We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Accomodation, with Excellent Service in an Excellent Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunallan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunallan House
Certificate of Excellence
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Accomodation, with Excellent Service in an Excellent Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

Having spent a week with the Graham's it is clear that the only thing preventing this guest house from receiving the 5 stars it deserves is the ludicrous rating rules that prevent hard working and welcoming couples such as these from achieving the highest possible recognised standard.

The whole experience was tremendous and both my wife and I felt personally welcomed. The breakfasts were as luxurious as they were filling and the Super King size bed in our Superior Room gave us a restful sleep.

All in all this is a fantastic Guest House which was well worth the money we paid and served as a comfortable base for our Speyside holiday. A home away from home.

Thanks guys!

From the Rye's.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PastorRabbiRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    32
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
142
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

Grantown on Spey is a central location to the Cairngorms, whisky tour, Moray area and the Inverness environs. The hosts were generous with their local information and tips for travel. Excellent restaurant was within walking distance (Craggan Mill). Spey river is majestic and fellow travellers noted the excellent sea trout fishing.
Breakfast options were many, and every one that we tried was excellent.
We highly recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bugs10Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

We stayed at Dunallan on our trip round Scotland, Jayne and David were very helpful they helped us with suggestions on eating out and places to visit and could not have been better hosts. We will definitely recommend this Guest House to our friends.
Thank you both again

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dun22agan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadlington Oxon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

The Dunallan House is a fantastic value for money bed and breakfast hotel, beautifully furnished and run by two amazing enthusiasts who are prepared to go the extra mile to make their guests stay a memorable one. They both went beyond the normal call of duty to make my stay comfortable and one day I hope to return if only to thank them again for their kindness and warmth.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0l0rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

I can't recommend Dunallan House enough. Recently on a two week business trip to Scotland I booked myself into Dunallan House for two nights while in Speyside, and I'm very glad I did. Jayne and David Graham are two of the genuinely nicest hosts I've stayed with on any trip to Scotland.

The house itself is a large, well kept Victorian building full of comfort and charm. My room was actually two rooms in one, located on the entire top floor. Large comfortable bed, modern conveniences and a huge bathroom (with a bath tub big enough for two)—and the best shower in Scotland! Super breakfasts and friendly conversation, along with a very reasonable price, make this place one to come back to again.

Thanks David and Jayne for all of your help during my stay. Thanks also for the tips on good places to visit and eat while in Speyside. And of course the tip on visiting The Craig Bar across the street, a must for any visit to Grantown on Spey—say hi to Robbie for me! Best wishes for continued success with Dunallan House.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thom-caledoniasbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

Great stay everything was fantastic couldn't find anywhere better to stay. Should be 5 star.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThumbTwidler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

Over the years my partner and I have stayed in guesthouses all over the Highlands and Dunallen is one of the best we have ever found. In fact I can't remember a better one anywhere in the UK. I really can't think of anything even slightly negative to say about it.

David and Jayne were generous and welcoming hosts, always ready to chat and full of advice about how to make the best of our stay, recommending great walks, excellent local restaurants and generally making sure our stay was memorable for all the right reasons.

Our room was quiet and comfortable and, as a confirmed bookworm, I was delighted to find a selection of paperbacks there as well as the usual tourist welcome folder.

Breakfast was as good as it gets, better than many hotels, with fresh fruit and yoghourt as well as cereal and lots of choice of cooked food. I have to give a special mention to the exceptional scrambled eggs (my breakfast of choice), with or without smoked salmon from the local smokehouse.

We'll definitely be making a return visit; we've never stayed in Grantown before and were pleasantly surprised by the town and its amenities generally, but it was the guesthouse which made our stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibliobat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
3.0 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
3.0 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunallan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunallan House

Property: Dunallan House
Address: Dunallan Woodside Avenue, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunallan House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Dunallan House you will enjoy a warm welcome and be sure of a comfortable and relaxing stay in a family run, traditional Victorian Guest House. Stay in comfortable and spacious accommodation, all our bedrooms are en-suite with great attention to detail and comfort. Beautiful breakfast room and sitting rooms with log fires.Situated in a quiet location, yet only a short walk from local shops and a wide range of excellent restaurants and cafes, Dunallan House offers the perfect base for touring the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunallan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunallan House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing