We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Craiglynne Hotel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent night”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked a family meal on the night of the rod Stuart tribute evening, everything was brilliant, staff, food very tasty, entertainment was first class, hotel and we look forward to the next tribute artist evening!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were all pleased you enjoyed your night, I have passed on your kind comments on to the team here at the Craiglynne Hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    197
    126
    67
    67
See reviews for
97
328
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic experience ! Stayed here for 4 nights whilst fishing in the area
The food and service were exemplary .
The room was warm as was the welcome at the bar in the evening
A packed lunch was provided which was if a very high standard .
This is must visit hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on our hotel.

We are delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went to this hotel for a 21st party. The hotel itself is very nice and cosy and situated in a lovely area. The staff were all fantastic and very helpful nothing was too much trouble and they would do anything for you. Would highly recommend this hotel to everyone great place to go and stay to relax and feel very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us, and I have passed your kind comments on to the team here at the Craiglynne Hotel, we all very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

march 2013 just got back from one of my annual fishing trips with a party of 12,i have been travelling up to the highlands for 40 years it was my first stay here ,the staff were fantastic nothing was to much trouble ,very friendly,helpful,polite ,the food was beautiful good choices ,the hotel it self is very cosy nice roaring fires after a hard day fishing it was nice to come back to will be returning next year with a party of 20

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billywiz-1637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We were all thoroughly pleased you enjoyed your week with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed here for a week with 12 of my friends, the staff were fantastic, from the reception to very attentive waters they couldn't do enough for us.
The food was fantastic, always fresh, hot and a great selection.

I travel the UK constantly and stay in many hotels and can honestly say this was one of my most pleasant stays. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We were all thoroughly pleased you enjoyed your week with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at the Craiglynne Monday to Friday when they opened for the new season. The weather was cold but fair for most of the week - such as you'd expect for Scotland in March. The hotel is beautifully appointed and the refurb done within the past couple of years is still impressive. Another review mentions the cold dining room. It was pretty low temperatures but I didn't need to wear the woollies. I understand that some of e more elderly guests were feeling the cold though.

The bedroom was more than adequate although the "en suite shower room" was pretty basic. I appreciate that the addition of en suite facilities in an old building must have been problematic, but the sliding door set up was ill-fitting and we had to have maintenance attend to it during our stay. The beds were very comfortable and there were the usual wardrobe, drawers, desk set up that you'd expect, along with tea-making facilities.

The meals were very good, particularly for the cost of the break. Breakfasts were typical continental options and the hot breakfasts were lovely - try the cinnamon French Toast with bacon and maple syrup or the finnan haddie as well as the traditional cooked breakfast and you will not be disappointed! Dinner was lovely each evening too, choices for each course being varied during our stay. Tea and coffee was self service in the main hotel lounge after dinner - a nice touch which also means that you vacate your table for guests who are dining later.

Service was very good, from the reception staff to dining staff and housekeeping was just as efficient. It was a "warm" reception from the staff even if it did take a wee while for them to get the log fires going!

Overall I would recommend this hotel if you manage to get one if their deals/best offers - it cannot be beaten. The location is great for a break away from home - we visited Nairn, Inverness and Aviemore. The nature park across the road from the hotel is an ideal place for a walk and even Grantown has a few nice shops and tea rooms.

Fair comment in other reviews about the parking on site. However the hotel's website mentions that parking spaces are like "hens' teeth" so we were warned. We were lucky and got a front spot each day!

Congratulations Craiglynne! I wish you a very happy season 2013.

Room Tip: We were front facing but rear facing, although no outlook, looked very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor, we are always appreciative of the time in which our guests take to leave us their feedback, as you will appreciate our guests views are important to us.

We are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I have passed your kind comments on to the team here in the hotel, and I am glad you enjoyed the Cairngorms surroundings and views, we are very lucky to live in such a wonderful part of the country. We do hope we can welcome you back to the Crerar Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Craiglynne hotel the staff were really nice and friendly and the food fantastic when we go back for the Rod Stewart night I hope its sunnier and I will take my dog as I had not realised they took pets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us, I have passed your kind comments on to the team here and we very much look forward to seeing you back for our tribute weekend in the coming weeks.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
24.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
2.7 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Property: The Craiglynne Hotel
Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing