We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly”
Review of Culdearn House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grantown-on-Spey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Culdearn House
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The food was great and the room clean and comfortable (if a little flowery for our taste) but the welcome was very, very unfriendly. From start to finish we felt uncomfortable and unwanted. We will never be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zooplo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildwullie, Owner at Culdearn House, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

We are pleased to note that, in common with the many positive reviews which others have posted, this reviewer thought the food lovely and the rooms fine. As for the welcome, we have several house rules which are displayed on our web site i.e. we are smoke free and pet free (except for Guide Dogs) etc.etc. which, when pointed out to the party on arrival that they were contravening one of our house rules, they took exception and stated on TA that we were unfriendly. We were safe guarding our business for those guests who suffer from allergies who rely on that assertion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 110 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at Culdearn for two nights and received the warmest welcome . The food was excellent, the rooms beautiful and we had a very restful and relaxing time. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to someone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haywd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We were a golfing party. The rooms were very clean and well decorated, with great attention to detail.The beds extremely comfortable and our wet golfing stuff was all taken away to be dried very efficiently. The food was lovely, 4 courses but not too heavy and beautifully cooked. There was a lovely sitting room with an open fire. The only disappointment was the rather tense hosts and rules about not having drinks in your room and a £20 cork charge by prior arrangement only. Not very relaxed and a bit unnecessary. That slight inflexibility echoed throughout our stay which apart from that was extremely enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed here in April for 2 nights. After travelling for years throughout UK this was the best. Only do you occasionally find somewhere that everything was memorable - quality, comfort, service & food. Well this was it in a nutshell. Can't grade this highly enough - do not miss the amazing steak.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbieGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildwullie, Owner at Culdearn House, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Many thanks indeed for writing this very positive review. We are very grateful to you and hope that you will return to us and Speyside sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Excellant hotel in lovely convenient spot. Hostess very friendly and helpful and also an excellant cook. Rooms very comfortable and exceptionally clean. Lovely guest lounge with open fire.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabethshetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildwullie, Owner at Culdearn House, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay here at Culdearn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Substantial house, high ceilinged rooms. Plenty of room and space. Excellent breakfast and superb dinners.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ra0ulP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oorwullieScotland, Owner at Culdearn House, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of our home and also appreciated its Victorian splendour. We hope you will return to the HIghlands and Speyside and visit us again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We four (family of three with 22-year old daughter's friend) traveled from Switzerland, met good British friends, and toured Scotland for a week. Culdearn House is a haven of warmth, extraordinary comfort and style (best showers and water pressure in Scotland??) and lovely food. We would return in a second. We spent two nights, with the usual wild April weather mix of heavy snow squalls, brilliant sun, rainbows and damp cold and were received with grace and dignity by Sonia and William. Cozy fires, help with even the smallest questions and queries, always the extra effort needed to make a stay completely right. An assertive pheasant and numerous red squirrels entertain in the garden. We cannot praise this small hotel/guest house enough. An oasis in a quiet town, wish there were more like this.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ketreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oorwullieScotland, Owner at Culdearn House, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Many thanks indeed for writing this lovely, positive review. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at Culdearn which was, in your words, a 'haven of warmth'. Despite the awful weather we were pleased that you were able to 'sample' some of Speyside's delights and experience the hospitality of the Highlands. We must thank you in return for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
2.6 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
628 reviews
17.4 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
272 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culdearn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culdearn House

Address: Culdearn House Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: $77 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beatiful Victoria Country House built in 1860 which has retained many of its original features. It is now a small hotel offering fine food, excellent malts and wines and is ideally based within the heart of Speyside on the whisky and castle trails. Salmon and sea trout fishing on the nearby River Spey, 5 beautiful golf courses, steam train, funicular railway to the top of Cairngorm Mountain are all within easy short distance from the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Culdearn House Hotel Grantown-On-Spey
Culdearn Hotel Grantown On Spey
Culdearn House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing