We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Craiglynne Hotel
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Having a bus load of visitors parading through the dining room during our evening meal on route to their rooms carrying all their luggage was bizzare. Apart from that hotel nothing special!....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 85happyfeet85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    195
    123
    66
    67
See reviews for
96
324
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

This hotel is a mixed bag, depending on your luck you may enjoy it or hate it. The public areas are great, the panoramic windows in the beautiful restaurant impressive and the breakfast supreb. But the room was lousy, a mixture of renovated and run down elements (faded vinyl floor in the bathrooom and a new bathtub; worn out furniture and a new flat screen TV, etc) as if the hotel did not dare to have a complete renovation. Worst was the ancient heating system by pipes along the wall that could not be regulated. The room was hot like a sauna, and even the freezing wind from the open window did not help the sweat.
In addition the view from our window consisted of a shaft overlooking other windows. At the bottom of the shaft was a filthy plastic roof covered with heaps of bird droppings.
Just as bad was the fact that the restaurant and the reception both closed at 8PM and the bar served no food. We arrived at 7:50PM and were turned away from the restaurant, going to bed after eating some crackers that we carried with us. To top it off, most of the other guests seemed to be over 70, giving the place the appearance of a nursing home. I guess that if you come in the summer, eat early and get a room with a nicer view you may have a better time.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a scenic view rather than an internal view of the enclosed shaft with bird dropp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to respond to your recent stay with us and your varied comments.
It is true that we do have some rooms that overlook the rear of the hotel and i only wish we had 82 that looked over the front to the park--that would be great. At this time of year just prior to closing for the winter we do reduce the opening times of certain areas due to the levels of business generated however we do endeavour to maintain a level of service acceptable to the public. We do have a very mixed bag of age groups that we cater for and we certainly are not reminiscent of an old folks home as you have commented on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grantown-on-Spey hotels

staffordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Hotel reception area, lounge, bar, dining room - excellent. Food - excellent. Hotel staff - excellent. However we were disappointed with room 115 which was really only suitable for a one-night stay rather than our four nights. The room was small and lacked sufficient storage for belongings.

Room Tip: If staying for more than one night request one of the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejr-staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to respond to your recent stay with us. I am delighted that almost everything was to your satisfaction however on the room size i wish you had brought this to the attention of the hotel on your first day and possibily we could have moved you to another room with more space.
It is extremely difficult to correct com[plaints after the customer has left and i am sure we could have arranged some change.
Again my thanks for responding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Had a wonderful 2 night break,hotel and surroundings lovely,the food and staff excellent,our room was perfect,will be returning again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiltScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments on the recent stay here at The Craiglynne. All responses from our guests are very important to us and for the development of the hotel and our customer services.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

Our family had a lovely break at this hotel, warm, welcoming and relaxing. Ideally located for attractions at Aviemore/ Carrbridge and Inverness and also for a wander around the town and river walks on the doorstep. The food was wonderful with attention to detail, plenty to choose from and all our tastes catered for, including a young child, teenager and adults, no easy task! Succulent juicy steaks in the evening, tasty fresh fruit salads and full breakfast buffet to die for, we would certainly recommend this hotel for excellent food, friendly service, cleanliness and comfort.

Room Tip: We had rooms next door to each other for the children and the stunning view over the gardens was rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argyll_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments regards your recent stay with us and iam delighted thast everything was to your satisfaction. I will certainly pass on your favourable comments to the staff concerned. Grantown is a lovely place to visit as you mentioned and there is so much to see and do.
Again my thanks for taking the time to review your visit.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomintoul, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Me and my now Husband had our wedding and the Craiglynne Hotel last weekend (15th Oct) The staff were all very friendly and helpful especially the Manager (Bob Walker) who kept us right when we weren't quite sure what we were doing ourselves!!lol All the guests were commenting on how good the Wedding Breakfast was, it really couldn't have gone any better, all the staff did a superb job, would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulou190281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Many thanks for your kind words and i am delighted everything went to plan. It is a very important day for a bride and groom and we are always aware of this. I will pass on your comment s regards the food to the chef and also your comments on the staff as well. We wish you all the best for the future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Staff at the Hotel were very welcoming and were accommodating of our needs throughout the weekend. I was in a party of 15 and we had a lovely weekend. There is so much to see and do in the local area. We climbed Cairn Gorm, visited the Cairngorm Brewery for a beer tasting, visited the reindeers and some of our number went to the Highland Wildlife Park too. The highlight for me was hiring bikes from Bothy Bikes for beautiful trails - mainly offroad - which took us through forests and near beautiful lochs.

So back to the Hotel, the rooms were great, and very clean. Service excellent. It really was exceptional value and I would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Many thanks for your kind words and i will certainly pass on your comments to the staff concerned. Yes it is a lovely part of the country with as you rightly say so much to do. Certainly worth a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
24.4 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.8 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
2.7 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Property: The Craiglynne Hotel
Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing