We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Craiglynne for a great short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Craiglynne Hotel
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Craiglynne for a great short break”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Enjoyed our three nights DB&B stay from the 11th October. This is a lovely hotel with an excellent warm and comfortable lounge with log fires. Rooms are OK especially if you get a front facing room overlooking the garden. When we were there the hotel was very busy, busier than we have seen in the past but the restaurant staff coped very well and were not stressed by the numbers in for meals. They are very friendly, helpful and chatty. The food was excellent with a good choice of evening meals, menus changed daily. Breakfasts were served individually but served quickly and hot. Delicious porridge The room itself was on the 2nd floor, clean and comfortable. Recommend this hotel to anyone. Thanks to Mike and Gemmah for making our 35th wedding anniversary special. Peter and Jenny Glasgow

Room Tip: Front facing rooms better than the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us, and I have passed your kind comments on to all the team here at the hotel.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    198
    129
    69
    72
See reviews for
98
330
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have just got back from a two day stay at this hotel, 22 October to 24th. On arrival, from the outside, we were impressed with what we saw and were given a friendly welcome from reception. However on route to over room, 216, we were hit with a stale smell of food which remained for the duration of our stay. On entering the room we were met with a small, dark and dingy room which is in desperate need of refurbishment. One of the pillows was stained and the bed sheet was thin and worn. The bathroom was worse; urine stains under the toilet and the sliding bathroom door would regularly get stuck. The sink was cracked and the hot water was boiling and did not come out full flow. As well as this, the walls we dirty and there was a large cobweb coming from the roof to the side light. We were tempted to find somewhere else to stay however decided not to let it ruin our holiday and just to grin and bare it and wait to see what dinner was like.
Restaurant staff were friendly but seemed unwilling to engage. I got the impression that they just wanted to get the job done as quickly as they could. Food came out very quickly on both nights. During our second meal, the drinks order had not even been taken and our starters arrived. Basic service skills weren't being fulfilled. Food was average but always came out cooked properly and hot but like the hotel itself the restaurant experience and food were underwhelming. Like the evening service, breakfast came out very promptly. One thing which we were shocked by was the fact that all the fruit juice tasted as if it had been watered down, which was really off putting.
Overall we were disappointed with our stay. This hotel has a lot of potential however it needs a lot of tlc and needs to take on board better hygiene and service standards. These are basic things which should be present in a hotel, especially in an apparent three star hotel. We would not stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor.

I apologise that room 216 was not to our usual standards; normally we have guests requesting this room as it is a large king sized bedded room. If you had reported the issues raised including the bathroom door sticking, we could have had our maintenance man fix these problems within minutes.

I have checked back our maintenance and feedback logs and nothing was reported during your stay, we would have only been more than happy to have even relocated you to another room. We have now ordered a new sink as we were unaware of the crack, and we thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I was surprised to read your comments as we generally receive great feedback about food and our service. Our chefs prepares all of our menus and we serve over 2500 meals per week, as you can appreciate we do our best to cater for everyone and their individual tastes, some of our starters are prepared and can be chilled until service, should you have required more time between courses, I am sure it wouldn’t have been a problem.

I am disappointed that I did not have the opportunity to speak with you during your stay, when we could have rectified the issues raised; we never like to hear of any of our guests leaving us unhappy.

Once again I would like to thank you for your review, and my apologies that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it could have been, I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to reinstall your confidence in our hotel in the future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grantown-on-Spey hotels

Armadale, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Craiglynne Hotel for 2 nights, dinner, bed and breakfast. We had a family room which was spaceous enough with everything we needed. The service during breakfast and dinner was second to non. The waiters couldnt have been more helpful to cater to our needs. The menu's were extensive and had something for everyone. The meals were always served quickly and to a high standard. The hotel was in a good location. Really great stay and great value for money. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura_stevenson87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read your positive comments and that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team who were extremely pleased to hear them, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Booked for a 2 night dinner B&B on offer. A lovely welcome at reception, room clean although it certainly could do with an update especially the very noisy squeaky shower which took a while to adjust and heat up! Went to reception to ask if they could tell me who had kindly put a bottle of wine in our room. The receptionist did not know after looking on her system and said maybe it is free ! Think not I said. Found out after a phone call that my beautiful daughter had surprised us but the excitement was taken away from her. Surely a compliment slip beside the bottle with her name should have been in place. The staff at breakfast and dinner were extremely attentive and the food was well presented and tasty. A little surprised that when we came back from our walk at 4.40pm we asked reception for a bottle of wine so that we could sit and relax in reception area. We were told that there was no one available to get one and that the bar opened at 5pm. Did feel annoyed as another table of 4 were sitting with a bottle of red? When the bar opened the bar man was polite and provided a lovely service to us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerryEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their comments.

Firstly I apologise in regards to the complete breakdown of communication on our part regarding our receptionist not passing on the correct information about your daughter purchasing your wine, I have spoken to the team on the importance of logging the correct information; I am sorry and I completely understand this is no consolation to yourself.

Staff in the hotel do have personal bar licenses to sell alcohol, and I can confirm that the couple you had seen with the bottle of red wine had actually bought that earlier in day with our other receptionist that was on duty before 3pm, the receptionist that was on duty when you returned to the hotel is a new member of our staff and has still to undergo her training for a personal bar license.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and I have passed your kind comments on to the staff here at the hotel, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards
Gemah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Make no mistake, this is an old Victorian pile, which once upon a time would have been luxurious. As with many large hotels of any age, the upkeep must be enormous. Whilst our room (138) was drab and featureless, the experience was made special by the excellent service. All of the staff and waiters wetre courteous and helpful, especially Donny who waited on our table one evening.
We had a 2 night break on a groupon deal and the value for money was absolutely brilliant. The 3 course evening meal, with 3 choices was very good indeed and Breakfast was excellent
The Owners need to spend a bit on the Reception area which is rather gaunt at present, otherwise the all the public areas were fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We really do appreciate the time our guests take to leave us feedback.

I am terribly sorry you found the room to drab, room 138 is one of our rooms that overlook the gardens and we generally get a lot of returning guests requesting this room.

We were delighted to read your kind comments and we have passed them on to the team and the individual mentioned.

Once again thank you for your review, we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Worked in this hotel as a student many years ago so it was fun to come back as a guest. Its still a superb place to be if you want to spend time in the highlands with so many places close by. We did a special deal so wasn't expensive but could be considered expensive if paying full price.We ate dinner in the restaurant ad it was lovely to have sparkling white tablecloths and full menu after having had a few days in the highlands in less grand accommodation. Service was good and the food was delicious. Dining room was busy but staff were attentive and there wasn't too long to wait for meals. Bar was buzzing and overall the atmosphere was very Scottish which is exactly what you want in this location.

Room Tip: We had a room at the ffont of the hotel, bit noisy with traffic as people left the premises late at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team, we very much hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at the Craiglynne for our October break and really enjoyed it. The staff were very attentive and made sure we were happy. The food was well cooked and the service very good. The hotel is very good value for money and is very popular.
I feel that some of the negative reports could have been dealt with in a different manner and the comments could have been made to staff to give them a chance to respond or make amends before publishing them here.
We will stay at the Craiglynne again. Yes, the floor boards creak and yes it's an older building but the level of service and friendliness from the staff are more than I've had at more expensive hotels around the world.

Room Tip: Front rooms are best like most hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave-mags2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
24.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ben Mhor Hotel
Ben Mhor Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
94 reviews
7.9 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Property: The Craiglynne Hotel
Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing