We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Craiglynne Hotel
Reviewed March 28, 2009

we got a fantastic deal for 4 nights at this hotel and we were slightly apprehensive about the quality of our stay, HOWEVER! we were very pleasantly surprised.
The reception area was warm and inviting as was the receptionist, our room was clearly not the best in the hotel however it was warm clean and more than acceptable considering the price we had paid, we were very happy with it.
Over the 4 nights the restaurant was lovely with a fabulous menu which was different every night including the vegetarian option which my other half was delighted with, the waiting staff were attentive and nothing was too much trouble, especally on one luchtime when we arrived late back at the hotel and the receptionist opened the bar and gave us menus and served a fantastic lunch without any hesitation.
All in all we had a wonderful time and were made very welcome, so much so we would definately return to this hotel.
Thanks to ALL THE STAFF for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Gemah Graham - General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2009

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kindest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 682 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2009

No heating in room on arrival, sub-zero bathroom, parking chaos, disabled access blocked by abandoned cars, no parmesan cheese for pasta, same vegetarian option both nights, phone not working, room service unobtainable, leaky plumbing... the list goes on.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthshireSkirmisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Gemah Graham - General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2009

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I was concerned to read the points highlighted and I can assure you that this is not normal practice at the Craiglynne Hotel. We take all your comments on board & thank you once again for your feedback as this is vital to help us monitor and improve areas that may be letting us or our guests down.

Kindest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

We recently enjoyed a three night stay at this lovely hotel.
Staff / management helpful & a credit to the hotel. We had a ground floor room very useful for us with our dog. We had a difficulty wth obtaining hot water from shower & taps. Staff did what they could to rectify the tempremental plumbing. Dinner was a real treat & scottish entertainment on two nights a bonus. Breakfasts: a great selection of cold buffet foods with a "serviced" hot cooked selection.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Gemah Graham - General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2009

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we were pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kindest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2009

Have stayed in the craiglynne a lot, always enjoy staying there, staff and management very helpful & friendly, food excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank npc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Gemah Graham - General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2009

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I am please you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kindest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

T.A.G.S.
Thanks to the staff at the Craiglynne hotel, Grantown on Spey, for helping to make the Third Age Group Strathendricks Twixmas holiday one of the best ever trips. The open log fires were so welcome on the beautiful days with frost so thick ,everywhere was like a christmas card. Nights reached a low of minus 13 degrees! The welcome, food, ambience, entertainment and general desire to make everyone happy did not go unnoticed. Many members want a return trip. Thanks also to Glenton for arranging the group holiday and providing such a nice coach driver.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Gemah Graham - General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2009

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We were pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kindest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

Could not believe the reviews I have just read on this Hotel.
Myself and my Husband had a lovley three nights in this hotel yes there was some little minor things that could probably have been brought to the hotel management but I do not feel that anyone who runs a home could not fault the way the staff treated everyone in this hotel all they had to do was ask, and what ever was dealt with.
We will certainly be back perfect for a short break.
Congratulations to all the staff for making our short stay memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JeanetteFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Gemah Graham - General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2009

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We were pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kindest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2008

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tescocarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Gemah Graham - General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
24.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.8 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
574 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
2.7 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: $62 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing