We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fallen star, disappointing”
Review of Seafield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seafield Lodge
Teeside
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A fallen star, disappointing”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I wanted to visit Seafield Lodge again as I went there as child on a family holiday in the mid fifties. I know it was a long time ago, but I recall that at the time it was the premier hotel in town for anglers, and the food was outstanding with a "Cordon Bleu" chef/cook. Sadly the overall impression was disappointing. the décor is now very tired as are the fittings The TV in the room was a vintage 14in model that I have not seen for years. The supposedly bigger room was at the front and light and airy. The bed was acceptable. There is a big restaurant but the owners seemed to prefer that guests ate in the bar. The hand written garish menu boards outside the hotel promised lots of variety, but the quality was bar food. Breakfast was better but the fruit was prunes and reconstituted apricots. The cooked breakfast was reasonable if only the waiter had taken the orders properly. A potentially magnificent kipper was spoiled by being overcooked. The staff were friendly enough, but are either unaware or unable to afford what it takes to make a pleasing modern hotel.

On the positive side the situation is convenient and parking ample.

Room Tip: Some of the other hotels in Grantown looked very nice!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    18
    12
    10
See reviews for
16
53
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The staff is alright - although especially the guy behind the bar / at breakfast seems to be spaced out most of the time; the wifi didn't work - not for any of the guests; breakfast was very poor (dried plums are not fresh fruits if you ask me); the location within the village isn't bad - and theres a free car park just around the house; however, the village as such seems very ... empty and dark.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmelissa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grantown-on-Spey hotels

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at the Seafield Lodge and have been accommodated in a standard room, a superior room and a suite. This time we had a superior room which, in our opinion, is similar to a standard room but is slightly larger with a better outlook. Whilst the room was comfortable for a 2-night stay the bathroom facilities require to be upgraded. The lemon bathroom suite was dated and there were signs of mould around the bath. The shower above the bath was very basic and it was difficult to control the water pressure, which was very low, and the temperature - indeed the heat control tended to work in unison with the water pressure. When running a bath the water turned tepid before reaching a useful level. The breakfast was up to the usual high standard with a varied selection of starters along with an english breakfast or kippers and tea/coffee and toast.

Room Tip: We had a superior room which offers more space and a better outlook than a standard room. The facili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cholesbury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Clean, quiet, friendly - a great place to stay and an excellent breakfast. We were welcomed at the door, reservation waiting, room entirely as described recently decorated spotlessly clean comfortable beds. Met the owner in the bar in the evening who served breakfast next morning

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CholesburyCmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Hi, first the negative. Maybe we were in a budget room, but the rooms on the website were better than ours. The room was a bit dated, indicated by the burgundy bathroom suite. That said, the whole hotel was extremely clean, all the staff were friendly and helpful, the two dinners we had were reasonably priced and tasty, and the breakfast was good, in a lovely light and airy breakfast room.
We thought that the whole package was good for the price, especially on Speyside

Room Tip: Room 12 has the burgundy bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Went there last Sunday night (Fathers Day) & seeing the bar empty except for three other people should have told us something!
Our order was pretty simple 1x fish & chips & 1x poached salmon. Both appeared in minutes. The batter was soft & the fish mushy. The salmon was warm on the outside & cold/uncooked in the middle. There really isn't anymore to say...We left.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WilliamRose2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We tried to have dinner at the restaurant on a Saturday night. The two waitresses were simply unwelcoming and rude.

No smile at all, rude and unhelpful personel. The atmosphere was really not what you would expect...

We finally decided not to stay for dinner, and left after a drink.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lesnoiches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grantown-on-Spey hotels
0.1 mi away
Ben Mhor Hotel
Ben Mhor Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ravenscourt House
Ravenscourt House
#4 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosehall Guest House
Rosehall Guest House
#7 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rossmor Guest House
Rossmor Guest House
#1 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waverley Villa Guesthouse
Waverley Villa Guesthouse
#19 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westhaven Bed & Breakfast
Westhaven Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seafield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafield Lodge

Property: Seafield Lodge
Address: Woodside Avenue, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seafield Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Park Guest House is a 6 bedroom guest house in Grantown on Spey, the Highlands of Scotland. Built in 1863, quietly situated in 1/2 an acre of well stocked attractive gardens close to Grantown Golf Course, Speyside river walk and pine forests. Only a couple of minutes away is the High Street with its attractive range of family owned shops and eating places. Now part of the Cairngorms National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Seafield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seafield Hotel Grantown On Spey
Seafield Lodge Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing