We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Dunallan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunallan House
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My partner and I decided to take a trip over to picturesque town of Grantown on Spey over a long weekend. Dunallan house was recommended to us by a friend who has stayed a few times before. Dunallan was everything thing we hoped it would be and more!!!!

On arrival we were greeted but the lovely and friendly Jayne and shown up to our beautiful room. The room was spotless, stylish and very comfortable! After settling in we took a walk around the town and went for dinner at a local pub near by called The Craig which specialises in gourmet pies. Yum Yum!!! Later that evening we joined Jayne in living room and enjoyed a glass or two of local malt whiskey in front of the roaring fireplace. Heavenly!!!

We asked Jayne if it would be ok to have breakfast a little later than the given breakfast times the next morning so we could enjoy a lie-in, this was no problem for Jayne who we found was very accommodating throughout the whole trip. After a very comfortable and peaceful sleep my partner and I tucked into fresh fruit and yogurt before enjoying a cooked breakfast and delicious home made waffles!!!

Dunallan house is a beautiful Victorian house which is very homely. Jayne is a wonderful host who went beyond the calls of duty to ensure we had a great trip. We were made to feel very much at home while staying here. I can't recommend this guest house enough and will most definitely be back!!! (Even if just for the waffles!!)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becc1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    37
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
154
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We only stayed one night, on our way to John O'Groats. I took pot luck with the choice, having read a few reviews.
The room was larger than average with a very good shower. Separate guest quiet room down stairs and very brigh and airy breakfast room. When asked to about somewhere to eat the Craig Bar was recommended. Choice of food is Pie and Chips, but what great pies, and about seven choices of filling.
Breakfast was well cooked, good produce and plenty of it

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Spent a couple of nights here while on tour. Breakfast was very tasty and served quickly. Bedroom very nice and well decorated - mind you, as we had the top floor room, in the eaves, there were a few painful head contacts partly (I think) as the single matt wall colour meant there was no contrast to see the nasty (painful) bits before it was too late - take great care! Jayne, the landlady, was extremely friendly and made everyone in our group very welcome.

Would strongly recommend this B&B, even if it wasn't almost next door to one of the nicest pie pubs in the world!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Very clean, comfortable and friendly guesthouse in a good location for Granton and the surrounding area of the Cairngorms. The local open and light native Scots pine forests are a delight to walk in with red squirrel and deer seen while we were there. Excellent breakfasts and friendly owner. Look forward to a repeat of our short weekend break.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anagach, Owner at Dunallan House, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thanks Martin for taking the time to post a review it's always lovely to here such positive feed back & we hope you get the opportunity to return to this area & stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Arriving on a typical Scottish wet day we were delighted to have a very warm welcome. Room was a decent size and inviting. A good breakfast served by friendly staff. Jayne was away but Rosemary proved to be a good substitute. I particularly liked the lounge to relax in and catch up with other guests. I would also recommend pie and chips at the Craig virtually opposite, good atmosphere and great pies.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anagach, Owner at Dunallan House, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Hi & thanks for your lovely comments here on Tripadvisor. I'm delighted that my friends,family & staff looked after you so well , I was away at my Mums celebrating her 80th Birthday with her. We do hope you get the chance of another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Great rooms and breakfast! Wasn't too keen on the scottish music in breakfast room but that's just a personal thing! Reception staff were very helpful and breakfast staff attentive. No time to try leisure facilities but looked great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank IanDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

The guest house is situated a short walk away from the quiet "Main St", but just across the road from some good eateries. The room was large, clean, and had a beautiful en suite. Traditional, and good, hot and cold breakfast options were available each day.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LuvUrZZZs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
3.0 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
508 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rossmor Guest House
Rossmor Guest House
#1 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunallan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunallan House

Property: Dunallan House
Address: Dunallan Woodside Avenue, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunallan House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Dunallan House you will enjoy a warm welcome and be sure of a comfortable and relaxing stay in a family run, traditional Victorian Guest House. Stay in comfortable and spacious accommodation, all our bedrooms are en-suite with great attention to detail and comfort. Beautiful breakfast room and sitting rooms with log fires.Situated in a quiet location, yet only a short walk from local shops and a wide range of excellent restaurants and cafes, Dunallan House offers the perfect base for touring the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dunallan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunallan House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing