fine all the same.
We would definately stay again and will even go back to have a look at having our wedding there in two years time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Graeme Miller-Head Chef at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Craiglynne at anytime.

Kindest Regards

Graeme Miller
Head Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
24.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.8 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
574 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
2.7 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: $62 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing