We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Craiglynne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Craiglynne Hotel
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Love this hotel would highly recommend :)..staff were really friendly always polite..food was excellent..had a lovely room looking over the gardens really enjoyed myself..thanks very much for a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are always delighted to see our return visitors! We are again pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and we do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    192
    120
    65
    65
See reviews for
94
318
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Love this hotel would highly recommend :)..staff were really friendly always polite..food was excellent..had a lovely room looking over the gardens really enjoyed myself..thanks very much for a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are always delighted to see our return visitors! We are again pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and we do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here as part of a coach trip package deal - for the price I paid plus past experience of hotels booked by the coach company the Craiglynne was disappointing. I paid a single supplement yet was put into a single room which boasted a fabulous view of a roof covered in pigeon poo! In -room tea and coffee were not replenshed each day; I had no replacement hand towel; bed wasn't made one day; no towel rail by wash basin in room. Breakfast food was OK but dinner was not - uncooked, inedible vegetables; mash the only potato option; fish tasteless. Thank heavens for a pudding to fill you up! Some staff very pleasant and helpful, others offhand bordering on rude. On a positive note the gardens were lovely as was the lounge area. Would I stay here again - NO.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

Firstly I would like to offer my sincerest apologies that your stay was not as enjoyable as it could have been, I have looked in to the issues raised and I am unable to track what room you actually stayed in or the dates you stayed with us, we do keep a log of any issues raised by our customers to ensure they are rectified and dealt with immediately, we certainly do not like to hear of any of our guests leaving us unhappy.

If you paid a single room supplement, this is charged due to various reasons, however it will always provide you with a single bedded room, however had you paid for a sole occupancy room, then you certainly would have been provided with a double bedded room.

Unfortunately there is very little we can do about the bird droppings, what I can confirm is that we do have regular visits from a specialized team who do deep clean bird droppings on a monthly basis, however I am sure you will appreciate this is something out with our control.

I was disappointed to read that your tea tray was not replenished each day, this is part of the house keeping daily tasks and I can only offer my apologies, I was also baffled to read that you did not have a towel rail in your bathroom as all of our rooms are fitted with towel rails? All towels are replaced daily if they are placed within the bath/shower as per the environmental policy (which is situated within every bathroom).

I was disappointed when I read your comments regarding our food, I can assure you that this is not normal in regards to our meals, usually we receive positive feed back, and on this occasion we clearly got things wrong. Our chefs prepare all of our menus which change each day on a four day cycle, and we serve over 2000 meals per week, as you can appreciate we do our best to cater for everyone and their individual tastes, and I am sorry you did not enjoy our the food on offer. I have discussed your email at length with the restaurant and kitchen team to ensure we get this right going forward, I do however appreciate this is no consolation to yourself

Once again, thanks you for taking the time in posting your review.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grantown-on-Spey hotels

fort-william
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed a few weeks ago at the craiglynne hotel, I do like to write reviews of where I have stayed, because usually all I read are negatives!!!! Really when you think of it how many people stay in a hotel in a week? How many of us write we had a good time, always people moaning.
The craiglynne is a lovely hotel I stayed for 2nights staff very pleasent BREAKFAST is lovely how many hotels serve Stornaway black pudding maybe just me but I love it!!! plus rest of breakfast, evening meal very well presented and tasted lovely, my room was spacious and nice, very clean even the gardener was the perfect gentleman asking have you had a nice time
Twice I have been to other hotels with Easy Breaks and for what you pay how on earth can people complain do they want 5* for next to nothing oh and lovely to sit in the gardens especially when weather is nice will I go back DEFINATLY.

Room Tip: If possible get a front view room looking on to gardens, but then every-one wants that
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gran210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team, we do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

For the price that was paid, we were expecting a good hotel with good service. Unfortunately this was not the case. Service, especially in the restaurant, was average to say the least. While the quality of the food in the evening was good, the same cannot be said for breakfast. Very poor quality and portions for the price paid. The rooms were again at best average.My personal opinion is that it is a hotel that needs a good renovation project that reflects the prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to post their feedback.

I was surprised to read your comments as we generally receive positive feedback about food and our service. We serve over 2000 meals per week and we do try our upmost to cater for everyone’s individual tastes/requirements, on occasions we can get this wrong, and I appreciate this is of no consolation to yourself.

I was disappointed that I did not have the opportunity to speak with you during your stay, when we could have rectified the issues raised; we never like to hear of any of our guests leaving us unhappy.

Once again I would like to thank you for your review, and my apologies that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it could have been, I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel in the future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The staff could not do enough for you they were very obliging ,helpful and friendly we have been going to this Hotel for more years than I can remember and keep going back.I would recommend to young and old alike.

Room Tip: not one near the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zandra1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team, we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

On booking with Easy Breaks we had requested a quiet room with bath. On reading some of the reviews on this site on the Sunday, a week before our arrival I phoned the hotel to ask if we could also have a room with a view of the garden. I was informed by the receptionist that I was not to worry as we had been allocated an upgraded 2nd floor room overlooking the gardens.
When we arrived we were presented with the key for Room 111. It was awful and certainly not what we had been given to expect. It was very small and overlooked what I can only call a void full of pigeon droppings and various detritous. You could only see daylight if you leanend out of the window. The entrance to the bathroom was a sliding door with a lethal six inch step to enter. 4 Nights in that was unacceptable. We immediately complained and asked why our room had been changed. According to reception we should not have been given this info. I pointed out that this was not my problem and demanded the room be changed. They said there were no available doubles, they only have 8 in the whole hotel, I was to return in the morning and they would see what they could do. We spent a dreadful night in that room. There was a large, very hot water pipe in the bathroom so the room was very warm. We were frightened to open the windows in case the pigeons came in. The side of the bed ran along a corridor wall with constant comings and goings. The wall behind the bed was a staircase wall with the same problems. Every floorboard squeaked. Nightmare.We returned next morning to find that lots of people were checking out, so returned later but still had to stand for 25 minutes before I reached the front of the queue only to be told coiuld I please wait as people were checking out. I refused and insisted my complaint be dealt with. I also said we would be prepared to take twin bedded room. Very grudgingly I was dealt with but I was told to return later as understandably the room was not ready. We finally departed the hotel for the day at 11.30 am. What a waste of our time. On return we got the keys for 141 which was satisfactory. See 111 pics . My ratings only refer to this room.

Room Tip: Don't take room 111 or any rooms that look into the centre or rear. The food was very good and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

Firstly I apologise you were not given the room that was discussed with you over the telephone, as I mentioned at the time, to secure a front facing room guests can pay an additional £10.00 per night for this to be guaranteed.

I can only apologise for the view that you had, I can assure you this is not our usual standard of service. We have our pest control service visit us on a four weekly basis to clear out any bird debris etc. as you will appreciate from a health and safety side we do need a specialized company to carry this out on our behalf and it is something that is beyond our control, although we do try our upmost to prevent the pigeons gaining access in sections of the building that we cannot gain access to ourselves, with the environment company placing netting on roof tops.

We did move you the very next day to a front facing room, free of charge. I am pleased we were able to offer you an alternative room; it’s such a shame that your review is only based on one room and not of your overall experience.

I taken your comments on board and once again I would like to thank you for your review, and my apologies that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it could have been, I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
24.9 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.9 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Property: The Craiglynne Hotel
Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing