We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sylhet Brasserie

Sylhet Brasserie
Price range: $23 - $47
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We avoid unknown Indian restaurants in small towns as they often serve highly coloured tasteless curry "soup".

The Sylhet on the other hand is excellent. It was very busy so booking advised.

The starters and main courses were large. They curries had rich sauces, were well presented, very good rice. We left very happy and very full !

Highly recommended

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    72
    32
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perthshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delightful takeaway in beautiful area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Having had a couple of bad experiences in local chip shops we decided to have a takeaway meal from this indian on the main street in granton. The order was not quick but this only empahsised the true freshness of the food right down to the crisp popadoms. Every meal was freshly cooked and delicious although the colourings were a bit mad with a very red masalla and green garlic naan - this only added to the adventure!! We would definatley visit again - no we WILL definatley visit again on our next trip to granton with the caravan!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Big_Sam2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Take away food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were on holiday staying at the local caravan park and, being a lover of Indian food, I thought I would try the local Indian. First impressions on entering the premises was nothing to excite you. The staff though we're very friendly and made you feel welcome. I ordered a chicken tikka masala and a chicken jalfrezi, peshwari nan and pilau rice. Wow. The food was the best I have tasted in quite some time. The flavours, the quantity of chicken and general presentation was first class. I went back 2 days later and received the same first class quality and was greeted with the same friendly reception. When I go back to Grantown, I will be back at Sylhet Brasserie.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grampcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, Scotland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A great surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We’ve been meaning to visit this place for a while and managed to stop off on our way back from a trip down south. We were pleasantly surprised I had Prawn Saagwala – three huge King Prawns butterflied and great sauce full of spinach (so different from other Indian restaurants). Sauces not clean and not cloying, all the right temperature and there was Kingfisher beer on tap. My husband had a wonderful venison dish. We were impressed and will definitely be there again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieO060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Lovely food and quick service. Plenty of choice on the menu Recommended!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank shedboy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylhet Brasserie also viewed

Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Sylhet Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing