We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”
Review of Dunallan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunallan House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Me and my friends came to grantown to take advantage of the beautiful scenery tastey ales and brilliant bike routs, we were pointed in the direction of Dunallan house and Couldn't of chosen a nicer place to stay, beautiful comfy rooms and really friendly hoasts who lay out an incredible breakfast which is just what you need for a day full of activities available to you in the area. all in all a brilliant stay

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavePadgham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 304 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2010

Owner was very frendly. B&B had a nice sitting room with fireplace and magazines. After a long day in the car we did not want to go far to eat so the owner steered us to a nice pub about 100 yards up the steet. They had a good choice of meat pies for supper which were cooked to your order. Breakfast was fine and the room was nice.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthCarolinaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

A beautiful old house, with such character and charm. We stayed in room No. 7 The bath was amazing, the bed was so comfortable, and many nice little touches in the room. Jayne & David where wonderful. So friendly and welcoming, and recommended some lovely places to visit. Also the best breakfast served!!!!! We will definitely go back to visit again. and would recommend Dunallan House to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nixzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

The experience at Dunallan House surpasses that of many 4 star hotels. Location, superb breakfast (combination of traditional and the healthy option) go for the creamy scrambled egg with smoked salmon - just bliss. David & Jayne are excellent hosts with a wealth of local knowledge. We stayed in the room with the adjacent luxury bathroom - bathrobes, chocolates on the pillows, bottled water all small touches that make this one of the best B&B's i have stayed in - try it yourself

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

Just back from a very memorable (extremely snowy) trip to the Dunallan in Grantown on Spey, for New Year's Eve. Dave and Jayne went out of their way to make our stay a comfortable one, despite the conditions outside. Masses of snow meant we couldn't go alpine skiing. But D & J provided us with an alternative which more than made up for it. Comfortable bed as well after an exhausting day out in the snow.
I wish all B&B's were as good as this one.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fimallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

We recently returned to Dunallan House for a second long weekend this year. On both occasions we have found Jayne and David to be warm, friendly hosts, willing to give advice about local facilities, restaurants and places to visit. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious with very good ensuite shower rooms with underfloor heating - bliss! Lots of local produce were use to make the fantastic breakfast and there was a huge range of choice, including lots of delicious fresh fruit. The reception area, breakfast room and lounge were all very inviting, decorate in traditional style. We really enjoyed sitting by the roaring log fire after a long woodland walk. Granton on Spey offers a lot of outdoor activities and we have enjoyed walking, cycling and kyaking on our visits there. There are several good restaurants within easy walking distance and we enjoyed some really good evening meals. All in all, an excellent place to spend a long weekend or even longer and we hope to visit there again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank todlachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

A friendly faultless welcoming experience that made our stay special. We were offered a choice of rooms and chose the luxury room at the top of the house. We had no complaints and the room was superior and worth the extra few pounds. The private bathroom adjacent to our room was very nice and very tastefully done. Breakfast choice was far superior to some 5 star hotels we have visited. We are considering a further visit in 2010.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pettyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
3.1 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
689 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rossmor Guest House
Rossmor Guest House
#2 of 22 in Grantown-on-Spey
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Firhall Highland Bed and Breakfast
Firhall Highland Bed and Breakfa...
#1 of 22 in Grantown-on-Spey
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Willowbank Guesthouse
Willowbank Guesthouse
#11 of 22 in Grantown-on-Spey
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunallan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunallan House

Address: Dunallan Woodside Avenue, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: $108 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunallan House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Dunallan House you will enjoy a warm welcome and be sure of a comfortable and relaxing stay in a family run, traditional Victorian Guest House. Stay in comfortable and spacious accommodation, all our bedrooms are en-suite with great attention to detail and comfort. Beautiful breakfast room and sitting rooms with log fires.Situated in a quiet location, yet only a short walk from local shops and a wide range of excellent restaurants and cafes, Dunallan House offers the perfect base for touring the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Dunallan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunallan House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing