We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunallan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunallan House
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
1 review
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

A beautiful old house, with such character and charm. We stayed in room No. 7 The bath was amazing, the bed was so comfortable, and many nice little touches in the room. Jayne & David where wonderful. So friendly and welcoming, and recommended some lovely places to visit. Also the best breakfast served!!!!! We will definitely go back to visit again. and would recommend Dunallan House to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nixzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    32
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
142
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

The experience at Dunallan House surpasses that of many 4 star hotels. Location, superb breakfast (combination of traditional and the healthy option) go for the creamy scrambled egg with smoked salmon - just bliss. David & Jayne are excellent hosts with a wealth of local knowledge. We stayed in the room with the adjacent luxury bathroom - bathrobes, chocolates on the pillows, bottled water all small touches that make this one of the best B&B's i have stayed in - try it yourself

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

Just back from a very memorable (extremely snowy) trip to the Dunallan in Grantown on Spey, for New Year's Eve. Dave and Jayne went out of their way to make our stay a comfortable one, despite the conditions outside. Masses of snow meant we couldn't go alpine skiing. But D & J provided us with an alternative which more than made up for it. Comfortable bed as well after an exhausting day out in the snow.
I wish all B&B's were as good as this one.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fimallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

We recently returned to Dunallan House for a second long weekend this year. On both occasions we have found Jayne and David to be warm, friendly hosts, willing to give advice about local facilities, restaurants and places to visit. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious with very good ensuite shower rooms with underfloor heating - bliss! Lots of local produce were use to make the fantastic breakfast and there was a huge range of choice, including lots of delicious fresh fruit. The reception area, breakfast room and lounge were all very inviting, decorate in traditional style. We really enjoyed sitting by the roaring log fire after a long woodland walk. Granton on Spey offers a lot of outdoor activities and we have enjoyed walking, cycling and kyaking on our visits there. There are several good restaurants within easy walking distance and we enjoyed some really good evening meals. All in all, an excellent place to spend a long weekend or even longer and we hope to visit there again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todlachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

A friendly faultless welcoming experience that made our stay special. We were offered a choice of rooms and chose the luxury room at the top of the house. We had no complaints and the room was superior and worth the extra few pounds. The private bathroom adjacent to our room was very nice and very tastefully done. Breakfast choice was far superior to some 5 star hotels we have visited. We are considering a further visit in 2010.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pettyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
3.0 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
3.0 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunallan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunallan House

Property: Dunallan House
Address: Dunallan Woodside Avenue, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunallan House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Dunallan House you will enjoy a warm welcome and be sure of a comfortable and relaxing stay in a family run, traditional Victorian Guest House. Stay in comfortable and spacious accommodation, all our bedrooms are en-suite with great attention to detail and comfort. Beautiful breakfast room and sitting rooms with log fires.Situated in a quiet location, yet only a short walk from local shops and a wide range of excellent restaurants and cafes, Dunallan House offers the perfect base for touring the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunallan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunallan House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing