We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Craiglynne Hotel
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed 2 nights while visiting the area. A busy time but although there appeaed to be several coach trips in the staff coped admirably and we received excellent service throughout our stay.
The food was very good and the room comfortable. Would recommend it, and will be returning as although just outside the Cairngorms main attractions it is very well situated and the surrounding area is itself well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were all very pleased to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the staff here at the hotel

Once again thank you for your review, we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 687 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Had a couple of days at this hotel. It was spotless, reception staff were very helpful,as were the restaurant staff. The maids kept our room immaculate. The food was varied and very good. Plenty to choose from and piping hot. The location was a walk away from the woodland walks and the beautiful River Spey. We shall return and perhaps get a room at the front of the hotel. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave there comments.

We were extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My dad friend, who was born in the area recommended this hotel.  It is a nice hotel from the outside, we especially liked the lawn they had, spacious and with enough chairs and tables for their guests.  Their lounge and bar area are quite spacious and emphasizes a grand comfortable feeling.
The rooms we had were two twin rooms, one facing the street and one facing the small street on the side.  The view was nice in the street view room, while it was less hot within the side street room.  The bathrooms were small, but still ok.  The shower was a bit small to turn around in and the shower system was hard to work with.  The bed sheets felt kind of old and there was a smell to it.
The breakfast was served with cold drinks and cereal as buffet, and hot food was made to order.  The breakfast menu was supposedly for guest outside the hotel, and they were in sets.  They use the same menu for hotel guests, but certain things were not given to the guest.  The staff did not care to explain what it was, or which is not to be ordered, they just tell you that you cannot have certain combinations when you asked for it.  The food itself wasn't any good either.  The first day we were there, there was a coach tour, and there were lots of people when we went down for breakfast (around 8:30-9).  The staff was very busy, and they seemed a bit annoyed.  We had to wait for a while to be seated and another while to be served.  The second day it was a bit better, but I would say that service is just around average.  The reception just echos the same kind of standard.
If anyone considers to stay in this hotel, I would say to look through the B&B that is available in town.  On and near the High Street, there is already 5-6 b&B/hotels of different gradings on offer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VeraNov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

I apologise that you were unhappy with your rooms and unfortunately not all of our rooms in the hotel have a garden view, although guests can secure a front facing room on request and we charge an extra £10.00 per night for this (subject to availability).

I am afraid I’m struggling to understand your comments regarding the breakfast menu being only for guests outside the hotel, but I can assure you our entire menu is available for all of our guests, we have a full continental buffet and porridge in the restaurant for guests to help themselves and also a full hot selection and an al `a carte breakfast menu which all of our guests are free to select what they would like to have for a cooked breakfast.

I am also disappointed to also hear your comments about our service both in the restaurant and on reception as we generally receive great feedback on both areas.

Once again I apologise that your stay was not as good as it could have been, and I am disappointed that I did not get the opportunity to speak with you during your stay as I never like hearing any of our guests leaving the hotel unhappy.

Thank you once again for your review on Trip Advisor and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Going to the Craiglynne is like going to your favourite aunts for the weekend. Made to feel welcome with great food and service. Rooms are lite and specious although we can't all have a great view but we only skeep there. Housekeeping doing a fab job as always snd best of all mike and gemma are back. Keep up the good work folks xx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissiekenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic hotel, fantastic staff fantastic location. Easily the best hotel i have stated in this year. My only criticism would be that the restaurant area needs some decoration work but apart from that I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebiscuits83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your short stay with us, our guest’s reviews and feedback is very important to us and I have taken your comments on board regarding the restaurant.
All of us here at the hotel very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel looks impressive on first sight of the building but it is in need of attention - the windows are in a very poor state of repair and dont venture around the back/side of the bulding by accident!!

Welcome was OK but needs more staff in critical areas like the bar/restaurant and breakfast was very slow one morining. Food was lacking in imagination but of accepable quality -just!

No staff on reception - in the evening -is not acceptable nor customer focussed.

Bedrooms are very warm and airless - some have no view at all

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are currently in the process of renovating the outside of our hotel and the grounds, which was completed on Friday 9th August 2013, this is done annually.

I apologise that you had a bad experience in our restaurant with breakfast one morning; I am disappointed to read your comments in regards to our service and food as we generally receive great feedback on both areas.

Our reception is manned between the hours of 8.00am and 9.00pm - before and after these hours we do have a night porter on duty to assist with any customers needs, within these times the staff on duty try and be at the reception at all times, although there is times when the reception staff do need to leave the desk to attend to guests needs elsewhere in the building.
Unfortunately not all of our rooms in the hotel have a garden view, although guests can secure a front facing room on request and we charge an extra £10.00 per night for this (subject to availability).

Once again I apologise that your stay was not as good as it could have been, and I am disappointed that I did not get the opportunity to speak with you during your stay as I never like hearing any of our guests leaving the hotel unhappy.

Once again I would like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Upon arrival we were directed to our room on the 2nd floor. A beautifully decorated twin room perfect for my 13 yr old daughter and I. The en-suite shower was spotlessly clean. Spoilt for choice with the breakfast selection, we settled on a cooked breakfast which was lovely. All the staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueandEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their comments.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
4.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
581 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
770 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ben Mhor Hotel
Ben Mhor Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
920 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,334 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: $52 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing