We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy and cosy”
Review of Seafield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seafield Lodge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“comfy and cosy”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

a grand old hotel, very comfy and well positioned in Grantown. staff were very accomodating and helpful, offering to dry our wet clothes in the boiler room overnight. some fixtures and fittings were a little old but this did not detract from the experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuidoMescalito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    18
    12
    10
See reviews for
16
53
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This B&B is very tired and old fashioned, and would have been a total disappointment if not for the lovely owners. We stayed in many B&B's in Scotland and the owners were above average for service, but the facilities were definitely under par. I was quite nieve when booking, not realising the area was so big on hunting, and was quite put off by the key ring being a deer's antler, certainly turned my stomach. Glad we were only in town for one night, as I would not have wanted to offend the owner by leaving to stay somewhere else in town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allirajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Have just returned from a wonderful night at Seafield lodge. We were upgraded to the salmon suite which was a lovely suprise, very spacious with a whirlpool bath. Very clean hotel, traditional villa. Staff very friendly. Would have stayed longer if we didn't have to get back to work!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3shorest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stayed 1 night prior to going onto support nephews in Loch Ness Marathon (both did great). Lorreta the owner was most friendly, provided lots of info, would have liked to stay longer to explore the area, room 6 a double was very clean and had what we needed. Good choice on menu and reasonable prices food was very good we were glad that we chose to dine at the Seafield. we had our small dog with us who was made very welcome they even had an area were we could sit and have a drink and bring the dog. Highly recommend the Seafield from dog owners point of view. Thank You Lorreta ....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outandabout2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The hotel was in need of fixing up. The room was not fresh, the beds average and general condition OK. The dinner ther was good and the service and staff pleasant. Just misses being a winner.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mactravels78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Like the friendly welcome but although the price was in par with other Highland hotels we ate at; the place really looks run down from the smelly carpets and stained table cloths in the breakfast room to the weird African type momentous rather strange really.
The room was fine with a nice firm bed, clean and functional with breakfast included which was good meat although very overcooked and the scrambled eggs had a rubbery microwaved sheen to it, rather paid extra for a decent one.
Staff looked wearier than the hotel, but smiling throughout.
Dinner was an interesting mix of what people sometimes refer to as Traditional fare and the usual suspects; fish and chips , steak pie, burger , suppose if you have geriatric taste buds these boring dishes would be good but surely food trends have moved on even if the decor hasn't.To their credit the Curry was good more a Tum Ka Gai which was fine and a Salmon dish which was ok also.

Room Tip: Ask the owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grantown-on-Spey hotels

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed at the Seafield Lodge for 2 nights on a bed and breakfast basis. The hotel is very close to the town centre - just behind the main street - and provides an ideal location for visiting the north east of Scotland and Inverness. We received a warm welcome from the owner/manager who tried to give us an up-grade. Our bedroom was, however, more than adequate with tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen TV, large wardrobes, etc. The bathroom was slightly dated but perfectly functional. Would agree with a previous comment re the softness of the bed.

A full Scottish breakfast is offered (as well as kippers) plus fruit juice and a limited selection of fruit. Whilst the plates were hot the food on the first day was just warm - would also suggest that an attempt is made to reduce the amount of cooking fat/oil used.

Overall the hotel is well located, clean and provides good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grantown-on-Spey hotels
0.1 mi away
Ben Mhor Hotel
Ben Mhor Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ravenscourt House
Ravenscourt House
#4 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosehall Guest House
Rosehall Guest House
#7 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rossmor Guest House
Rossmor Guest House
#1 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waverley Villa Guesthouse
Waverley Villa Guesthouse
#19 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westhaven Bed & Breakfast
Westhaven Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seafield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafield Lodge

Property: Seafield Lodge
Address: Woodside Avenue, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seafield Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Park Guest House is a 6 bedroom guest house in Grantown on Spey, the Highlands of Scotland. Built in 1863, quietly situated in 1/2 an acre of well stocked attractive gardens close to Grantown Golf Course, Speyside river walk and pine forests. Only a couple of minutes away is the High Street with its attractive range of family owned shops and eating places. Now part of the Cairngorms National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Seafield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seafield Hotel Grantown On Spey
Seafield Lodge Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing