We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home baking”
Review of Chaplins

Chaplins
Cuisines: British
Description: It is a coffee shop
Restaurant details
Description: It is a coffee shop
aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good home baking”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had coffees and home bakes. All fresh and served with a smile. Centrally situated in a lovely small town. Recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aberdeenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    20
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I love going to Chaplin's, whether for an ice-cream with my son, or out for lunch with family and friends. The service is professional, yet fun. Always a welcoming smile. The menu is varied and tasty, something for everyone. I cannot recommend Chaplin's highly enough.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amydb31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A bit expensive”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Called here for lunch whilst out motor biking with friends. I had the steak and onion baguette and my pal had the smoked salmon sandwich. The food came with a small salad garnish and a few small fried potato cubes. The food was delivered with a smile. It wasn't any thing to write home about, but very acceptable. The cost for this little lot £17, which I thought was a bit ott. Perhaps the location added some cost, and perhaps it's the 'going rate' I don't know, but it visit a lot of tea rooms etc whilst motor biking and was a bit surprised at the cost at this one.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Antonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home baking!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Home baking is a must, scones, pancakes, giant sized proportions!

Service is friendly, simple lunch required then look no further!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Scones - yes please”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Stopped off here for a warming coffee and cake on a snowy cold day. What a lucky find! The service was warm and friendly and the home made cakes were wonderful. The scones were warm and tasty and ...... HUGE! One between two was more than enough for us - just order the extra jam and butter! A lovely place and would highly recommend - will certainly return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foody196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaplins also viewed

Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Chaplins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing