We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Craiglynne Hotel
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Enjoyable weekend”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We (my husband, myself and our wee dog) booked a two night d,b&b package for the Easter weekend which included the Michael Buble tribute show. The outside of the hotel was very impressive with a lovely reception area. Our room on the second floor was very comfortable and over looked the front gardens. Only downside was that we could not regulate the temp of the water in the shower.

Meals were very tasty indeed and the restaurant staff were very attentive. Tribute singer was very good also. Would definitely recommend it. The area has great walks and very accessible for other activities such as skiing & sightseeing.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rfra386401l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us and we think our tribute night was enjoyed by everyone; please keep in touch with us to find out about our up and coming tribute and entertainment breaks.

Im sorry you had problems with your shower should you have reported it at the time we would have been more than happy to have the issue rectified at the time for you.

Once again I would like to thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    204
    135
    73
    73
See reviews for
99
337
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the Craiglynne Hotel for their Michael Buble tribute weekend. On entering the hotel you are greeted by two roaring fires in its massive reception area, very welcoming. Check in was nice and easy. Our room was huge with a nice big bed. All the staff we met were very helpful and polite. The evenings entertainment was fantastic. Breakfast in the morning was spot on, full Scottish with loads of toast. Grantown is a lovely wee town and the Craiglynne is definitely worth a visit. We will definately return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were all pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us, I have passed on your kind comments on to the team here at the Craiglynne Hotel, please keep in touch with us for our up and coming tribute and entertainment nights in the future and we all hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for an Easter break with family and really enjoyed the location of the Craiglynn as it was perfect for travelling around the Cairngorms. The hotel has a lovely welcoming lounge with log fires at either end, and comfortable,relaxing sofas and armchairs. The dining room was also very pleasant with crisp white tablecloths and napkins and gleaming glassware,however,the food at dinner,although plentiful and fairly varied,was not to a great standard and obvious shortcuts had been taken. Breakfast,although extremely slow to arrive,was nicely cooked and very pleasantly served. Our room was a good size and had adjustable heating and the bathroom perfectly ample,but the beds were possibly the most uncomfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in as you could feel the springs. As we slept badly the first night,we then asked for an extra duvet to use on top of the mattress and once we put this on the bed,we had a much more comfortable sleep for the remainder of our stay. Another small complaint was the absence of Tonic Water for our G & T's - the barman could not understand that there was a difference in Slimline & Regular Tonic,and,as I cannot drink anything with artificial sweetener,I could not enjoy a pre dinner tipple - several other people complained about this also. It would have been nice if the two children in our party could have been recognised on Easter Sunday morning with even a tiny little egg,especially as this is a family owned hotel,but no importance or emphasis was placed on the fact that it was Easter. The staff overall were very pleasant and tried to accommodate our wishes but we feel that the mark of a good hotel,regardless of size or star rating,is one that recognises and acknowledges personal requests for drinks etc.,and tries to remedy any short falls if a guest is staying for a few nights.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mariem60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor.

We are appreciative of the time our guests take to post their feedback and always take comments on board to help monitor and improve our service and standards.

We are now investigating the points raised and we are actively dealing with the issues raised in your review.

I sincerely apologise for the confusion with the tonic at the bar, we do stock both regular tonic and slim line tonic, however as you will appreciate we can on occasions run out. I have discussed this with our bar person to ensure that this mix up does not happen again.

Regarding your mattresses, I am extremely sorry you had an uncomfortable sleep, Jennifer did log this with maintenance at the time and we now have a rolling programme in place to ensure any faults/ new mattresses required are immediately rectified.

Im very sorry that your children missed out on the Easter eggs, we were handing out small Easter eggs in the afternoon, we didn’t have anything advertised or planned within the hotel but did buy in Easter eggs and had a mini treasure hunt in the hotel grounds after Sunday lunch. It may have been that you were out for the day and therefore we may have missed your family, please accept our apologies for this.

I was disappointed that I did not have the opportunity to speak with you during your stay, when we could have rectified the issues raised; we never like to hear of any of our guests leaving us unhappy.

Once again I would like to thank you for your review, and my apologies that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it could have been, I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to reinstall your confidence in our hotel in the future.

Warmest regards

Gemah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed over the Easter weekend as a couple. Booked a dinner, bed and breakfast package with a free bottle of wine each evening. Have to say, this was a remarkably good value break. Breakfast and dinner were well cooked and effieciently served (dining room staff clearly very well trained and very pleasant ). If anything would have liked a bit more vegetable with dinner but not really complaining. The wine was very drinkable and better than expected.
Our room overlooked the front garden and was lovely in the morning with the sun streaming through the windows. The shower was good but the wash basin was in the bedroom and the en suite was like a cupboard in the corner of the room. Would have given the place a better rating but for the bathroom.
Great area for walking and would likely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakes18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team here at the Craiglynne Hotel, we have also taken on board the issues raised with the bathroom and can assure you we have an active rolling programme for upgrading our bathrooms.

I thank you again for your review and we hope that we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My fiance and I stayed for one night at the Craiglynne hotel. Our initial impression was great, the hotel looks impressive from the outside with well kept gardens. Our room was nice and a good size,however, the bathroom was tired and sorely needed updating.

We opted to have our evening meal in the hotel, the food was really nice although the portions were small and could have done with more vegetables on the side. Breakfast was even more disappointing, as a vegetarian I was looking forward to a good veggie breakfast but the only veggie food was poached eggs on toast. I enquired if there was anything else available, mushrooms for instance but was told the menu was the only available options.

Overall we were unimpressed with the hotel and had an average experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor.

We are appreciative of the time our guests take to post their feedback.

I sincerely apologise that you were unhappy with the choice of meals provided; when guests inform us of dietry requirments we generally do offer additional items to cater for everyone, for vegetarian guests we can provide extra items such as mushrooms, potato scones, vegetarian sausages and baked beans to name a few, I can only apologise once more that you were not offered these items. I am disappointed that I did not have the opportunity to speak with you during your stay as we never like to hear of any of our guests leaving us unhappy.

I have taken your comments on board and once again I would like to thank you for your review, and my apologies that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it could have been, I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to reinstall your confidence in our hotel in the future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked a family meal on the night of the rod Stuart tribute evening, everything was brilliant, staff, food very tasty, entertainment was first class, hotel and we look forward to the next tribute artist evening!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were all pleased you enjoyed your night, I have passed on your kind comments on to the team here at the Craiglynne Hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic experience ! Stayed here for 4 nights whilst fishing in the area
The food and service were exemplary .
The room was warm as was the welcome at the bar in the evening
A packed lunch was provided which was if a very high standard .
This is must visit hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on our hotel.

We are delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
24.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.8 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ben Mhor Hotel
Ben Mhor Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
100 reviews
2.7 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
521 reviews
7.9 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Property: The Craiglynne Hotel
Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing